Southland Car & Jeep Rentals

Southland Car & Jeep Rentals

Southland Car & Jeep Rentals
4.5
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
We are the Original Premier Jeep Rental Company in the Smoky Mountains. Established in 1996 our Family owned and operated business is your only place to rent a Jeep convertible and Tour the Smokies. From our mild stock wrangler 2 doors to the Lifted ones with Monster tires to the roomy 4 door JKU Wranglers we have All you need to have the Ultimate Topdown experience in the Smokies. The Best equipment and Honest up front pricing that doesn’t change with the seasons, We are the Best Value 24 hour Rental in Tennessee. Contact us Today!
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(22 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles207 reviews
Excellent
189
Very good
5
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
12

Rich K
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
My girlfriend and I rented a cabin on our first visit to the smokies this summer. Unfortunately, upon arrival, we learned that our little Nissan was unable to make it up the 1/2 mile steep gravel drive that led up to the cabin. Not knowing what to do, we booked a hotel room and did some research.

In the morning, we showed up at Southland Car & Jeep just as they were opening and were greeted very warmly by both Margaret and Keith. Half expecting that we would not be able to find anything on such short notice, we were very pleased to find out that they were able to rent us a Jeep at a very reasonable price for the next two days. Not only that, but we were able to leave our car in their lot for this time, which was great since we had nowhere else we could leave it.

The Jeep was terrific and provided us with two days of entertainment that we otherwise would not have been able to experience in our car (we were very unprepared for the trip). But what was even better was the service. Both Keith and Margaret took time to tell us about the area and share great stories. Margaret even went as far as walking us through a map of the area and giving us suggested places to go and things to do. We literally followed her exact itinerary for two days and had an absolute blast! This saved us a bunch of time wondering around an area that we were not familiar with aimlessly.

This is a great, well-established, family-run business and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to get the most out of their trip to the Smoky Mountains.
Written July 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Victoria Roberts
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Couples
We have rented from Southland twice and had wonderful experiences both times! There is nothing like riding through the mountains with the top down. If you are looking to rent a Jeep I highly recommend renting from them. Always friendly and helpful!!
Written October 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John L
Doraville, Georgia, United States308 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 • Family
We were in town to celebrate our oldest daughter’s birthday and decided to do something we always wanted to do. In doing my research I found out it is way more cost effective to rent a Jeep for 24 hours than rent a UTV for a couple of hours. And we were glad we did. We had a blast and loved driving around. The folks are easy to deal with and very polite. The prices were very reasonable in my opinion. We will definitely do it again!
Written June 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

RMcKeel
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Couples
Horrible experience!!! We rented a Jeep from these people and regret the whole experience. We were on vacation and had an emergency at home and had to leave early. We returned the Jeep at 8 o’clock, left the key and because we returned it early, they charged us $800!!! EXTRA. And then they hung up on my wife and refused to to talk to her. This place is horrible. No one ever said it was a $800 fee for returning early. On our anniversary too

$347 rental for the Jeep
$800 fee for returning early

Didn’t care anything about our emergency (our son had Covid and was sick)
Won’t y’all to my wife or me, they just hang up
Written September 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry your experience was less than you expected. As per the contract you signed and the Signage posted plainly in sight in our office Jeeps are NOT allowed to be dropped off during non operational hours. Which you did. You also didn’t inform anyone as to where you hid the keys for several hours causing that vehicle to lose a days rental which there was a reservation for. Your emergency. A sick Adult child of 21 is really none of our business. If that person truly has Covid we are sorry to hear that, and if you were around them you should probably get tested and quarantine yourselves and not go on vacation. If you failed to obey the contract, which you did, how is this our fault? Best of luck
Written September 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julie Z
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Couples
Our first trip to Gatlinburg and quickly learned that our brakes were not capable of handling the mountains so we rented a jeep for the day to drive all thru the Smoky Mountains National Park. We had "Lil' Foot" - a badass 2 door red jeep, a survivor of the Gatlinburg Fires. We took this jeep all over the Smoky Mountains from Cades Cove to Clingman's Dome. I thought the pricing was extremely reasonable at $200 for the day and allowance of 200 miles, which we didn't even hit even though we drove the jeep from 10am to 7pm. We even got 'Ducked' by a guy from Texas. Super cool experience in the jeep and the family business that runs the rentals were nice and informative. Would 100% recommend and would use again!
Written July 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MWA
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022
I have been eyeing the Tuscadero Pink Jeeps and my husband surprised me with a rental for one of the days we were visiting Gatlinburg on a family vacation. It was fantastic. He had a great experience working with Keith to make it a surprise for me. The entire family (2 kids under 10 and us) had a wonderful day on the automotive nature trail and driving Cades Cove and other roads around The Great Smokey Mountain National Park. I loved hearing other women and girls appreciate our ride! Our kids loved the fresh air and being able to climb in and out of such a fun vehicle. My only caution is to be aware that you may be paying more than you planned as we now own our own Jeep we bought a few weeks after the rental experience!
Written August 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Terry S
Grapevine, TX6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Couples
Friendly service and brand new jeeps Our s was a 2021 4 door that drive great and was fun going through the national park to see the bears with the top down. I forgot my camera disk and charger in the jeep when we turned it in and the manager called to tell us he had it and offered to ship it home for us. Outstanding service.
Written May 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Megan
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Family
Awesome Jeep rental place! They have a great selection and are very easy to work with. We needed a car for exploring the park and they even accommodated a one day rental plus 4 hours so that we could enjoy until the evening and sneak in another hike! Maps & highlights of the park and where to go were also provided. Thank you so much for our couple days of fun!!
Written July 31, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

RayWL
Las Vegas, NV21 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
Very friendly staff, and location was great for avoiding all the traffic in the entertainment district. The Jeep seemed well maintained, but it was old with almost 200,000 miles on it, and yet the charge was about $200 a day. So that is pretty steep for such an old vehicle. The owner did say that the Jeeps have a very long life it they're taken care of, but obviously, it doesn't take too long to recover the full cost of the Jeep, and then to rake in the profit when charging these rates.
Overall, a decent experience that allowed us to tour the National Park, while leaving our RV parked.
Written July 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so happy you had a Great time! We appreciate the kind review. You did actually requested that particular because it was a manual. We had several Brand New 2021 Wranglers in stock that day. You wanted the Jacked Up Rock Crusher. We don’t have many Manual Transmission jeeps because folks either can’t drive them or don’t want to any more. (We are a dying breed, we guess!). Any way Thanks again for the Great Review. See you next time!!
Written August 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nanamal218
West Monroe, LA12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Friends
We chose a Jeep from Southland for the day (24 hours) because the rates were the best around. It was the perfect choice. They gave us a map and showed us which road tours were the best and which ones were closed. They showed us how to take the top down so we were able to enjoy the beautiful weather. Using the map provided we drove Roaring Fork, Newfound Gap, Clingman’s Dome, and saw elk along the Cherokee.

Thanks to the fine folks at Southland for making our trip so memorable.
Written September 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 207

Southland Car & Jeep Rentals - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Gatlinburg HotelsGatlinburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Gatlinburg
All things to do in Gatlinburg
Amusement Parks in Gatlinburg
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars