Ober Gatlinburg's Ski Mountain Coaster

Ober Gatlinburg's Ski Mountain Coaster

Game & Entertainment Centers
Read more
Write a review
About
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
98 reviews
Excellent
42
Very good
36
Average
6
Poor
5
Terrible
9

Aaron T
Crowley, LA32 contributions
Nov 2020 • Family
Excellent coaster! Very fun and fast. The wait was not nearly as long as they told us it would be...they told us 2 hours and we ended up only waiting about 45 minutes. The ride up the hill was slow and meant to be a bit scenic, however we rode at night, and there was little lighting in the trees other than the track being lit. The downhill was fast but but long enough to enjoy the ride, in addition, the carts have two handles to allow for personal control over braking, however everyone in our group rode it wide open to really get the “feel” of the ride. Worth the wait, but maybe watch the crowds to catch a short line if possible when up at Ober Gatlinburg to avoid a multi-hour wait. The don’t build those long ride queues for nothing.
Written November 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We love to hear that you enjoyed the Ski Mountain Coaster! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us - we greatly appreciate it.
Written January 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Madame Toutlemonde
Timbuktu, Mali266 contributions
Sep 2020 • Couples
Not being a roller coaster type of girl, I thought I’d give it a try. The cars are more comfortable than I expected, and are quite roomy.
The ride up the hill is STRAIGHT UP THE HILL and a nice opportunity to sit back and get accustomed to the carriage. There is a sharp 180 at the top and then down you go.
Being on the ground, 25 mph seems much faster than I expected and the track really leaned in on the curves. It was a pretty smooth ride and the brakes are extremely responsive.
The corkscrew was thrilling, and I’d not use the brakes as much on our next visit.
If you don’t use the brakes, the ride down is about 60 seconds.

I didn’t need a locker for my purse, but it was secured with me under the seatbelt.

Good for all ages and all body types. Cars were easy to enter and exit. They weigh everyone to ensure riders are not over 300# - single or double riders.
Written September 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We love to hear that you enjoyed the Ski Mountain Coaster! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us - we greatly appreciate it.
Written January 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tennessee50plus
Springfield, TN8,015 contributions
Sep 2020 • Solo
There are a lot of mountain coasters in the Gatlinburg Pigeon Forge area. I have ridden 5 so far and this one is one of the top 2. Ober Gatlinburg has a lot to do and this is a nice addition. The best way up is the beautiful tram ride up, but we chose to drive up. The coaster is long at over 2700 feet with a steep drop which makes it fast. It is bumpy compared to other coasters, so expect a bit of teeth rattling. Like all coasters you can slow it with the hand brakes, but wheres the fun in that. Just push them all the way down and enjoy the thrill.
Written September 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We love to hear that you enjoyed the Ski Mountain Coaster! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us - we greatly appreciate it.
Written January 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joe M
2 contributions
Jul 2022
A racket. First time to Ober. We came only for the mountain coaster. Paid $10 to park, and the guy taking our money proactively said there was no wait at the mountain coaster once we got there. We purchased our tickets at the main ticketing center (nearly $80 for 5), and the agent there mentioned nothing about wait time. When we got to the coaster they said there is a 90 minute wait to ride. We informed that we didn’t have that much time and asked for a refund. Got sent to guest services, but no refund. Only offer for credit for another mountain coaster ride another day.

Very poor communication all along the way. Ridiculous policy for no refunds. I believe it’s purposely deceitful and a racket. They’re selling something they can’t deliver without giving you information. DO NOT GO. Talk about southern hospitality!
Written July 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that we weren't able to provide a 5-star experience on your recent visit. Please email fun@obergatlinburg.com with more information so that we may take a further look into your experience.
Written July 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laramy G
38 contributions
Dec 2021 • Family
The absolute worst of these coasters I have ridden. Other coasters are fast and smooth while this one just beats you up the entire ride down the mountain. The wait time was over 2 hours and the ride isn’t worth it. Try another coaster instead of this one. It’s a painful ride.
Written December 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry you were disappointed in your ride on the Ski Mountain Coaster. Please reach out to us at fun@obergatlinburg.com so we can learn more about your experience.
Written January 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melissa M
2 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
Do not ride this ride unless you want to feel like you were in a car accident. I went on with my daughter today as she did not want to go alone. This is the third different alpine coaster in the area we’ve been on.

Everything started out great but then the car started beeping at us to slow down in the middle of the track. I put on the brakes to slow down but then suddenly it completely locked and sent my daughter and I thrusting forward with only a lap seatbelt for restraint. This happened several times. Even though I was in the process of slowing down to accommodate the vehicle in front of me, the brakes locked. This happened multiple times through the ride. It is now 4 hours later and I feel as if I was in a car accident. My low back, neck and shoulders are all sore. When I notified the attendant she looked at me like she thought I was crazy. My daughter has a mark from the seatbelt. My niece who was in the car in front of us experienced the exact same thing. I get this is a safety feature but I’m sure it wasn’t meant to injure.
Written July 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry you did not enjoy the Ski Mountain Coaster. The cars are equipped with sensors that beep if you are too close to the car in front of you and will engage the automatic braking system in order to avoid collisions. If you have concerns, please contact us at fun@obergatlinburg.com so that we can learn more about your experience. Thank you for your visit and for your time.
Written September 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deborah L
Hoover, AL20 contributions
Jul 2017 • Family
My husband's car slammed to a halt near the end, leaving him with a sore neck and bruising from the seat belt like one would get in a car wreck! When he told the attendants after disembarking they basically just shrugged.
Written July 18, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Briar F
23 contributions
Oct 2015 • Friends
The big plastic cart was very painful and shook around a lot. The track felt shorter than all the others probably because it was not fast at all and quite boring.
I must say, this was the safest feeling track I've been on, but overall, I would say, don't waste your money. Go to another track like goats on the roof.
Written November 1, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Juan Carlos B
Tegucigalpa, Honduras72 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
Me and my family enjoyed the experience and the place, took a few lessons to learn how to sky (wich were really good let me tell you) and spend a nice evening enjoying snow, hot chocolate and good food as well!
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Ober Gatlinburg!
Written January 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carla
Whitby, Canada27 contributions
Oct 2019 • Couples
Biggest rip off. Waited 1/2 hr in line to get into a mountain coaster that we were jammed into like sardines. Forget seeing a thing. Had to pay $8 for parking over and above our ticket price and then we get up to the top and there is nothing to do up there except pay money to do other useless stuff. Save your money and drive yourself up. And there is not much of a view from the top. Save your money for other stuff
Written October 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Ober Gatlinburg.
Written January 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 98
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Ober Gatlinburg's Ski Mountain Coaster - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Ober Gatlinburg's Ski Mountain Coaster