Kona Beach & Sports

Kona Beach & Sports, Kailua-Kona: Address, Phone Number, Kona Beach & Sports Reviews: 4.5/5

Kona Beach & Sports
4.5
Speciality & Gift Shops
About
Come check out our wide variety of casual wear and accessories. We feature exclusive locally designed cycling jerseys, custom Oakley apparel, accessories and sunglasses as well as a professionally maintained fleet of bikes for our bike rental customers.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Tours and Tickets


4.5
4 reviews
Excellent
3
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

soulman2662
Redmond, WA11 contributions
Bike rental problems
Dec 2017 • Family
We rented bikes from this shop in December 2017. They did not offer hourly rentals, so we had to pay for a full day for two bikes even though we were only planning on riding for around 4 hours or so. We figured this was ok since hourly rates for the "cheap" bikes on the street were around $7/hr and we were paying $30 per bike for our time. It would have nice to offer hourly rates but that is their policy.

The problems came when we actually rode the bikes. The bikes are 24 speed, which is good. However the seats are very hard and uncomfortable. Within an hour we were very sore and chafed. The worst part is that one of the bikes got a flat tire a fair distance from the shop. They had provided us with a flat repair kit, but the pump did not work. So one of us had to sit with the bike while the other rode all the way back to the store to get a new pump, then back again. All told, we spent about 2 hours of our rental time changing the flat because of the faulty pump.

When we turned the bike in, we asked if they would consider a discount given that we spent half our riding time dealing with a flat, and the best they would offer was to not charge *us* for the flat!! We're guessing flats happen frequently.

Have to give low marks for the bikes, and even lower marks for the customer service.
Written December 31, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so sorry you had a poor experience. Hoping you'll give us a chance to change your opinion in the future. You are correct, we do not have an hourly rental rate and while flats can happen, it sounds like our team did their best to rectify the situation. All our rental bikes are Specialized 24-Speed Hybrids that are maintained by a professional mechanic. All rentals come with a helmet and the necessary tools in the event of bike flat (included in rental rate).
Written January 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

happytraveler582016
Libby, MT11 contributions
friendly staff
Dec 2016 • Family
we rented bikes for several days-24 speed bikes are fine for anything in the Kona area-for the recreational rider- staff was helpful, friendly and enthusiastic-had a great experience-helps to reserve ahead
Written January 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MrDuvan80 .
Victorville, CA27 contributions
Full face snorkel mask
Sep 2016
Very friendly staff and they have all the sizes for full face snorkel masks at a great rental price per day and week if you need it longer. I am glad we found this place they helped us getting the mask on my 4 year old and adjusting so that she would have a great experience snorkeling. They took the time to answer our questions. All the staff was super friendly. You have to stop here and check the place out.
Written September 10, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

J B
20 contributions
Fantastic experience from the minute we walked in the door
Aug 2016 • Couples
The staff were amazing and knowledgable. My husband and I are basic snorkollers with second hand gear. The staff were excited for us and this excitement rubbed off on us. They had expert knowledge and listened to what we wanted and made recommendations without being pushy, they offer a daily rental scheme on some items so we could try some, the cost of the rental is then off-set if we brought the item (new). This really helped us. When we returned the item already deciding to buy it, the staff were different but the experience was the same! We can't praise them enough, go and see for yourself.
Written August 23, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kona Beach & Sports