Major Marine Tours - Kenai Fjords Cruise

Major Marine Tours - Kenai Fjords Cruise

Major Marine Tours - Kenai Fjords Cruise
5
Boat ToursDolphin & Whale WatchingNature & Wildlife ToursDay Trips
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Major Marine offers world-class wildlife and glacier cruises in Kenai Fjords National Park, departing from the beautiful harbor town of Seward, Alaska. We are a locally-owned, family company celebrating 30 years of sharing the beauty of Alaska with our guests. See tidewater glaciers, stunning scenery, whales, and abundant wildlife from one of our full-day or half-day cruise options. Our cruises explore the glacier-carved fjords and abundant wildlife of Resurrection Bay and Kenai Fjords National Park, offering some of the best whale watching opportunities in Alaska. Most cruises include a complimentary deli-style lunch served on board, allowing you to enjoy your meal without missing out on any of the sights.
Seward, Alaska
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Major Marine Tours - Kenai Fjords Cruise
Travelers talk about
(615 reviews)
(432 reviews)
(453 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles7,934 reviews
Excellent
6,883
Very good
721
Average
207
Poor
68
Terrible
58

Andre p
Henderson, NV47 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
The boat was clean, and confortable. The views we saw were amazing, the pictures don’t make them justice! We went on August 30th and it was a cloudy morning and we knew we would have rain at some point. Be aware that if they tell you the weather is no good but they will still go unless is unsafe, be ready for very bad sea sickness! We were 4 in our group, 3 of us spent most of the trip puking in a bag, and I puked once. The staff was super helpful to keep everyone confortable while they were feeling sick. Since the weather was no good, we weren’t able to see that much wildlife :( ( we knew we were late in the season too) we saw a lot of puffins, 2 otters and 2 eagles and jelly fish. It was still pretty cool to see and we were happy we were able to go to all the spots! The captain was very informative during the whole trip especially during the big waves. The lunch included was good, they have a full bar with drinks and beer at a good price ($5 for an alaskan amber,$4 for a glacier ice margarita) they also have complimentary coffee, tea and chocolate.
Over all it was a great trip, if the weather was better it would have definitely be the highlight of the trip, my friends don’t want to hear the word boat in a while! Please be aware that if you do decide to go during bad weather, be ready to still feel sick after.
Covid: the staff was on top of constantly cleaning heavy traffic areas like handles and doors, they were checking people was wearing face masks inside and the boat wasn’t crowded.
Written August 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for your review! We are sorry that the wildlife and weather were not ideal, but are so happy that despite all that, you still had a great experience. Of course, that is our ultimate goal, and we love to hear when our crew so greatly accomplishes that. We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback and hope you have another chance to join us seasickness-free!
Written September 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Glenda J
Charlotte, NC61 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
Major Marine Tours delivered a memorable experience for our family of four. Captain Laura, Katrina, and the rest of the crew were informative, engaging, and enthusiastic. This team shared the history of the Fjords and shared in the excitement when we spotted Orcas, otters, sea Lions, humpback whales, puffins, eagles, etc. I highly recommend splurging for this day long tour since it may very well be the most memorable one of your trip.
Written July 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Katie MAC
Tampa, Florida, USA91 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
We took this cruise during COVID-19 times, and had an excellent time. We saw so many humpback whales, harbor seals, but the best part was that the captain found our ship a pod of orcas with a couple of babies and it was the most wonderful time to see them playing in the water. We also got super close to the glaciers. We had planned on sea kayaking around the glaciers to ensure we got as close as possible to them, but that expensive excursion was not necessary as the ship took us past the group of kayakers within closer proximity to the glacier as they could get. Also, they made a special cocktail with glacier ice caught with a net at the glacier, and I would definitely recommend you get it ($3 - super cheap). Have the best time!
Written July 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sflfsu
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
We booked last December for this July, I called last month to inquire of current status due to the virus. Was told the 7.5 was cancelled that I needed to choose between 6 or 8 hour your. Was not told unless I had called. Then when I called back to inquire about the prime rib and crab legs dinner was told that was cancelled. However even though I paid for this dinner, I did not get any type of refund because I booked on cyber Monday. The food was a lame turkey sandwich which we do not eat Should have been served something better than that.
The staff was great, efficient and the captain was superb.
Written July 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback on your recent cruise. As you mentioned, we did have to make several changes to our cruise season this year due to COVID-19. We apologize that you were not contacted about our updated cruise options in a timely manner. We chose to change our regular salmon & prime rib meal service to a pre-packaged deli lunch to ensure the safety of our guests and staff this year. We understand your disappointment and apologize that the regular meal option was not available. The buffet cost should have been refunded to you because it is normally an additional cost, unlike the complimentary deli lunch we are offering this year. Please give us a call if you would like us to double check your reservation. Despite the meal, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the cruise, staff, and captain. Thank you for choosing to cruise with Major Marine Tours this year.
Written July 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jacqclair
The Cincinnati Region2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We took the 8.5 hour Northwest Glacier tour. The captain was very knowledgeable of the area, he seemed to go above and beyond in finding wildlife during our tour and he was a very skilled captain. Of the many tours we took in Alaska, we felt this was the best value - the cost of the tour included more than we expected. We booked this tour several times during 2020, canceling and finally taking the tour in July 2021 - the reservation staff were very patient and helpful. Thank you to all staff at Major Marine,I appreciate your extraordinary efforts during this most difficult travel season!
Written July 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dick M
Loudon, TN18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We were a bit apprehensive when we booked the 8.5 hour cruise in terms of having bad weather, motion sickness, visibility and the amount of wildlife we would encounter. Well, we lucked out on all counts. On top of that the crew and captain were all great. The captain (sorry, his name escapes me right now) was a wonderful narrator, clearly very knowledgeable about wildlife behaviour and, also, explained what he was doing and why.

The scenery was spectacular, not only the glaciers but also the islands and mainland. All in good time, we saw bird closeups (loved the puffins), humpbacks and killer whales, seals and sea lions and lots of charter fishing boats going after halibut (I suppose).

Looking out for wildlife is never a sure thing -- either they are there or not. Spotting wildlife that are present, however, takes patience and skill. We chose the right day and the right tour and had the right captain.
Written July 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joe S.
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
It was amazing, even with my wife and kids. Today my family and I were privileged to experience the 6 hour Major Marine tour around the Kenai Fjords. Check in was a breeze and the boarding process went smoother than a baby seals butt.

Captain Laura runs a tight ship. We left the dock on time and her crew of young professional provided flawless service.

If your next Alaskan cruise is not with Major Marines then, you are wrong!!!

Keep up the great work.
Written September 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

zoegrosskopf
Fort Collins, CO1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
I originally wanted to go on a whale watching tour with the neighboring Kenai Fjords Tour but I am SO glad we ended up with Major Marine! The captain and crew are kind, helpful, and really do their best to prepare you for your time on the water and get you an experience that just blows you away. On this particular tour, the captain received a call on a sighting of many different whale pods, one in particular was a pod of 5 of ORCAS! In April!! It wasn't necessarily guaranteed we would see these but the captain went ahead and deviated from our original route and we spent about an hour out in the ocean following this amazing pod of orcas and getting us so close yet safely away from the wildlife. It was absolutely incredible and beyond what you would expect during this tour. We also got pretty close to a humpback whale cow and calf, a pod of six or so adolescent gray whales, sea lions sun bathing, and sea otters having a usual fun time in the water and of course a bunch of different bird species including a few sightings of puffins and mountain goats! The facilities were excellent and the service was wonderful. An unforgettable experience. I can't wait to come back!
Written April 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for cruising with us! We are so glad you got to see so many different whales, especially the orcas!
Written April 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

C.C.Mom
Chevy Chase, MD146 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
We lucked out on our 6 hour Kenai Fjords Cruise on a beautiful, sunny day (which is not typical in August). We saw orca and humpback whales, sea lions, puffins, 2 bald eagles and rafts of otters. The Holgate Glacier was mesmerizing and the bay was gorgeous.

The Captain narrated expertly when appropriate and I also appreciated the quiet when watching wildlife and glacier glazing so we could enjoy the awesomeness of the surroundings. The crew was cheerful and professional from the front desk staff to the on board assistants. The boat was immaculate and lunch was plentiful.

6 hours was long enough for us though there is a longer cruise that visits an additional fjord.

Note: the Captain advised pre-medicating Dramamine if a passenger thought they were even mildly prone to sea sickness. The boat sells single doses. The cruise was bumpy on the open sea and rocked a lot during whale watching and there were some very seasick passengers. Our party of 4 all took 1/2 to a full tablet and we were all fine. Take it before the boat sails-if you wait until you’re queasy it’s too late!
Written August 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

shochberg13
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
I was extremely impressed by how quickly the time flew by. The captain (John) was extremely knowledgeable and clearly passionate about marine wildlife, and had a great knack for explaining things in bite-sized pieces from how to identify whales, to why is the ice blue, etc. We saw harbor seals, puffins, lots of birds, bald eagles, an island of sea lions, a few humpback whales (including one rare one that jumped out of the water) and an outstanding glacier. We did the 8.5 hour tour, and I was worried that would be too long, but when it was over, it felt as if only 3 hours had passed. I would recommend this tour with as much conviction as an internet stranger can convey. If you're considering this tour, you may also be considering the Kenai Fjord tour. I've heard that it's a similar experience, but I would choose the Major Marine tours. Even though they're a bit pricier, I saw a Kenai Fjord Tour boat pass by and it was packed, possibly twice as many people on the boat. It was nice to have space to move around the boat and I felt when there was a wildlife spotting, there was enough room for everyone to get on one side of the boat and see it.
Written August 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 7,828

Major Marine Tours - Kenai Fjords Cruise - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Seward
Day Trips in SewardZoos & Aquariums in Seward
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars