Founding Footsteps
Founding Footsteps
5
Bar, Club & Pub ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursWalking ToursSightseeing ToursPrivate Tours
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
A revolutionary tour company entertaining tourists and locals alike. Philadelphia isn’t just our job, it’s our home. Support a local company that gives back to its’ community.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Founding Footsteps
Travelers talk about
(50 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,319 reviews
Excellent
1,243
Very good
59
Average
9
Poor
5
Terrible
3

Carol N
Hatfield, PA66 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
We have been trying to get on this tour for 2 years and were fortunate enough to get on the last tour of the season. Parking is right across the street from the pick up point and can be booked through Park Whiz. Got there early and had a light dinner at Continental Restaurant and Martini Bar and dessert (hot fudge sundae) at Franklin Ice Cream Bar. The tour was great - we had a lot of Tim & Abbie's family and friends on board. They are so fun. The lights on Smedley Street never fail to impress but this year my husband actually got a chance to see them rather than drive the rest of us around. Went down to 13th Street which was beautiful as ever. Ended up at the Art Museum and the night was nice enough to walk the steps to the tree. Austin was a great tour guide and the Christmas Carols provided made it special even though it was after Christmas.
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

dcuc
Burlington, NJ6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
This was our first time doing this tour. We didnt see the lights on Smedley Street because we had an early tour (430) and they weren't turned on yet and we had to make it ot the next stop. A couple of stops were skipped because of traffic (City Hall) and we only had a few minutes at the Art Museum. So the trip seemed a bit rushed but the music on the trolley was great, and our guide was friendly and had a lot of good trivia and information. Overall it was a great way to get excited for the holiday season.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for joining us on our Holiday Light Tour and for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate your feedback. We're sorry you felt a bit rushed and we're implementing a few route changes this year in hopes of avoiding similar issues. Ultimately we're glad you enjoyed the guide and the music and that it got you excited for the Holidays. We hope you'll give us another chance to give you a 5 star experience!
Written October 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mintymooo
Dublin, Ireland278 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
As a first time visitor to Philadelphia I was fascinated by this tour.

I was blissfully unaware of the role that this city played in the foundation of America and this short tour helped me to learn a lot.

We had a great tour guide in Tess and she shared a lot of stories and history in this quick walking tour.... I recommend this
Written January 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're glad you enjoyed our Philly Phables walking tour and appreciate you taking the time to leave this kind review! The only thing Tessa loves more then Philadelphia is getting to share its history with others - we'll certainly pass along your compliments to her. We hope you'll consider us again the next time you're in Philly!
Written October 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DanaKbom
New Jersey4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Friends
Holiday light tour
Super disappointed! The trolley was 40min late then causing us to miss the light show. We literally walked off the trolley and walked right back on not even getting time to walk through Franklin Square. Then we continued to sit in traffic without one stinking light to be seen except for the ones hanging inside the trolley. It seems insane to meet at the Bourse only to travel to South Philly, doesn’t make sense. The stop at the bar was completely unnecessary (and then to have to cross a busy street to get a slice of pizza!!). It was supposed to be our bathroom break and the one stall didn’t even have toilet paper. We then had to walk because of some type of traffic situation on 13th. Our trolley driver must have gone through no less than 7 to 10 red lights. Slamming on his brakes a few different times. The live entertainment became “schticky” and not just Christmas carols. It was so disappointing that my group abandoned ship and called for a Lyft halfway through. In talking to the other people on the trolley they too were disappointed. Apparently they have done the trip before and this year was completely different and not in a good way. For the amount of money that we paid, I saw more lights on my Lyft ride home. The owner did get on the trolley and apologized and gave us ornaments for our tree. I know somethings are out of our control, but there were just too many mistakes/inconveniences/poorly run decisions to make me ever return or recommend to anyone else.
Written December 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mrspuckhead
Cape May, NJ27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Friends
We took the Founding Footsteps holiday light tour. What a treat! We absolutely had a blast and would highly recommend this to families, friends, and anyone looking for a great break and a great time!! We started at Yards brewing Company which is where we picked up the Trolley. At Yards, we had a wonderful beer and appetizer to start and then boarded the trolley! (although we did have our own spirits, yards provided plenty of to go drinks if you needed to purchase!) On board our trolley was a wonderful singer and acoustic guitar player which got us in the Christmas spirit right away! Holiday songs were sung throughout the ride. The first stop was Franklin Square to see a light show. The second stop was Christmas village and we were able to get pictures by the big Christmas tree in Philadelphia! We then rode down south Philadelphia wonderful neighborhoods to see the Christmas lights. And anyone who is a little nervous… There were two bathroom stops along the way! I can speak for my entire party that we would highly recommend this company and also this tour! The staff was wonderful accommodating and also in these crazy times Covid regulations were strictly followed.
Written December 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I'm very happy that you and your group had fun on the trolley. Hope to see you again soon! -Tim
Written September 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda Fitzpatrick
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Family
My family and I did the Christmas Trolley tour and from my little sister to my mommom, we all had the best time. This tour had a great musician and host that kept us in the Christmas spirit the whole time. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking to have a great night. (BYOB was a great touch!!) We are looking forward to making this a tradition for years to come. Thank you so much!!!
Written December 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
You are quite welcome! Thanks for the review. -Tim
Written September 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rachael K
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
What a way to spend Halloween in Philadelphia! The tour was informative, fun, spooky, and hilarious. The team is so friendly and made our experience fantastic! Even in the midst of COVID and protests, we felt safe and welcomed. If you go in the cooler months, bring a heavy jacket because the trolly moves faster than you think and all the windows are open during the COVID era. Highly recommend!
Written November 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're so glad that despite everything you felt safe and welcomed - what a kind thing to say! Thanks for taking the time to leave this review and for joining us. We hope you'll consider another one of our tours in the future.
Written November 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lucylew12
Fort Lauderdale, FL35 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
If you want extremely loud music and the tour guide dancing in the bus then this is the tour for you. I imagine there are a lot of historic sights in Philly, but we really did not see nor hear about any of those. One of our actual stops was at Whole Foods. There was no hilarity or history. Couldn’t wait to get off that bus.
Written December 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we genuinely appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your tour did not meet your expectations and apologize for any disappointment. Your concerns about the loud music and the tour guide's dancing are noted. We understand that striking the right balance between entertainment and historical information is crucial, and we will address this issue with our team to ensure a more balanced and enjoyable experience for our future guests. We're also sorry to hear that you didn't get to explore the historic sights as much as you had hoped. Your feedback is valuable, and we will review our tour itinerary to ensure a more comprehensive coverage of Philadelphia's rich history. As for the unexpected stop at Whole Foods, we sincerely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. Our aim is to provide an enriching and enjoyable experience, and it seems we fell short in this instance. We truly appreciate your honesty, and we would like to make things right. Please reach out to our customer service, and we'll do our best to address your concerns and explore possible solutions, including a refund if applicable. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we want to ensure you have a positive experience with our tours. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to make amends in the future.
Written January 4, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jessica H
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
Tim did a phenomenal tour for our family. He was engaging, interesting, and a wealth of information. The stories he gave, the background he provided and the overall introduction to Philadelphia was fantastic. We did two separate two hour tours with him. I would highly recommend this experience for your vacation!
Written June 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for the review. Glad you enjoyed the tours! -Tim
Written September 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Morgan A
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Solo
This bus tour helped to kick off my solo trip to Philly. I would recommend this tour if traveling solo bc the host was very personable, knowledgeable and felt like I was w a group of people I already knew. And also it made the rest of my stay a breeze bc it helped me to know my way around the city a little easier.
Written May 13, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that our bus tour played a part in kicking off your solo trip to Philadelphia. It's great to know that you found our host to be personable and knowledgeable, creating an atmosphere that made you feel like you were among a familiar group of people. We take pride in ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable and informative experience, so it's fantastic to hear that the tour helped you get acquainted with the city. Navigating a new place can sometimes be daunting, especially when you're traveling alone, but we're delighted that our tour made it easier for you to find your way around Philadelphia. Thank you for recommending our tour to other solo travelers. We appreciate your support and hope that your positive experience will inspire others to join us on our tours as well. If you have any more feedback or if there's anything else we can do to enhance your future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know. We'd be more than happy to assist you further. Wishing you all the best on your continued adventures!
Written May 14, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,313

Founding Footsteps - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Philadelphia HotelsPhiladelphia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Philadelphia
All things to do in Philadelphia
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars