Hot Stove Society
Hot Stove Society
4.5
About
Hot Stove Society is a year-round cooking school operated by Tom Douglas Restaurants based in Seattle, Washington. Our goal is to offer a curriculum that ranges widely from light-hearted and sociable to skill-building and challenging. Our classes are about many things from how to cut up a chicken, to how to build a delicious cocktail, to finding out who’s the hottest chef in Portland. Whether you’re seeking something fun and boozy after work or you’re aspiring to “cook like a pro,” you’ll find your dream class here.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
18 reviews
Excellent
15
Very good
0
Average
1
Poor
2
Terrible
0

cynbruce
Seattle, WA104 contributions
Mar 2019 • Friends
This is EXACTLY the thing I’d like to know about in advance to visiting a city! Be part of the audience for the taping of a radio show all about Seattle cooking/food scene. And the hosts are a couple of Seattle icons: Tom Douglas and Thierry Rautureau. Tapes on Tuesdays at 9:00 am and includes and delicious breakfast sandwich & coffee/tea. Only $15!!! Lasts a couple hours.
Written March 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

junieboonie
Lynnwood, WA17 contributions
Aug 2018
My husband and I got to watch the broadcast of the cooking show that I love to listen to on the radio. Tom Douglas and Thierry Rautureau, two of Seattle's most famous chefs and restaurateurs host the show, along with Katie Oh.
If you are a foodie or wanna be chef, this a fun and inexpensive thing to do. Not only do you come away with lots of tips about cooking and restaurants, but you get served a breakfast sandwich and coffee. We had a blast.
Written November 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We love to hear that you enjoyed the experience! Thank you so much for your feedback, and we do hope you'll join us again in the future :) Andrea E Guest Relations Tom Douglas Restaurants
Written November 13, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael98133
Seattle, WA35 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
This class was making a Timpano based on the movie Big Night. It was led by Tom Douglas. It was a great time. Tom led us thru the steps, there was plenty of staff to help us out and to direct, all the other courses (apps, salad, dessert, wine, etc.) was outstanding. Tom is a really showman and really seems to enjoy this and was very helpful and friendly. It was my wife's birthday and he was gracious enough to pose for a picture with her.
We have done multiple classes. We do two or three a year. We are already looking forward to doing another class soon.
If you have an interest in cooking or if you just want to have a good time and eat good food, I strongly recommend Hot Stove Society.
Written May 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much, we appreciate you!
Written May 28, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

globetrottergrub
Seattle, WA658 contributions
Feb 2016 • Solo
I was really disappointed by the fact that this is not a hands on cooking class it is more like watching a episode of food network. You sit in the audience and watch the teacher cook and they bring around bites of whatever they are making for you to taste and then give you the recipes to take home and try. For what you pay for the class it really isn't a cooking class. I have taken many many cooking classes around the city and I would recommend taking one of them and just eating at the Lolas downstairs.
Written April 24, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Vercrazy18
Maple Valley, WA54 contributions
Sep 2018 • Friends
Based off the class description- we did not get what we were promised or paid for. While the staff was friendly, we felt there wasn’t enough instruction and information given- also leaving not knowing if this class was supposed to be for beginners or experienced home “chefs”. There was a lot of basics such as how to peel a carrot.... but the dialogue seemed to be assuming we knew how to do much more elaborate cuts without any sort of demonstration to follow. The teaching method was basically their demo for about 10-15 minutes then they would just say “ok your turn” and we were supposed to remember all their techniques and repeat it...not very successful. Not to mention the fact that out knives were dull! How can you lecture about the importance of a sharp knife when several of ours were so poorly sharpened? (Know this to be true when the instructor validated it) We were supposed to get hands on experience sharpening- that never happened. We only used one style of knife and simply cut a potato, carrot, onion, tomato, cilantro, garlic and parsley- while the description made promise of butchery demos such as spatchcocking a chicken/ didn’t happen. Lastly we were promised a different meal than we were given-not the end of the world but homemade minestrone soup and grilled cheese with all local ingredients is more exciting than rice.

It was an ok experience- is not worth $50.00. I’ve watched knife tutorials online that i learned more from. Bummer!
Written September 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, and I apologize that you didn't receive the experience you were looking for during the class. I have forwarded your comments on to management so they can review them, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to do that, and we do hope you'll consider another class in the future. Andrea E Guest Relations Tom Douglas Restaurants
Written November 13, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael98133
Seattle, WA35 contributions
Oct 2017 • Couples
My wife and I attended a demonstration of some of the appetizers that are part of the Tom Douglas Empire. We watched and asked questions while they were being made and then got to sample them. We also got the recipes. They were very generous portions. We had a somewhat rambunctious group on a Friday night, but it was fun. We are going to do another class soon, but this time it will be a hands on class. The kitchen is so amazing, we both want to create something. You don't have to be a "foodie" to have a great time and get something out of it.
Written December 17, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DaveE4311
Philadelphia, PA11 contributions
Aug 2017 • Friends
We had a fun evening at Hot Stove. We attend a "demo" of BBW cooking and a most entertaining meal.

Hot Stove is located in the mezzanine of the Hotel Andra. The facility includes a large teaching kitchen with tables for about 30 students flanking the cooking area. Large video monitors showed the "Food Channel" overhead view of the workspace.

Our class was taught by Bradley Layfield and Chris Schwarz assisted by two sous chefs. Using prepared trays of ingredients, they prepared a rub, four BBQ sauces, BBQ Pork Ribs, BBQ Pork Shoulder, baked beans, cole slaw, Brunswick Stew (delightful!), and caramel cake. As they cooked, an assistant delivered tastes (or a portion) of each concoction to each student.

It was delicious. But more than that, it was a lot of fun. At the heart of it, these folks just like each other and enjoy making great food together. It made for a great evening.
Written August 29, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

FayMac
Seattle, WA48 contributions
Jul 2016 • Family
I had been looking forward to attending a cooking class at Hot Stove Society since it opened. It was definitely fun as a mother-daughter outing. I loved learning new techniques and trying them out in the hands-on portion. Instructor and staff were personable. The space in the Andra Hotel feels luxurious. I feel my goals for the class were met.
But compared to other cooking classes I've taken, it wasn't the best environment to learn in. It was difficult to hear, and impossible to hear some student's questions. Instructor had a glitch with equipment she did not know how to make work. Several ingredients were not available on each table, and it turned into a treasure hunt to find, then wait for them. The pace felt a bit rushed in the hands-on portion.
Suggestions for improvement:
Sound is muddy, improve the sound system. (The sound system is needed even though you're not far from the instructor due to banging from the prep cooks in the adjacent open space and the noisy ventilation system.) Summarize student questions before answering. Can the ventilation system be turned off during classes?
Put all ingredients on each table. No reason not to!
Thoroughly orient students to the classroom and all amenities available.
Turn on the overhead TV screens when the class begins, not 5 minutes late.
Instructors - test out equipment and make sure all is working for you.
Overall, give a sense of high value for the very high price tag on these cooking classes!
Written July 30, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

packyourbagsagain
Ogden, UT46 contributions
Oct 2014 • Friends
We held our firm retreat at this new establishment in the Hotel Andra, and it was absolutely fabulous. The Hot Stove staff, venue, menu, ingredients, and even background music were outstanding. We had quite a large group (70+), and everytime I thought chaos was going to ensue, the staff guided us back on track (in a delicate, humerous and unassuming way) to ensure our success. The quality of the ingredients was A+, which resulted in not only a fun cooking experience, but a tastey meal as well! In addition to renting the entire venue (where they also set up a wine/beer bar-with the Loft Bar being just around the corner for the hard stuff), you can also individually sign up for classes that they hold open to the public. Tom Douglas has done it again and I will definately be returning. And so should you.
Written November 7, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sawyer
Tacoma, WA169 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
Thoroughly enjoyed a recent “Lunch Club” visit. Requires advance reservations/planning with several different styles of classes. This event was an affordable, fun way to learn a specific menu of items - appetizer, entree and simple dessert. Instructor demonstrates while you eat what they are making. Well written instructions are given so you can make any notes but truly didn’t need to as I read through them. I would highly recommend this as a fun lunch date for locals, a unique way to rest your feet if you are visiting the city and a fun group outing choice as well.
Written February 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the class at Hot Stove Society! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing :)
Written March 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 18
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Hot Stove Society (Seattle) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Hot Stove Society


Restaurants near Hot Stove Society: View all restaurants near Hot Stove Society on Tripadvisor