We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Providence River Boat Company

Providence, RI, USA
More
About Providence River Boat Company
Climb aboard one of our open-air, 18 passenger vessels and discover the historic and contemporary milestones of the Providence waterways on our 50-minute narrated tours! Explore the Providence River, Riverwalk, Waterplace Park and the Providence Harbor, as we highlight historical, nautical and architectural points of interest. On WaterFire evenings, we offer unparalleled views of this award-winning artistic installation from sunset to midnight. We are celebrating our 29th season this year, and were recently named as RI Monthly's Best of Rhode Island "Best Local Tour" (2018), the "Best City Tour" by Yankee Magazine (2017), "Member of the Year" by the Providence Convention & Visitors Bureau (2016) and have received "Certificates of Excellence" from TripAdvisor in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 & 2019. Walk-ups are always welcome, but are not guaranteed, so please make a reservation prior to your arrival. We hope to see you aboard soon!
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Providence River Boat Company

Narrated Boat Tours

Get an in-depth look at Providence from a boat cruise that travels along the waterways of Rhode Island’s capital city. Your guide shares live commentary about historical landmarks and modern destinations as you take in sites including the Fox Point Hurricane Barrier, Providence Industrial Harbor, Providence River, Waterplace Park and the pedestrian paths of Riverwalk. Choose a daytime or evening cruise, and feel free to bring your own refreshments on board.
Read more
50 minutes
from $28.50
$30.00

Haunted Boat Tours

Enjoy a memorable way to explore Providence—and learn all of the city’s spookiest ghost stories and creepiest lore—on this after-dark boat tour. Make your own way to the dock, hop aboard your vessel, and set sail with Captain Peter. Your costumed guide, accompanied by flickering lanterns, will share stories and secrets as you cruise along the water and admire views of the city illuminated after dark.
Read more
1 hour
from $36.50

Twilight River Cruises

Bathed in the serenity of a softer light, the city's architecture, picturesque bridges and cobblestone walkways take on a whole new life beneath the setting sun. Climb aboard and wind down from the work-week with a selection of complimentary wine or Prosecco from RI's own Gooseneck Vineyards while you experience unparalleled views of the evening skies! We're taking "date night" to new depths...join us in 2020!

Additional Info:
- This is an evening cruise ONLY. There is NO TOUR OR NARRATION offered during this boat ride.
- All passengers must be 21+ (sorry, no infants/children)
- Kindly remember that our passengers are looking forward to a relaxing experience; please be mindful of your noise level. If you are looking for a rowdy "booze cruise," this is not the ride for you. Give us a call and we can assist you with a more appropriate ride.
- There is no smoking or vaping allowed on our boats, at any time.
- Not a wine drinker? You may BYOB in a small cooler.
Read more
1 hour
from $38.00

Vineyard Voyages - Floating Wine Tasting

Join us as we welcome Rhode Island-based Gooseneck Vineyards for a memorable open-air cruise throughout the Providence waterways, paired with a sampling of crisp wines and refreshing Prosecco.

Built on the foundation of authenticity, quality, and passion, Gooseneck Vineyards seeks out the best grape-growing regions throughout the world to bring their favorite varietals to your glass.

Cruise Includes:
- Four featured wines with light food pairings.
- A 75-minute cruise of the downtown Providence waterways. Throughout the cruise, our Captains will highlight nautical & historical points of interest and Paul Fede, your Gooseneck Vineyards host, will lead a casual discussion of their products.
- Ages 21+ Only
Read more
1 hour 15 minutes
from $60.00
471Reviews13Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 418
  • 40
  • 7
  • 0
  • 6
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tjane71 wrote a review Sep 12
pawtucket33 contributions2 helpful votes
Our tour of the sunken ships and docks of Green Jacket Shoal with marine archaeologist David Robinson was wonderful. It was interesting and so informative. Providence is a beautiful city and a great perspective from the water too. Captain Tom narrated the first half of the tour and was able to surprise us locals with facts we never knew about Providence and the river. We have already signed up for the sunset cruise next week. We highly recommend touring with the Providence Riverboat company.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company
Responded 6 days ago
We could not have asked for a better review, thank you so much! We're looking forward to having you aboard again for the sunset cruise! Thanks again for your business, we appreciate it.
Read more
N. S wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution
Highly recommend this cruise. The staff were friendly and made the experience enjoyable. The trip was scenic and very relaxing. We enjoyed our time and would do it again.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your tour, thanks for coming down, we appreciate it!
Read more
Ravindi W Ansar wrote a review Sep 7
New York City, New York12 contributions10 helpful votes
Was a fun excursion! Captain Tom is very informative, and professional. We originally booked the tour at dusk, but had to move to 2pm, it was a glorious day to be on the water, I took the most gorgeous photos of the city!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company
Responded 1 week ago
Email us those photos! We LOVE seeing them. Thanks so much for the great review, and thanks for coming down for a tour!
Read more
Ayraynay wrote a review Sep 4
Los Angeles16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The boat I took didn’t have a canopy, so I wish I’d brought a hat...but it was a GREAT one-hour tour of the river! The guide was friendly and knowledgeable about local sites. Enjoyed the tour thoroughly.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much, we appreciate your business and are happy to read that you loved our narrated tour! (And yes, we wish the boats had a canopy too, but we wouldn't be able to fit under the bridges throughout downtown at high tide.) Thanks again!
Read more
Alexys O wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
These worthless people would not issue a refund even after they inconvenienced us. Would not recommend
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company
Responded 2 weeks ago
Due to the fact that this review is so completely dishonest, we felt compelled to tell the more accurate account of what transpired with this party. Due to the remnants of Hurricane Laura, we were forced to cancel our tours last Saturday evening, August 28. We called each party who was scheduled for a tour that Saturday 24 hours in advance to inform them of the situation. At that time, each party was offered a full refund or an option to reschedule to the following day, or ANY upcoming date that we had open. This particular party chose to rebook their tour to the following day, Sunday, August 29. All set. Then, we received a call from this party 20 minutes before they were to board for their tour, asking to cancel their reservation. At that time, they were told that we do not allow for last-minute cancellations but that we would attempt to sell their tickets for them if they would us to, to which they replied that we were "worthless" and hung up on us. This party booked their tickets through Viator, which clearly states their cancellation policy (24 hours notice for a refund) on their website. Our own company policy is the same, especially when our capacity is so very limited due to COVID-19. We always attempt to help folks out when we can, but giving us 20 minutes notice wasn't the most sensible decision. We're sorry we missed you, it was a spectaular day out there!
Read more
Previous