Ocean World

Ocean World, Crescent City: Hours, Address, Ocean World Reviews: 4.5/5

Ocean World
4.5
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
Ocean World – A Crescent City Jewel for Three Generations Since 1964, Ocean World, formerly Under Sea Gardens, was located in the Crescent City harbor small boat basin. It was a barge built specifically as an aquarium in Seattle and floated down to Crescent City. Visitors would descend below deck of the barge and view sea life through under-water observation windows. In 1985 the barge was moved to dry land and now consists of sea-life environments housed in tanks containing over half a million gallons of water and an abundance of sea life, including sharks, seals, sea lions, and rays. Visitors are able to enjoy a true hands-on experience with interactive tide pools, shark petting, as well as a high-flying sea lion presentation of behaviors; truly something for the whole family.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
425 reviews
Excellent
231
Very good
140
Average
39
Poor
7
Terrible
8

Racer70
Lithopolis, OH231 contributions
My 12 yr. old daughter and I visited Ocean World on August 12, 2021. We were staying in Crescent City at the Lighthouse Inn while visiting Redwoods State & National Park. We had a 10% off coupon and it was basically across the street, so we visited and we're glad we did.

Ocean Word has a huge gift shop with everything under the sun, so be prepared to buy something for your kids. The admission was pretty cheap. They take you in small groups and give you a tour of the aquarium and put on a nice seal show for you. They have a touch & feel pool where you can touch sea stars and hold sea anemones. You also get to touch a leopard shark.

It's definitely a nice little tour which takes less than 1.5 hours in total. If you're in the area and have a little time, check out Ocean World.
Written August 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Racer, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are always interested in knowing how we did. We are so pleased to hear how much you loved our tour and experience with our marine friends. We look forward to having you join us again some other time and wish you all the best!
Written August 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

jtatom
Grants Pass, Oregon78 contributions
Family
Such a quaint cute little aquarium. If you have a stroller be aware that there are stairs inside, no ramps so its bets to have a small umbrella stroller. It is small so there's not a whole lot of sea life to look at none the less there's enough to entertain yourself for 30 min. The tour guide was brand new on the job and knew what he'd been told and memorized but when asked questions he didnt know how to answer, but gracefully went to another subject. At the start there's a little pool of abalone and starfish that you can touch. Then some aquariums with sharks, stingrays and other fish, there's a pool where you can touch a shark which was fun, and of course the sea lions. The sea lion put on a little show with her trainer which was very knowledgeable. There is alot of things to look at and buy at the gift shop. It was fun!
Written June 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi jtatom, Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a review, we appreciate the five star rating. We are so happy to know you enjoyed petting our shark and taking our tour, as well as our seal and sea lion behavior presentation. We're glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!
Written June 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Chris L
Ithaca, NY81 contributions
Its a great little place to visit that is very unique in it's set up. You get a personal tour and a little show with the sea lions and seals at the end. The price was a bit steep for what you get, but not too bad. Very large gift shop where you could, (and we did) spend a lot of money.
Written April 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Chris, Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us in the TripAdvisor community! We're happy to know that you enjoyed visiting us and taking our tour! We appreciate your kind comments and hope you'll join us again some other time and wish you all the best.
Written May 3, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Madelyn R
1 contribution
Couples
Sad. Small tanks. Dirty water. Feel terrible for these animals being trained - they’re obviously not happy and only doing these things for food. Guide said they were “training out negative behavior” in a sea lion for simply…sitting? Forced him to get back in the water. I don’t think any of these animals should be being forced to perform. I felt really guilty for just being there. They also do not wear masks, nor do they require masks for their guests. Before the owner responds with a snarky “we don’t appreciate your unfounded comments” line, I don’t care. You should be prioritizing the safety of your employees and community & groups of 10 should still be wearing masks even if they come together. And let’s be honest, y’all are not busy enough for this to be a reality. We were grouped with 7 strangers and none of them were masked. It’s ridiculous. The bathrooms were disgusting and there was no soap or toilet paper.
Written January 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Madelyn, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit with us, and that we couldn't add your name to extensive list of happy guests. As a reminder, our animals are all rescues who would have otherwise perished without intervention. We do not use artificial habitats, instead opting for a re-creation of the natural oceanic habitat that they would find in the wild. Our seals and sea lions especially, live well beyond typical life-expectancy in our care, and are not performance animals, rather animals who are loved and cared for each day by our staff and enjoy sharing their behaviors. They only present when they feel up to it, and are never forced. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us, and wish you all the best.
Written January 26, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joe
1 contribution
Family
First time in Crescent City, found this place and decided to go. The staff is very friendly and willing to answer any questions you have. The tour in my opinion was totally worth it. The seal/sea lion show was very good. Worth the price of the admission on it's own. Not a huge place but worth the time spent. Gift shop had a good selection of items and prices were very reasonable. Would definitely go again if we ever make it back to Crescent City.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Howdy, Joegoogle! Thanks for spending time with us and for your support for our mission to share love for all sea creatures, large and small. We appreciate the rating for our TripAdvisor community to see. Happy New Year to you and yours. Hope you'll visit again soon.
Written January 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ivie B
Grants Pass, OR2 contributions
Been meaning to visit this place for years, and glad I finally did. The tour was entertaining and informative. Our guide (sorry I didn't catch his name) was very knowledgeable and had answers to all our questions. The tanks were clean, and the animals all seemed happy and well cared for. The sea lion (Cora?) was especially excited to show off. Perfect way to spend an hour or two and still have energy left to see other things around the city. Well worth the price of admission.
Written February 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Ivie! Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your feedback with us in the TripAdvisor community. We're proud to know that you loved your visit with us and found our staff to be knowledgeable and our animals well cared for! We appreciate your business and look forward to having you join us again some other time!
Written February 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

jimlimo18
Baltimore, MD22 contributions
Family
Relatively small aquarium, but decent place to spend an hour or 2, especially if the weather is bad and/or you’ve got small kids. The aquarium has a couple of touch pools which the little ones will like. You have to go with a group and be accompanied by a tour guide who will take you through the exhibits and then end with a demonstration with the sea lions and harbor seals.

Written August 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HI JimLimo18, Thanks for spending time with us and for your support for our mission to share love for all sea creatures, large and small. We appreciate your business and feedback. We hope you'll visit again soon.
Written August 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Courtney S
3 contributions
Couples
My husband and I had so much fun getting to go see all the marine life there. We got to pet a shark and the tour instructor was extremely knowledgeable. It was her first day doing it by herself and she did an outstanding job. We will definitely be coming back here!
Written March 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Courtney! Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback with us, we're so happy to know you enjoyed your visit with us and found our guide to be very knowledgeable! We look forward to having you back to see us again sometime!
Written March 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Paul G
3 contributions
We enjoyed stopping here for a quick tour. There are some fun photo opps as will as interesting sea creatures to view and some to pet, including a shark. The seal show was the highlight. This is a great place for young families to relax and see the ocean and denizens through their glass bottom boat. We are retired were just on vacation but we enjoyed it too.
Written July 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi paulgH2272DM, Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us, we're so pleased to know that you loved getting to touch our animals and pet our shark as well as our seal and sea lion presentation. We hope you'll be back to visit , we can't wait to see you again!
Written August 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Molli
2 contributions
Family
NOT COVID SAFE AS ADVERTISED. MASKLESS CROWDED CONDITIONS.

Guide did nothing when the bulk of group was maskless and close enough to my family to touch. Unless you are vaccinated or stupid, wait till Covid is over to go.
Written March 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Molliwogg, We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our visit. Our tours are limited to ten people, and we prefer them to be groups who arrive together. Our guest comfort and satisfaction is our highest priority and we do not appreciate the unfounded comments.
Written May 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 421
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean World

Ocean World is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM