We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercer Williams House Museum

Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Downtown
As featured in One Day In Savannah
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 429 Bull St, Monterey Square, Savannah, GA 31401-4935
Phone Number: 912 236 6352; 877 430 6352
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 4:30 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

This home and museum is now open for tours - but don't ask them about the...

This home and museum is now open for tours - but don't ask them about the "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" book or movie.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$53*
and up
Paula Deen Tour: Trolley Ride and VIP Dinner at Lady & Sons
More Info
$33*
and up
Movie Tour of Savannah's Historic District
More Info
$31*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 756 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 312
    Excellent
  • 239
    Very good
  • 132
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Wonderful restoration with a story!

Small group tours, magnificent antiques and art, interesting history both recent and old. Really worth the visit.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Deborah H
Add Photo Write a Review

756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 750: English reviews
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Small group tours, magnificent antiques and art, interesting history both recent and old. Really worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place was awesome. If you have read the book, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, it is a must stop. If you haven't you should still go visit this house, then read the book. We had a great visit. This house is packed full of artifacts and antiques. Candlesticks from George Washington? Yeap. An old blunderbuss, sure.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and was really excited to see inside the house after having pictured it while reading the book. My experience was all good and I'm happy I did it. I gave it three stars for a few reasons: Because of fire codes, you can only view the first floor of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsDayTripper
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mercer William House Museum has such beautiful old southern charm. The furnishings are beautiful. The grounds are beautifully manicured. I highly recommend a visit if you are in Savannah.

Helpful?
Thank Sally K
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The tour itself was better than I expected. The guide was very nice, informative, and interesting to listen to. I was not bored during the tour. The house is absolutely beautiful. I'm so glad they restored it and opened it up to the public. The outside of the house is wonderful. A little pricey, but we'll worth it in my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle G
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This house is a really neat place to see. Especially if you have seen the movie or read the book Midnight in the Garden of Good and evil. The house is amazing. I just was a bit let down that you can not go upstairs. That seems to be the night in alot of Savannah home, not sure why?? ummm

Helpful?
Thank deannwl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're a fan of the "Book" you have to see where most of the story happened. Jim Williams lived in the house for many years, hosted some of the most exclusive Christmas parties, and a murder happened here. He was tried 4 times for the shooting death of Danny Hansford. After Jim died in the house, his sister took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gene M
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a house I had on my bucket list after reading MIDNIGHT IN THE GARDEN OF GOOD AND EVIL. It's ok, but kind of pricey!

Helpful?
Thank Barrett3887
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our tour through the house - the tour guides were very informative and answered all our questions about the house. The house also included a gift shop that was fun to explore. A must see for fans of "Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil."

Helpful?
Thank caitlinod319
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A must see if you have read the book or seen the movie "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. I was disappointed we couldn't go upstairs.

Helpful?
Thank psmerchant

Travelers who viewed Mercer Williams House Museum also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mercer Williams House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mercer Williams House Museum and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercer Williams House Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?