Tastebud Tours
Tastebud Tours
5
Cultural ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursWalking ToursNight ToursFood Tours
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The Oldest Family, Veteran owned Food Tour in New Orleans, Celebrating 14 years! Tastebud Food/Cocktail Tours is proud that our tours and Experiences have earned 4000. We have the finest licensed guides in New Orleans, making your Food Tour an Unforgettable Experience! It's your turn to take an unforgettable stroll through the streets of the French Quarter immersing your taste buds in some of the best quintessential cuisine NOLA has to offer: Ya Ya Gumbo, Jambalaya, Muffuletta, Pralines, Po-boys and more. Looking for a fun and refreshing Craft Cocktail Experience? We have your Thirsty Tastebuds entertained ! Tastebud Food Tours has been selected as the Peoples Choice Food/Cocktail Tours in New Orleans for the last 14 years! Our Private tours are second to none, from 2 to 160 guest we are ready to provide the very best experience for you and your Team.
New Orleans, Louisiana

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Tastebud Tours
Travelers talk about
(286 reviews)
(14 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
1,840 reviews
Excellent
1,604
Very good
164
Average
46
Poor
17
Terrible
10

Ciarán D
3 contributions
Nov 2021 • Friends
Our group of nine was mesmerised by Richard's wealth of food and general New Orleans knowledge. He is a skilled and gripping Raconteur. We will never forget standing at the edge of the French Quarter while Richard brought us through NOLA's fascinating history. You could hear a pin drop! Could not recommended this tour enough. Thanks Richard!!
Written November 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind review. I will be sure to let Rich know you enjoyed your tour. He is one of the Best!! Tastebud Tours takes pride in being The Five Star Food Tour in New Orleans !We want to provide our guests with some of the best foods and entertainment in NOLA. Our guests receive the very best in delicious food, fun, and fact-filled walking tours. Our number one goal is to exceed our customer expectations. We want you to be totally satisfied with your taste adventure. Our objective as a company is to treat your taste buds as they have never been treated before on a Tastebud Tour. We want the experience to be the highlight of your visit to New Orleans or Chicago. For our guests who have taken a Tastebud Tour, we thank you. For our guests having reservations, we look forward to meeting you and showing you an excellent time in the near future. To those who have not yet made a reservation, join us for an incomparable Taste Adventure. Hope to see you on your next visit we will have your table waiting! Thanks! Tastebud Delights, Lynn and Karon Jaynes
Written December 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bobbywest2015
Valparaiso, IN27 contributions
Jan 2024 • Friends
We went on the cocktail tour with a mixed group - some are not partial to cocktails but don’t let that stop you. We all enjoyed the history and interesting tidbits we learned that you just don’t get reading the guide books or other references. We visited local yocal spots that are full of character and plenty of personality. Share a drink to taste with some others and broaden your horizons! Suzette had plenty of info to share and answered all our questions - she was a very hospitable guide!
Written January 21, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John B
1 contribution
Oct 2023 • Couples
The tour was good and Kim the tour guide was very good . They took us to some good restaurants and was quite informative about many other food spots . The best times to go and how to get reservations. The food samples we had where good because we signed up for just seafood , the pralines and truffles where great way to end the tour
Written October 17, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

couponsavy
West Hartford, CT51 contributions
Dec 2019 • Couples
I went with a group of friends to the tastebud tour. I would not recommend this tour to anyone. I felt like each restaurant treated us as second class customers - squeezing us into less desirable seating (you’ll walk by dead rats in traps in the back of Nola po boys) and you’ll get just a sample of each course. This tour sounds great on paper, but Richard has poor execution and there were mistakes at each stop. First stop our seating was not reserved and we had to wait 15 min for another tour to leave. Third stop - they switched the muffuletta sandwich for a small cup of gumbo. While he boasted this as an upgrade, everyone knew it was not. Fourth stop we were supposed to be on a beautiful balcony on bourbon street - instead crammed into a windowless room on their first floor. Oftentimes Richard had groups break up to sit at different tables, such that the group could fit into as few tables as possible.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good afternoon, I am Lynn the owner an CEO of Tastebud Tours. I am sorry to hear of the experience that you had on one of our tours and have tried to reach out to you directly through Tripadvisor to understand your experience more in detail however I haven't been able to get a hold of you. Unfortunately, the phone number in which you booked your tickets under was generic (0123456789). Richard is our Director of Operations in New Orleans and per your review, I know that he gave your tour. I have spoken with him several times regarding your review and have asked him to respond to the points made. I would still like to touch base directly with you about your experience. You may reach me at 219-929-6648. Here is Richard: This is Richard, Director of Operations at Tastebud Tours. I read every review with great interest with the focus on improving our tours. I am indeed sorry your experience left you dissatisfied. I would assume you and your friends took the tour on December 30 because you were in New Orleans for the New Year’s Eve or Sugar Bowl festivities. So were an additional 200,000 other visitors. Not surprisingly, it was a very crowded city. Due to all of the restaurants being crowded, I asked that the tour take as few tables as possible. This may have meant that you were sitting at a table adjacent to other members of your group. At our first stop, you said your seating wasn’t reserved. I told the group before we arrived at Tujague’s that we would be served at the bar, the oldest “stand up” bar in the United States. You shouldn’t be expecting seating, but would be participation in a 160 year experience. When we arrived, another tour group arrived unexpectedly several minutes ahead of us. You may have seen me question the bartended about their arrival. He said they were at least 30 minutes late arriving. He made arrangements for us to continue our tour in the Begue Room of the restaurant until the first group left. Our regular schedule is for us to finish in the Begue Room.You received all of the food and all of the information you would have received regardless of the other group poaching on our time. I did protest to the management the next day, and I am waiting for their response. The regularly planned food for the Court of the Two Sisters is the Muffuletta. As we entered the restaurant, the management informed me that they had unexpectedly run out of the special muffuleta bread, so he substituted the seafood gumbo. The gumbo at the Court of the Two Sisters is thick with seafood and has a very rich roux. It is one of their signature dishes. It was very much an upgrade, as reflected by comparing the price of the item. You mentioned “…less desirable seating” and “…supposed to be on a beautiful balcony.” As mentioned, this was New Years and Sugar Bowl week. Crowds were enormous. At Cornet, their entire upstairs, including the balcony, was rented for a private function. You may remember that as we arrived there, the staff had reserved the appropriate number of tables for us. The tables were set and waiting for us. The tables were in the main downstairs dinning room, not in some “windowless room.” I was appreciative of their efforts, because if you had walked up as an individual customer, you would have been standing in line with others waiting for a table. At NOLA Po’ Boy, were given a private dining room with a private rest room. Please note that our website states that substitutions may be made if necessary. All of the substitutions made December 30 were very much necessary. You had criticism of me as your guide. You weren’t specific in your concerns, so I can’t address your specific concerns. I can invite you to read previous reviews which mention me by name (over 300.) They are highly favorable of me. Finally, I am concerned that you were dissatisfied. I understand that the owner of Tastebud Tours has reached out to you to discuss your concerns personally. I invite you to respond to his request.
Written January 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LarryMichel
Newton, MA15 contributions
Our guide, Lyndel, was excellent. She shared her knowledge with us to make New Orleans come alive through food. She also shares her personal stories which made the tour even more special. She was kind and considerate of everyone in our group and we had a great tour.
Written June 20, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jmb544
Salt Lake City, UT114 contributions
Jan 2024 • Friends
The food choices were great! We had po’boys, muffulettas, gumbo, jambalaya and pralines. The portions were large and the food was excellent! Roger gave us a lot of fascinating historical information on this walking food tour of the French Quarter.
Written January 15, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Matthew B
Minneapolis, MN1 contribution
Jan 2024 • Couples
Very interesting historical narrative, peppered with architecture and occasional references to food. The food stops were welcomed bits of respite and represented a variety of food, but the food itself wasn't very noteworthy. Except maybe the pralines at the end.
Written January 27, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your Tastebud Food and Cocktail Tour experience. We're pleased to hear that you found the historical narrative, architecture insights, and occasional references to food interesting. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the food stops. While we strive to offer a diverse selection of food, we're sorry to hear that it wasn't particularly noteworthy for you, except for the pralines at the end. Your input is valuable, and we'll use it to continually improve our offerings. We hope to have the chance to host you again and provide an even more enjoyable culinary experience in the future.
Written February 5, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jean M
1 contribution
Nov 2021
Attended the Shaken Up Cocktail Class at Briquette in November. Class was excellent and the "lunch" that accompanied it was very good. Anna and staff demonstrated several imaginative cocktails and left us with ideas for variations that we have continued to explore at home.

Highly recommend the class and the staff at Briquette.
Written February 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your Kind review of the Craft Cocktail Class. and lunch. We are so happy to hear you had a great time and you took some ideas home. I'll be sure to let Anna and staff know you had a wonderful time! Thanks for your recommendation! Cheers, Lynn
Written February 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael S
Valparaiso, IN4 contributions
Jan 2024 • Couples
We completed the History and Cocktail - Tastebud Tour in New Orleans! Our tour guide was fabulous. Our guide Suzette interspersed NOLA history with visits to iconic bars of New Orleans French Quarter. We were introduced to famous drink recipes.
Written January 21, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your experience on the History and Cocktail - Tastebud Tour in New Orleans! We're thrilled to hear that Suzette, your tour guide, was fabulous and provided a fantastic blend of NOLA history and visits to iconic bars in the French Quarter. It sounds like you had a delightful time learning about famous drink recipes and immersing yourself in the rich history of New Orleans. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for more unforgettable tours in the future. Cheers to Suzette and more cocktail adventures!
Written February 5, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tara M
17 contributions
Dec 2023 • Friends
Suzanne was fun! Very knowledgeable with lots of insights into the city. Food was ok. I did this tour in 2021 and the food selections were much better!! Mufaletta, gator bites, gumbo, jambalaya, oysters and pralines. It has definitely been scaled down. A roast beef po boy? Very disappointing. The mufaletta was ok. The gumbo was awful. More like minced beef stew with rice. The jambalaya was good and the praline was good. Nice tour of the quarter but not a great sampling of food. Again Suzanne was great!
Written December 18, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I'm disappointed to receive this review, We have not changed the Menus, possibly you were on one of our other tours. We work hard to make it the Best! I hope you give us try to please your Tastebuds.
Written December 26, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,837

Tastebud Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Tastebud Tours Information

Excellent Reviews

1,107

Very Good Reviews

127

Tastebud Tours Photos

473