We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Another winning out-of-town guest experience

Took sister-in-law and family for an early evening trip and they really enjoyed it. They didn't... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
ALMSIMSA .
A trailblazing cruise on the Providence River

We were running late and knew the boat house was close but didn't know where. It is behind some... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lynnemcrowley
,
Framingham, Massachusetts
Read all 364 reviews
173
All photos (173)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“hot club”(41 reviews)
“captain tom”(115 reviews)
About
Climb aboard one of our open-air, 18 passenger vessels and discover the historic and contemporary milestones of the Providence waterways on our 50-minute narrated tours! Explore the Providence River, Riverwalk, Waterplace Park and the Providence...more
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
575 S Water St, Fox Point Marina, Providence, RI 02903-4344
Website
+1 401-580-2628
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
320
34
5
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
320
34
5
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot clubcaptain tomprovidence riversunset cruiseoutdoor bargreat captainnice ridegreat tripdifferent perspectiveinteresting factslots of funwaterfirevoyageknowledgeeventinfoouting
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Took sister-in-law and family for an early evening trip and they really enjoyed it. They didn't know much about Providence beforehand, so it was a good learning experience as well. Previous reviews that suggest a water bottle, sunglasses, and perhaps a sweater or jacket (even...More

Thank ALMSIMSA .
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a very enjoyable tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. We felt like we learned interesting information about Providence. There was nothing that "wowed" us, that is why we have it a 4 and not a 5, but we definitely recommend...More

Thank kaitlin1029
Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kaitlin! Thanks so much for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. Sorry you aren't here to enjoy a WaterFire ride, but you are correct in noting that they're only on select Saturdays throughout the summer, from Memorial Day to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well, 50 minutes. The information given by the guide is good, but for me there were some downsides. The boat is small, holds only 18, and is uncovered. See picture. Flat boat with red/white/blue bunying at dock. Not good for hot or rainy weather. Additionally,...More

Thank gemswinc
Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Gemswinc! Thanks for joining us on a tour recently, we do appreciate it! A few of your issues, however, are clearly stated on our website, and in your confirmation email, so there shouldn't have been any surprises. We can only run the size boats...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were running late and knew the boat house was close but didn't know where. It is behind some restaurants and down a locked dock. We called Kristin when we arrived and she directed us just in time to join the cruise! Tom was both...More

1  Thank lynnemcrowley
Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lynne! Thanks for joining us for a tour, and for the great review! I agree, the 7pm sunset cruise is a great time to be out there on the water, and the view of the WaterFire set-up is always a lot of fun for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Capt. Tom was so knowledgable but mostly patient with the riders. We were a very "age mixed group" & he was awesome. A great way to spend an hr. seeing Providence from the canal & the history that went with it. We visited the Whiskey...More

1  Thank OntarioCanuck53
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Very nice ride over to Newport, and the price is very affordable, even senior discounts available. No driving hassle and comfortable ride.

Thank Aaron D
Reviewed June 3, 2018

My wife and I went on a river cruise at the end of May. Tom was a great pilot and tour guide. He was very informative and entertaining. After leaving the dock, you go down to the Waterplace Park Area. During that time, Tom was...More

2  Thank Boscaverde86
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

Captain Tom was great! He was really knowledgable about the area and kept things interesting. The tour was well worth the money!

Thank Tara N
Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

Hi Tara! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We appreciate your business and are happy that you found the tour to be interesting and well worth the cost. Hope to see you aboard again in the future!

Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

We did a WaterFire boat ride on the first lighting of the season. It was an enjoyable ride. My only complaint is that I wish they explained what the WaterFire was, etc. A 5 minute history or explanation would have been nice while the boat...More

Thank Mariah H
Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

Hi Mariah! Thanks so much for the review and your suggestion. Unfortunately, our WaterFire boat rides are a very different experience than our daily narrated tours. The serenity of the burning braziers, combined with the music program piped through speakers that line nearly the entire...More

Reviewed December 31, 2017

My wife and I took this tour when we visited Providence. It was one of the highlights of our trip. It was so informative...we learned so much about the history of Providence. And Captain Tom was great. You must do this when you visit Providence....More

2  Thank Gary F
Kristin S, Owner at Providence River Boat Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

Hi Gary! Thanks so much for the fantastic! review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you both aboard again in the future!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Charlene A
May 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from Kristin S | Property representative |
Hi Charlene, We can accommodate up to (18) passengers on each boat. If you had a large group, we could run both both simultaneously. Thank you! Kristin
0
Votes
ajjmz143
May 2, 2018|
Answer
Response from Kristin S | Property representative |
Good morning! Daytime tours and sunset cruises are $22 adults, $20 seniors 65+, $15 children 12 and under. 10% off for fire/police/ems/military on daytime tours and sunset cruises. WaterFire rides are $35. Our season... More
1
Vote
slhspm
November 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kristin S | Property representative |
Weather permitting, yes!! We like to try to open in late April, if the weather cooperates with us....I am building next seasons schedule this week, and will have it completely tweaked, open and available for booking. If we... More
0
Votes