We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Downtown TourGroup

33 reviews
Anchorage, AK, USA
More
About Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
Adventure planner - at no additional cost to you. We employ lifetime Alaskans, owned/operated by an Alaska Native. Our knowledge of heritage, customs and our people, guide you with a REAL Alaskan experience. A FREE service catering to your likes and dislikes not your typical cookie-cutter excursions. We specialize in last minute travelers.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
Tours from Anchorage Downtown TourGroup tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Winter All-In-One
$199.00 per adult
Overview
Experience Alaska in the twilight of winter on a tour that squeezes in all of the highlights surrounding Anchorage. Visiting Alaska in the winter is a magical opportunity ideal for travelers who want to avoid the summer crowds. However, winter conditions and limited daylight can make it tough to sightsee. Luckily, with this tour, you don’t have to worry about logistics or conditions and can focus on enjoying the sights.
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
30
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
30
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour day adventure his life an amazing experience beluga whales his knowledge tour group portage glacier earthquake tours company cruise wildlife reindeer moose native mountains
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 20 of 31 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Just had a tour with Russ and had a great time. He completely outdid our expectations. We toured both Anchorage and the areas around it. Russ has a good sense of humor, is interesting, and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ErlachA
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for a great review. I enjoyed spending time with both of you. We did see a lot of beautiful sites. I hope you travels find you back in Alaska soon. Cheers.

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We were in Anchorage at our precruise hotel and had a couple hours before the bus left so we asked the concierge if they knew of anybody who could drive us around and make stops on short notice...he suggested Anchorage Downtown Tourgroup. We are talking...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank LookingforWarmth
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

How AWESOME is your review? Thank you so much for the kind words. I enjoyed our impromptu tour of the city and I learned a lot about quilting. Please send me a photo when you complete your project. I look forward to seeing it. I...More

Reviewed July 9, 2018

Anchorage Downtown Tour Group is a small independent tour provider located near the Hilton in downtown Anchorage. The owner provides great personal service, has lived in Alaska most of his life, knows where all the interesting places are and has a treasure trove of fascinating...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Karen S
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Karen, thank you for your review. I hope your travels bring you back this direction. Cheers, Russ

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

The guide was incredibly nice. “You have to see this, you have to see that”. This is great, that is wonderful. The big attraction were the souvenirs shops with the local handicrafts paraphernalia. I bought a sweat shirt and an animal bone piece. It was...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank nelsoncerqueira1
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you for visiting. I do hope your travels bring you back for another visit.

Reviewed June 24, 2018

I was born in Anchorage Alaska at Providence hospital on 9th and L street. I have met and broken bread with Russ Reno. I have never met a more knowledgeable guide for all things Alaska. If he doesn't know the answer he'll go out of...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank mimi s
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you for your review Mimi. I look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

I scheduled a same day tour with Russ. He picked me up at my hotel and we began the downtown tour. His knowledge was extensive and layered with his family experiences of anchorage. I always appreciate people who truly see the beauty around them and...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank portsmouth35
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Stacey thank you for the kind words. I enjoyed our tour together. It's amazing how I always see something new on each adventure. Hope you travels bring you back this direction. Best of luck. Russ

Reviewed March 1, 2018

We were in Anchorage for one day only and unfortunately for us, it was a winter Monday when EVERYTHING seems closed in Anchorage. We went to the Welcome Center and learned about Downtown TourGroup. Russ took care of us and gave us a wonderful day...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 924sue0531
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

What a great time we had. Just wish we had a little more time to see the Museum in Whittier and a little less "weather" to see more of the beauty that surrounded us on the tour. Thank you again for allowing Anchorage Downtown TourGroup...More

Reviewed December 19, 2017

Topped all expectations! Traveling solo in Anchorage during the tourist offseason is tough since a lot of tours don't run in the winter and the ones that do require a minimum of 2 people. That's when I heard about Russ and Anchorage Downtown TourGroup. I...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank John L
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

John, What a great time we had. Hope you get a chance to come back for a summer visit or during Iditarod or Fur Rondy. Thank You for a great review and thank you for allowing Anchorage Downtown TourGroup to help plan your adventure. Cheers,

Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

It was the last day of our trip in Alaska and desperately finding the post office to get stamps for our postcards mailed back home, however it's impossible since it was a Sunday which we didn't notice at all. Fortunately, we went into Anchorage Downtown...More

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 59jessp
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

This is the best review we have ever received at ADTG. Thank you for allowing us to assist you in your Alaska experience. Thank you again for your kind works.

Reviewed September 24, 2017

We were trying to book a tour with another company and nothing was working out for the only day we had to explore. We were sent to Russ. What an amazing tour guide. So knowledgable and flexible. We had so many adventures and even though...More

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank sleeptherapeutics
Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

I think I may have had more fun than you... :-) What a great day, we were extremely lucky. Especially siting the calving of a Beluga Whale. Truly and experience I will never forget. So glad I had the opportunity to experience it with you....More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mimi s
June 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from Russ R | Property representative |
Thank you Zorro, I am going to guess that your support is over the attack on my business. Thank you again, your moral support is well received.
0
Votes