We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
542
All photos (542)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“pork”(93 reviews)
“mai tais”(93 reviews)
“fire dancers”(26 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
79°
66°
Feb
79°
66°
Mar
79°
66°
Apr
Contact
75-5852 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Website
+1 808-427-2452
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Royal Kona Resort Luau
from $228.00
More Info
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
428
387
174
39
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
428
387
174
39
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork mai tais fire dancers premium seating reserved seating preferred seating extra shot coconut cake earth oven buffet line great seats kalua pig priority seating side dishes ocean view beautiful sunset the big island
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

My 22-year-old son and I made the trip to the Big Island, spending most of it exploring and doing very little "tourist stuff". However, we decided to attend the Luau on the evening of our return flight, and we had a great time! We expected...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Allen T
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

What can I say, this was a great show. The staff working the event were friendly. The performers were great. The band was fantastic. The food was really good. Unlimited mai tais, beer, if you want a rum and coke they will make that too....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank johnoQ3304CV
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Aloha Thank you for attending our luau and for your feedback! We are delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the show. Our staff works hard to provide an unforgettable experience. We love that the whales added a special touch to the sunset...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

We enjoyed the luau. The staff was professional and very friendly. Drinks, dinner, and the show were all included. The dinner included several meat choices in addition to the pulled pork. There was approximately room for 300 guests so it was a nice size to...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 60404Cja
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Aloha, Thank you for attending our luau and for sharing your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed the luau and that we were able to achieve a warm and inviting atmosphere. We hope that you can return to Kona for another magical evening in...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was our first luau and we were not disappointed. We got there early for check-in and the chance to upgrade to VIP tickets, and were able too! We could touch the stage! Attire worried us a bit because we strictly brought casual attire. Some...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank PSMSHAF
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Aloha Thank you for attending our show and for your feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed the show and were able to snag the premium seating! We love that you both had an unforgettable time and enjoyed the sunset view. We hope that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time at this luau! We are a family of four, three of us are vegetarians. They gave each of us a vegetarian plate as well as all the vegetarian options on the buffet. they were the only luau in town that...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Shelley B
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our luau. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here with us and that we were able to make the night even better by providing a vegetarian menu. We love that you and your family enjoyed...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the luau. It was very personal and worth it . The food was great . They had a sleacial vegetarian dish made for my spouse and child who are vegetarians. The background of the ocean and the setting sun added to the...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank ReshmaK131
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Reshma, Thank you for your review of our luau. We are delighted that you had a great time and that we were able to accommodate your spouse and child's dietary needs. We always want our guests to have a beautiful time. We hope you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought it was really expensive for what we got. I would have appreciated a nonalcoholic ticket price because several in our group didn't drink. The mai tais were tasty but obviously had very little alcohol and the "open bar" closed within an hour and...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank juliaudick
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our luau. We are sorry to read our show did not meet your expectations and even sorry to see we disappointed you. We strive to provide our guests with a truly authentic Hawaiian experience and we are sorry...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hate the following: Open bars - too many rowdy drunk people, and since I am a one drink person, I do not like paying for the boozers. Buffets: Food is usually mediocre, and since I don't eat that much, I don't like paying for...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank kevinrH8044AN
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our luau. We are delighted to see you enjoyed the show the food and the overall evening. We are sorry to see your manta ray trip was canceled however we are delighted to read we were able to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are less expensive luaus and pricier ones, but this one was mid-range and met all of my expectations. We didn't stay at this resort, but it's located close to everything and got a god deal by ordering in advance online. Go early for best...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank SandyGoCubs
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our luau. We love reading you had a great time with us and enjoyed the nights Hawaiian entertainment. We would love to welcome you again for another magical night. Warmest aloha Tara

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attended this luau in January 2019. This was our third luau; having attended one on Oahu and one on Kauai (sorry Maui we forgot to schedule one). We showed up 1 hour early to get preferred seating; at 5pm they allowed us in and...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank raynman62
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our luau. We are delighted to read you had a great experience with us. From your review it appears you were able to enjoy all the show has to offer from the yummy food the amazing fire dancers....More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 49 nearby hotels
Royal Kona Resort
3,449 reviews
.02 miles away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
566 reviews
.50 miles away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
923 reviews
.53 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
589 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,038 nearby restaurants
Gypsea Gelato
78 reviews
.20 miles away
Basik Acai
426 reviews
.11 miles away
Foster's Kitchen
536 reviews
.23 miles away
Huggo's Restaurant
1,472 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,162 nearby attractions
St. Michael the Archangel Church
158 reviews
.38 miles away
Ali'i Drive
828 reviews
.42 miles away
Kona Farmers Market
232 reviews
.41 miles away
Kona Inn Shopping Village
72 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Camper42436177912
January 27, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DanW440 | Reviewed this property |
No band, no music, no nighttime entertainment
0
Votes
schnoobie
December 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from DRosmaier | Reviewed this property |
It's on a first come first serve basis. We got there about 45 minutes before check-in started and were close to the front of the line. If you want to pay the extra for preferred seating you pay at the time they check you in.
2
Votes
chester c
September 9, 2017|
Answer
Response from BFF1 | Reviewed this property |
Around $80 if booking on line. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday. Not on Thursday. Not on weekends
1
Vote