We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kailua-Kona
Post
Inbox
Search

Island Breeze Luau

Closed Now: 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Open today: 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
All photos (556)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“hula lessons”(51 reviews)
“royal court”(36 reviews)
About
Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and...more
Certificate of Excellence
Closed Now
Hours Today: 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Website
+1 808-326-4969
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Island Breeze Luau
from $119.35
More Info
from $131.00
More Info
from $227.76
More Info
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
636
312
156
55
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
636
312
156
55
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula lessons preferred seating royal court polynesian islands kalua pig pork mai tais temporary tattoos king kamehameha hotel pre show punch bowl the big island the aloha spirit fish hawaiian culture fun experience performers
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Delightful, insightful, educational and historic. The Island Breeze Luau in downtown Kailua-Kona has it all. Fantastic from beginning to end. Beautiful location right on the ocean. The staff are absolutely a joy to be around. The food is onolicious! Excellent Luau!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank ryanshieldsrj
Reviewed 6 days ago

What an AMAZING way to spend a beautiful evening in Kona! Island Breeze has managed to make this Luau the best way to experience true Aloha on the Big Island!! We have to been to numerous Luau's over the last 30 years, and this one...More

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank TIDELDAVE1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an amazing time. The food was excellent. Pig cooked in the ground and everything. Dancers were fantastic as well as the rest of the staff! First time going to a luau and would highly recommend this one!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank BeccaMac10
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Mahalo for the feedback - hope we see you again soon! A hui hou!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow!!! It is a must to experience this grand tradition. It surpassed out expectations. The food, refreshments, and games were wonderful. Family friendly of all ages.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Tsagodi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this luau several months in advance. It was Ironman week, the busiest week in Kona. We got dressed, and went to the”Luau Garden.” No one there. Not a soul. We waited, then walked into the lobby of the Marriott hotel. Management was already besieged...More

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank georgea19
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Mahalo for reaching out to us and sharing your disappointment regarding a change in venue during the Ironman Triathlon. Because of the thousands of additional guests to the hotel at that time, we always move the lūʻau to make it more convenient for our guests....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Read the “about” section of Island Breeze Luau. It’s says verbatim - it will be at Marriott Kamehameha. And when you buy tickets. They say on the ticket it’s at the Marriott Kamehameha. And when they email you it will remind you it’s at the...More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank jimhanseen23
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Mahalo for reaching out to us and making us aware of your situation. We deeply apologize that our attempts to communicate about the changes that take place during the week of Ironman didnʻt reach you. As you experienced yourself - during Ironman week there is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely great show pretty much what I expected .. but the enthusiasm made it real special you could really tell the performers loved what they do !!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank suszanne86
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this luau in August to help my mother celebrate her 70th birthday with me, my father, and my partner on the Big Island. We had been looking forward to this for so long and arrived on-site at 4:45 pm to ensure that we'd...More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank leanadawn
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha and mahalo for letting us know of your disappointment. You are correct that a rain situation like this is very rare in Kona and a sudden downpour does create a rush to ensure our guests are taken care of as quickly as possible. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I planned my in-laws anniversary trip a year in advance. They actually honeymooned in Kona 50 years ago, so I recreated as much of that trip as I could. Purchased the extremely expensive VIP tickets for the 4 of us, and then bought same for...More

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank JacksonGuy
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha, on behalf of our entire team, we want to apologize for the disappointment you experienced at the luau on October 13th. We understand that this was a very special occasion and you put a lot of work into making the entire evening a beautiful...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We concluded our trip with this luau and the forecast was dry weather. Due to hawaiian weather we ended up in the rain. They handed out poncho's and nevertheless we did enjoy the show which was great! But considering the cost of a ticket. The...More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Maps38868702905
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Mahalo for reaching out to us. We apologize for the rain situation that surprised us that night. We would never want you to return home disappointed. Please email us with your contact information so that we can follow up with you directly - info@ibphawaii.com.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 49 nearby hotels
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,573 reviews
.12 miles away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,483 reviews
.20 miles away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
584 reviews
.34 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
630 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,087 nearby restaurants
One Aloha Shave Ice Co
215 reviews
.21 miles away
Splasher's Grill
3,593 reviews
.13 miles away
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
3,850 reviews
.17 miles away
Menehune Coffee Company
222 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,250 nearby attractions
Kailua Pier
317 reviews
.14 miles away
Kamakahonu
131 reviews
.14 miles away
Ahuena Heiau
119 reviews
.04 miles away
IRONMAN World Championship
5 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
heathercR5591DA
October 13, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from konakohala | Property representative |
Aloha Heather, please give our reservations team a call at (808)326-4969. If the culinary team knows of dietary restrictions in advance they can definitely make arrangements to make a special meal for your child. Mahalo... More
0
Votes
anae706
April 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from J-HuGeneralManager | Property representative |
Aloha anae706, Thank you for your inquiry regarding activities for children before the luau starts. We do offer island board games, Temporary Tattoos, Hula, and occasional drum class. We hope that you will consider joining... More
1
Vote
westtravelers2019
January 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jerry p | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I am unsure ,you could probably call
0
Votes
Frequently Asked Questions about Island Breeze Luau