We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
Adventure planner - at no additional cost to you. We employ lifetime Alaskans, owned/operated by an Alaska Native. Our knowledge of heritage, customs and our people, guide you with a REAL Alaskan experience. A FREE service catering to your likes and dislikes not your typical cookie-cutter excursions. We specialize in last minute travelers.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Anchorage Downtown TourGroup

Winter All-In-One

Read more
6 to 9 hours
from $234.88
from $91.29
from $299.00

FALL Dog Mushing

Read more
8 to 9 hours
from $299.00
76Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
D.G. wrote a review Oct 3
1 contribution
Thanks Russ for the great tour to the Matanuska Glacier. Demitri is an excellent guide/ driver. looking forward to have another tour with your company. Your tour company is the best because your guest can communicate with you anytime. Great service !
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Marissa C wrote a review Oct 2
3 contributions
We recently took a glacier walk, my adopted daughter and I. It was well organized. The driver contacted us the night before and in the morning kept us informed before he came. He set up our lunch on the way out, was a safe driver, and very courteous. We ended up getting a guide for just the two of us near the glacier as the both of us could not keep up with the youngsters. Was a very informative and fun trip. It will be roughly a 2 mile round trip if you just want to get on the glacier; otherwise more likely to be 4 miles, which may be a bit much if you're older or have foot/leg/knee issues, as both of us did. Rather than crampons, the center at the glacier uses microspikes, which are easier to get on and off and work well.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Sir wrote a review Oct 2
Saint Simons Island, Georgia1 contribution
Review of: Sunset City Tour
I hate giving bad reviews but this was the worst tour I’ve ever done. I guess the regular tour guides were not available and didn’t bother to train this guy. He told us at the end that this was only his second tour, hopefully he will improve. His driving was questionable but we didn’t crash. He offered no narration and what he did offer was factually incorrect, again, training. I don’t think he has lived in Anchorage long but he must have to stay a bit since he was wearing an ankle monitor. We did see some animals so it wasn’t all bad.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Russ R, Owner at Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
Responded 2 weeks ago
I do appreciate your honesty, but I would hope you would have called me direct before leaving such a horrible, defaming, review. What people do not realize is we as owners would rather refund you 100% than let you slander our livelihood the way you have done. I do hope you will reach out to me with your complaint.
Read more
Karen G wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions
We booked a 4-hour tour to the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. Our guide, Russ, was super! He gave us a lot of narration and local insight on the way there and back and since it was raining and we didn’t want to spend as much time as normal at AWCC, he drove us out to as far as the Whittier Tunnel and showed us a few more interesting sites in the area, including the beautiful Portage Lake. Russ was great and I felt like he really wanted to make sure we were comfortable and entertained and enjoyed our tour. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
George C wrote a review Sep 2021
Saint Louis, Missouri7 contributions
Review of: Sunset City Tour
Great Tour! Russ was awesome!!! Enjoyed the personal experience!!! Will recommend!! Saw Bears, Moose and other wildlife up close.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456