We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Must Do for Civil War Buffs

This is a museum that is staffed by knowledgeable volunteers of the American Civil War. The museum... read more

Reviewed March 3, 2017
EilSat
,
Methuen, Massachusetts
Welcoming guides. Interesting artifacts and displays.

Small private museum with very congenial guides and interesting artifacts. Interesting to learn... read more

Reviewed January 11, 2017
thomasrL2701DK
,
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Read all 30 reviews
All photos (14)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible10%
Feb 26, 2019
“Emphasis is on civil war period”
Jul 19, 2018
“not open when they should have been”
About
Please call first or you may email and set up an appointment at no extra cost! We are open by appointment only. Thank you for understanding. Museum of Southern History starts with the Native Americans through today's era. There is a large Civil War...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
4304 Herschel St, At the corner of Herschel St and Lexington., Jacksonville, FL 32210-2210
Website
+1 904-388-3574
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Jacksonville
from $10.00
More Info
from $750.00
More Info
from $35.50
More Info
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
17
6
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
17
6
3
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2019

The museum has a few spaces of free parking. Upon entry, there is a sign asking for a cash donation for admittance and a box to put the donation. The exhibits are predominantly about the American Civil War. The docent was very knowledgeable and informative...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank ransom007
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Before we left our rental cottage on Amelia Island to make the almost 1 hour trip to visit this museum, we checked several places online to make sure they would be open that day. Their website didn't even mention they would be closed. We made...More

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank cheryl h
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Miss Cheryl: First we would like to apologize for your wasted time. There is a notation on the following page: https://www.museumsouthernhistory.com/Hours%20and%20Location.html that Saturdays are dependent upon volunteer availability. The lady that previously worked Saturdays had to resign to due health issues. We hope that if...More

Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Stopped in my Husband and I to do a lil Black history tour the whole museum we only seen two black people in the history of it all now I do love to hear about the other people in there as well but we do...More

Date of experience: May 2017
5  Thank JayRina2009
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

We at the Museum of Southern History apologize that you were unhappy with your tour. We are sorry that you did not care for the items on display. Everything in the museum has been donated and we are happy to display the items that come...More

Reviewed May 15, 2017

This library, as name suggest, concentrates on southern history. But has reference books for both North & South research. Staff is friendly & helpful.More

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank ValerieBenn
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

We at the Museum of Southern History are happy to have had you as a guest. Our library is extensive and we are proud of some of the very rare books that have been donated. We are now offering assistance with Military Genealogy both South...More

Reviewed March 16, 2017

This museum is filled with an excellent collection of articles from the southern confederacy. However what makes this museum outstanding are the volunteers that will explain each of the artifacts and history. We spent 3 hours with our volunteer guide "Charlie" and were fascinated with...More

Date of experience: March 2017
5  Thank George70-12
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Thank you for visiting the Museum of Southern History, we appreciate your comment. Since the last Hurricane - we have done extensive renovations - and we have added cases to include all wars, from the Native Americans straight through to current times. We are also...More

Reviewed March 3, 2017

This is a museum that is staffed by knowledgeable volunteers of the American Civil War. The museum is a mishmash of donations from the period. There is a library full of books on the subject.More

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank EilSat
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

The Museum of Southern History thanks you for your comment and your visit. We have accomplished extensive renovations since Hurricane Irma paid a visit and have expanded our history base. We hope that you will stop in and see the new cases. Have a terrific...More

Reviewed January 11, 2017

Small private museum with very congenial guides and interesting artifacts. Interesting to learn (among other things) that the Civil War wasn't about slavery at all! Excellent experience was a bit marred by close-minded bias about all things southern.More

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank thomasrL2701DK
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Thank you for the review. The Museum of Southern History has expanded it's cases to include more than history of all era's. We apologize if you were unhappy with your tour guide. Please stop in and let us show you the new exhibits. Have a...More

Reviewed December 14, 2015

We went at 11:00 am on a Saturday but they weren't open. I guess we should call ahead because it is staffed by volunteers? IDK.More

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Tom L
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

I am so sorry that we missed you. In previous years we closed early for the holidays - but - we have new hours and someone to staff them. We are now open Tues - Sat from 10 - 6. We will be closed on...More

Reviewed November 9, 2015

3$ for adults and I think it was free for under 12 (not sure on the kids). Although I would suggest you call first to ensure that the volunteers are there - it is definitely worth the trip. They had a wide variety of artifacts...More

Date of experience: November 2015
4  Thank Feathers F
Ben W, General Manager at Museum of Southern History, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed the library at the Museum of Southern History. Our memberships are $25 for individuals and $35 for families. This allows you to come in all year for free and even check out books from the library. Thanks for stopping...More

Reviewed July 8, 2015

Small but full of so much southern history and southern hospitality. First off the people who work at this museum are very friendly and welcoming. They will offer to give you a guided tour or you can choose to walk around yourself and ask them...More

Date of experience: July 2015
5  Thank Gabrielle L
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 138 nearby hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
337 reviews
3.21 miles away
Stars Rest Inn
61 reviews
3.36 miles away
Knights Inn Jacksonville Downtown
34 reviews
3.41 miles away
Hospitality Inn
126 reviews
3.68 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,408 nearby restaurants
Metro Diner
93 reviews
.43 miles away
Fuji Sushi
44 reviews
.41 miles away
Ale Pie House
53 reviews
.56 miles away
Sivada's Cupcakery
18 reviews
.52 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 434 nearby attractions
Boone Park
5 reviews
.98 miles away
Now and Zen Sailing Charters
65 reviews
.29 miles away
Seventh Wonder Holistic Spa
10 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Br410211
December 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BenW4420 | Property representative |
All you need to do is call. We would be happy to put you on the schedule.
0
Votes