We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glacier Helicopters

Main South Road | SH6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0755
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
$177.45*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
More Info
$229.21*
and up
Fox and Franz Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
$229.21*
and up
Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Main South Road | SH6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-752 0755
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 355 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Not only was the weather on our side but the glaciers were both spectacular. Our pilot Sam was such a pleasure and he was most accommodating on our flight allowing group attendees to share the front seat experience which was amazing. He was extremely professional...More

Thank Erin M
Reviewed yesterday

The stars had to be in alignment for this trip to be this successful. We knew up front that completing this adventure was primarily based on the weather and it could not have been better. The staff at Glacier Helicopters had recently obtained adaptive equipment...More

Thank Chipper000007
Reviewed 4 days ago

We originally had our flight booked in for a Monday but due to bad weather we had to wait around until Wednesday when it cleared up. The staff were excellent and had no hesitation to offer a refund. Luckily we decided to stay in Franz...More

Thank Brisben83
Reviewed 5 days ago

First time in a helicopter. They took a long time to decide whether to fly or not due to cloudy conditions, but finally we had luck smiling. The total ride was only 20 minutes in which the pilot took us on the top of the...More

Thank Rohit M
Reviewed 1 week ago

The helicopter takes you to the glaciers and depending on your pilot and weather gives you 5-10 minutes on the glaciers. You can take good pictures at the glaciers. The ride and experience is really worth taking.

Thank 868malharm
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 868malharm, we’re glad you had an “amazing experience!” thank you for joining us at Glacier Helicopters.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were more than helpful and helped us book a last minute flight after our pre booked flight with another company was cancelled due to weather. Our pilot Sam was a terrific young man who really seemed to care about showing his customers a...More

Thank Wes L
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Wes, thank you for your review. All of our pilots, like Sam, are kiwi and enjoy sharing this “spectacular” region of our homeland. We’re glad you had a great time and “highly memorable adventure.” Thanks again from our team on the West Coast.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a thrill to actually land on Franz Joseph Glacier! We loved the flight and commentary up the mountain. Great views of Mount Cook and both the Fox and Franz Joseph glaciers. Amazing panoramic views. You can see all the way to the Tasman Sea....More

Thank momhay1957
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi momhay1957, we’re so glad to hear you loved our Mount Cook Spectacular flight and that it was “worth every second!” Thank you for joining us at Glacier Helicopters and for sharing your pictures!

Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile

We recently were booked to go on the mount cook spectacular with glacier landing, but the weather turned bad and unfortunately the flight had to be cancelled. The staff were really helpful and even tried to accomodate us later in the day, but we could...More

Thank Diane C
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Hi Diane, the unique alpine and rainforest terrain so close to the Tasman Sea certainly makes the weather here difficult to predict. We’re sorry the flight was cancelled this time, but we hope you’ll be back again soon. Bring the blue sky with you! Thank...More

Reviewed May 7, 2017

Took the Mount Cook Spectacular - fly up Franz Josef Glacier then around Mt Cook, then a landing at the head of Fox Glacier, fly down Fox and then back to FJ. Around 40mins total time. Glacier helicopters ran a professional operation and passengers were...More

Thank Ferd160
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Hi Ferd160, the Mount Cook Spectacular certainly is one of our favourite flights, and we’re glad you agree that it is “spectacular.” All of our pilots are Kiwi and enjoy sharing information about this wonderful part of their homeland. Thank you for joining us on...More

Reviewed May 5, 2017

This was definitely one of the highlights of our time in New Zealand. The helicopter ride was so fun, so smooth and so many GREAT views of the glacier. We booked the 2 glacier, snow landing trip, however, clouds started moving in rapidly during our...More

1  Thank Duane K
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Hi Duane, we’re glad you were able to enjoy the Franz Josef Glacier, even though the tour of both glaciers wasn’t possible this time. Unfortunately the weather here on the wild West Coast can change quickly. Please come back and see us for the full...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Alice May
1,182 reviews
.08 miles away
Blue Ice Cafe
626 reviews
.13 miles away
King Tiger Eastern Eating House & Bar
696 reviews
.27 miles away
Snake Bite Brewery
736 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
West Coast Wildlife Centre
567 reviews
.05 miles away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
48 reviews
.07 miles away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
46 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
MargaretRD
What happens if you have paid on line and the weather prevents the tour proceeding? I am only in town for 1 day...
March 31, 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Moosie57 | Reviewed this property |
They don't take your money online, just block it and release it if you don't fly
0
Votes
horsey200
Hi, we will be travelling from Wanaka (early / first light to the West coast) on 3rd August this year. We anticipate arriving at Fox after lunch / early afternoon. We would like to do the twin glacier landing flight (2 adults). Does not seem to be a time booking. Is it a matter of book for the actual day and turn up / jump on the queue? Fully understand that weather / visibility need to be factored in.
March 12, 2017|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from davidretired | Reviewed this property |
I would suggest trying to book a back up flight the following day if you are able. The weather is unpredictable and you would not want to miss this!!!
0
Votes
Prachi V
is it possible to do this with an infant - 6 month old?
October 19, 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Jeffnudi | Reviewed this property |
I would suggest you contact them directly. That question did not come up in my experience with them.
0
Votes