We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rust's Flying Service

Features Animals
Anchorage, AK, USA
More
About Rust's Flying Service
Take a flight our float planes to the real Alaska whether flight seeing glaciers and mountains, bear viewing at remote lodges and national parks or fly in fishing. We've been flying people to Alaska's wilderness since 1963; located at Lake Hood in Anchorage, Alaska.
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
862Reviews9Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 748
  • 45
  • 21
  • 14
  • 34
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Truffles183 wrote a review Aug 11
Seattle64 contributions36 helpful votes
We went on a 10-day backpacking trip with Alaska Alpine Adventures and they used Rust's to get us from Anchorage to a little lake at the bottom of a glacier on Denali. Our pilots were friendly and very knowledgeable about everything we saw below us. They're located very close to
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Frank M wrote a review Aug 9
2 contributions
Awesome trip! Originally scheduled to go to Katmai, that trip was reschedule twice due to weather and then cancelled due to Covid. Rust's offered the Lake Clark trip as an alternative and I am so thankful that I went. The experience was phenomenal, up close to the bears, felt
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
MimiNorthGeorgia wrote a review Aug 8
Chickamauga4 contributions
My husband and I have traveled all over the world. Our bear trip to Redoubt Lodge on Clarke Lake in Alaska was the top. I'm an animal person and seeing all the mama bears with cubs -fishing was amazing. In pontoon boats u could get so close and follow. The lunch was delicious
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from K2_Rusts_Social, Social Media Manager at Rust's Flying Service
Responded 3 days ago
Wow, what a compliment! Thank you so much. We are so glad to hear you had an amazing experience and saw some bears! It's an amazing experience being so close to wildlife and getting to witness the bears in their natural habitat. Thanks for flying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Read more
Sarah B wrote a review Aug 6
Michigan1 contribution
I found my experience with Rust's to be incredibly disappointing. We had booked a seaplane tour to Prince William Sound Glacier. We initially booked for Saturday and less than an hour before we were supposed to be at Rust's for our tour, they called to let us know they were
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from K2ColeRFS, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that we were unable to operate your tour due to weather. You mention that when you booked someone from our office lead you to believe that if we had to cancel due to weather, you would be notified the day prior to you tour. Please accept my apologies if you were given that impression as we very rarely cancel the day before a scheduled tour. I'll be sure to follow up with our team to make sure we are clear on weather updates and cancellations. The weather in Alaska can be unpredictable and with flying to so many locations, we cannot rely on forecasts. We check the weather at the start of each day and continue throughout the day prior to every scheduled flight. On occasion, weather moves in last minute and we have to cancel the flight at short notice. When this happens we offer our guests three options; reschedule for another time/day, switch to another tour where weather is better, or a full refund. Unfortunately, your tour was impacted twice with a late weather cancel and impacted not only your selected tour of Prince William Sound but the rescheduled Glacier and Wildlife Tour. I can assure you that this is not the norm. We want to fly and are equally disappointed when we have to cancel but safety will always 100% come first. We will always cancel or reschedule if weather presents a safety concern or if we don't think the visibility will allow for an awesome tour. Our team works hard to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We are proud of the tours we offer and the safety first culture that is the foundation of our business. I hope that if given the opportunity, you'll give us another shot. You are welcome to reach out to me directly at cole@flyrustsk2.com.
Read more
abbiecarlon wrote a review Aug 3
Grand Rapids, Michigan2 contributions
The pilot Dan was fantastic! He gave us a smooth flight and an outstanding tour packed with interesting information! He was so knowledgeable about the geography and the geology. He found Lots of wildlife too. We really enjoyed his sense of humor.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from K2ColeRFS, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your tour with Dan. He loves to teach our guests about the incredible scenery they see from our flights. He is great at spotting for wildlife too! I learn something new every time I fly with him. He'll be thrilled to hear you had a great time on his tour. We appreciate you flying with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Anchorage
from $846.16
More Info
from $209.00
More Info
from $185.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info