We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines

Boulder City, NV, USA
More
About Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines
Nearly a century ago, we chartered the first air tour over the magnificent Grand Canyon National Park. Today, nearly 300,000 passengers from around the world book our Grand Canyon air tours each year. Our company has grown to include Southwest destinations like Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend, and beyond. We provide a wide variety of air tours that are guaranteed to be both time and budget-friendly. Experience sightseeing adventure at new heights when you join us on an airplane to the Grand Canyon, Antelope Canyon, or any of our other spectacular destinations.
Read more
Travelers talk about
874Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 629
  • 168
  • 38
  • 18
  • 22
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Barbara W wrote a review Aug 17
Poznan, Poland7 contributions
Very professional and nice service with a captain Dave and F.O. Steven. They made us feel comfortable and safe.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JCY T wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
We did the Grand Canyon Experience tour (West Rim) and enjoyed every minute of it. Got some great aerial shots including pictures of the Hoover Dam. The flight was 35 mins each way and there was enough time to explore the 2 main sites (Eagle Point and Guano Point), plus get lunch at the restaurant with view of the Skywalk. Everything from the shuttle pick up/drop off went smoothly. I recommend it!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandCanyonGroup, Manager at Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Thanks for flying with us and for the 5-star review. We appreciate your support!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nailz wrote a review May 2022
Orangeville, Canada15 contributions3 helpful votes
I purchased the Grand Canyon Air Tour Deluxe with Hummer and Helicopter upgrades from Papillon for a "Prime Time Tour" which included pickup from my Las Vegas hotel, the flight from Boulder City to Grand Canyon National Park where I was transferred to Buck Wild for the Hummer tour and then finally to Papillon for the helicopter portion of my tour. I had assumed the tour I purchased was all operated by Papillon and not 3 individual companies, but overall it was a great tour with a couple of little things that made me deduct a point. On their website, they suggest booking a tour like this as early in your trip as possible and now I know exactly why. The bus to take me to Boulder City airport was scheduled to pick me up from my hotel (The Venetian) at 7:25am on Sunday May 1. While waiting I received a phone call informing me that my tour was cancelled as it was too windy to fly and I was asked if they could reschedule me for Monday May 2. Having paid a non-refundable fee of $834us for this tour, I had no choice but to accept the rescheduled tour even though it conflicted with the opening day of the trade show I was attending in Las Vegas. I had paid extra for a "Prime Time" tour, but the rescheduled tour was not a the "prime time" time and I was not offered a discount or refund for this which was a little dissappointing. I had also opted to pay the additional fee of $15 for a "window seat". I'm not sure what this was actually supposed to be for as all seats on the plane are window seats; Unless this was meant to be the seat beside the pilot, which I did not get. Upon boarding the plane for the flight from Boulder City to GCNP, our pilot , Holly, told us to set the headsets to channel 2 for the in-flight commentary. I don't know if they were all the same or not, but channel 2 in my seat gave me a non-english commentary. I tried the other channels and managed to find English on channel 1. Sadly I almost missed seeing the Hoover Dam because I couldn't understand whatever language was being broadcast on the other channels. When we landed at GCNP airport our group was transferred to "Buck Wild Hummer Tours" for the hummer portion of the tour. It was my first trip to the Grand Canyon and our tour guide Trey made it a memorable one. Trey knows the area very well and provided great insight into the things we saw along the way, as well as the stories that go along with the 4 photo op stops that we made on the tour, each giving us a unique view of various parts of the canyon. It would have been nice to make a stop at the Visitor Center in the Grand Canyon National Park. Trey did mention that it's a busy place and of course it contains a gift shop. A stop here, even for half an hour would have made this a perfect tour for me. As the package I purchased included a helicopter tour of the South & North Rim, I was taken direclty back to the airport after leaving GCNP, whereas the rest of the group was taken to Buck Wild's office in Tusayan where they have their own gift shop as well as a Native American trading post which would have been nice to see. I didn't realize that by adding the helicopter tour to my package I would miss out on all of the gift shops. The helicopter portion of the tour was great. I'd never been in a helicopter before, so it was a unique experience and the views of the canyon were incredible. It would have been nice to have more commentary and/or comments from the pilot as we flew over the canyon, but overall it was a great experience. I did ask at checkin if the front seat of the helicopter was available, but what I didn't know was that the plane and helicopter were operated by separate companies, asking about the helicopter at the Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines check-in was pointless and since there wasn't a separate check-in for the helicopter, I missed out on the opportunity to sit up front next to the pilot. For the return flight from GCNP Airport to Boulder City, I was unable to find English commentary on any of the radio channels. Sigh... Overall it was a great tour, but I think I should have been offered a refund for the non-existant "Window Seat" I paid for, as well as the premium I paid for the "Prime Time" tour when my tour got rescheduled.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandCanyonGroup, Manager at Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines
Responded Jun 2, 2022
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. First, we would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your tour. We always strive to provide the best service; however, it looks like we missed the mark, and we understand your frustration. Your review was sent to management in the Grand Canyon. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna & Kent wrote a review May 2022
Cumming, Georgia2 contributions
Our pilot Steve was very nice and very informative on our tour of Horseshoe Bend, Lake Powell and landing on the Butte. Would recommend this tour.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandCanyonGroup, Manager at Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed the tour and the service our pilot and staff provided. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to fly you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernd M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Pickup at Hotel went well Driving to the airport Boulder City Flight TO the canyon, NOT over or through. We did interpret "Flightseeing" to have a flight over the Canyon. Villiage was under contruction. To visit all 3 location the time is taff, more time would be better. People who did book helikopter flight could not see anything else. Skywalk : If you don't want to get pictures on the Skywalk you can pass the line of waiting people.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandCanyonGroup, Manager at Grand Canyon Scenic Airlines
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave and review your feedback and we apologize for any confusion/disappointment. Our flight is clearly advertised on our website as a flight to the Grand Canyon, not through it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456