We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Museum of Southern History

30 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Museum of Southern History

30 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Jacksonville
from $35.90
More Info
from $51.29
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
4304 Herschel St At the corner of Herschel St and Lexington., Jacksonville, FL 32210-2210
Get to know the area
The Escape Game Jacksonville: Epic 60-Minute Adventures
Escape Games

The Escape Game Jacksonville: Epic 60-Minute Adventures

4 reviews
Located in St. Johns Town Center, these adventures offer a one-of-a-kind premium experience. Follow clues and solve puzzles to complete your mission together. You might escape...You WILL have fun!<br><br>Choose to play one of five uniquely immersive games:<br>- Gold Rush: Find hidden gold in the California hills!<br>- Prison Break: Complete a daring escape from the evil warden!<br>- Special Ops: Mysterious Market: Uncover the truth as a secret agent!<br>- The Heist: Recover a stolen masterpiece from an art thief!<br>- Playground: Complete your report card and get to summer break!
$38.40 per adult
30Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 17
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
ransom007 wrote a review Feb 2019
Anaheim, California1,062 contributions225 helpful votes
The museum has a few spaces of free parking. Upon entry, there is a sign asking for a cash donation for admittance and a box to put the donation. The exhibits are predominantly about the American Civil War. The docent was very knowledgeable and informative and the two of us had a wonderful conversation about many aspects of that war and other topics. The museum is well worth spending a couple of hours if you are in the area.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Helpful
Share
cheryl h wrote a review Jul 2018
Durham, North Carolina56,350 contributions1,709 helpful votes
Before we left our rental cottage on Amelia Island to make the almost 1 hour trip to visit this museum, we checked several places online to make sure they would be open that day. Their website didn't even mention they would be closed. We made the trip on Saturday, January 20 only to find a sign on the door saying they would reopen on January 23. How hard would it have been to make a note on their website? Very irritating.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History
Responded Jul 20, 2018
Miss Cheryl: First we would like to apologize for your wasted time. There is a notation on the following page: https://www.museumsouthernhistory.com/Hours%20and%20Location.html that Saturdays are dependent upon volunteer availability. The lady that previously worked Saturdays had to resign to due health issues. We hope that if you return to Jacksonville that you will try again. Please feel free to give us a call at (904) 388-3574. I will ask our website people to place the notice on the front page in lieu of the hours and location section to prevent further confusion. Most respectfully yours
Read more
JayRina2009 wrote a review May 2017
Covington, Georgia91 contributions27 helpful votes
Stopped in my Husband and I to do a lil Black history tour the whole museum we only seen two black people in the history of it all now I do love to hear about the other people in there as well but we do a lot of black history tours and this was a mess the museum is so small you can see it standing at the door it was not worth six dollars total more like .50/each they charge but wasn't in order to give us change for a twenty dollar bill I would not recommend this one to no one even my pet dog the girl who walked us around was boring knew no history and kept running her mouth we almost fell asleep in the museum listing to her it was only us that was there doing the tour please keep going don't waste ur gas or time at this museum it was a big horrible small museum keep away!!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2017
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History
Responded Mar 30, 2018
We at the Museum of Southern History apologize that you were unhappy with your tour. We are sorry that you did not care for the items on display. Everything in the museum has been donated and we are happy to display the items that come in, and tell the history of said items. If you call or write we will be happy to refund your $6.00. Thank you.
Read more
ValerieBenn wrote a review May 2017
Jacksonville, Florida81 contributions14 helpful votes
This library, as name suggest, concentrates on southern history. But has reference books for both North & South research. Staff is friendly & helpful.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History
Responded Mar 30, 2018
We at the Museum of Southern History are happy to have had you as a guest. Our library is extensive and we are proud of some of the very rare books that have been donated. We are now offering assistance with Military Genealogy both South and North for the Civil War - but - also for the following wars: Revolutionary, War of 1812, Mexican American & Early Indian Wars, Spanish American, WWI, WWII, Korean, Vietnam and some International Wars (some non-military records are also available). Please come back and see the new items. Have a terrific day!
Read more
George70-12 wrote a review Mar 2017
Waterdown, Canada49 contributions13 helpful votes
This museum is filled with an excellent collection of articles from the southern confederacy. However what makes this museum outstanding are the volunteers that will explain each of the artifacts and history. We spent 3 hours with our volunteer guide "Charlie" and were fascinated with his descriptions of the artifacts and stories of the civil war from the southern point of view. This was our 2nd visit to the museum in the past 5 years and it is worthwhile visiting again. We highly recommend a visit to this Museum of Southern History.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History
Responded Mar 30, 2018
Thank you for visiting the Museum of Southern History, we appreciate your comment. Since the last Hurricane - we have done extensive renovations - and we have added cases to include all wars, from the Native Americans straight through to current times. We are also currently rotating the display items every six months. Please stop in for a visit! Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Museum of Southern History