The Celebrity Planet
The Celebrity Planet
3.5
Movie & TV Tours
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Sightseeing in New York? Looking for the cooler, different New York attractions? We offer the best New York tours for tourists interested in celebrity, pop culture, film, chocolate, and just generally finding out a bit more about New York than the average Joe. Our awesome range of New York tours caters for all tastes.
New York City, New York

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by The Celebrity Planet

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles69 reviews
Excellent
33
Very good
10
Average
6
Poor
4
Terrible
16

skyblues115
Jamesport, NY13 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2012 • Friends
My husband and I took his mother and her friend on this tour for their birthdays.

The tour was purchased through Groupon. However, I don't think it's worth the price on their website. The Groupon's price was definitely fair. After my purchase on Groupon, I waited a few days until trying to schedule the tour. It took at least 6 emails and a few phone calls to finally get a date and time that was not sold out. We ended up going on a 5pm tour, which was not my first choice. It worked out anyway.

We met at Chelsea Market and were told to allow room for people to pass along the sidewalk. We were also told it was a 2 hour tour but at a NY pace. That was fine with me, but by the end, the guy pushing his wife in the wheelchair was having a hard time keeping up. The tour guide had to be told a few times to slow down/stop.

Several of the tour's stops were well-known establishments. Some of the 9 stops gave very small samples (Lilac Chocolates, Xoxolatti's, and Vosges) while others gave full-sized samples (Magnolia Bakery, Milk & Cookies, and Bruno's) The hot chocolate at Jacques Torres was just enough for a tasting. We took the cupcake and full-sized cookie home to eat. We wanted to save room for the remainder of the tastings. We were glad we did. I wish I had read a review prior to our trip. We would have had wipes and water with us if I had!

Along the way, we also made a few purchases from Chocolate Bar and Xocolatti's. We were very surprised that very few people made any purchases! If you do want to make a purchase, do it quickly. The tour needs to move! We were never rushed nor told to hurry up, but we knew that the guide had a few more places for us to visit.

The most annoying part of the tour was the way the tour ended. The tour guide told us that gratituties were not included in the tour and to please rate them on tripadvisor. She didn't tell us that she was leaving us 2 miles from where we started. She didn't offer a map to find our way back. Thank goodness I had a smartphone with a map to lead us back to Chelsea Market. I would have given less of a tip had I known how far I was from my car! We ended up walking it back to Chelsea Market. We were a party of 4 and it was hard to find a cab for all of us.

Celebrity Tours, if you read this: Please suggest that people bring water and park their cars, if necessary, near Bleeker and 7th. That seems to be the central spot.

All in all, I definitely recommend the tour.
Written November 13, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LosAngelino
Los Angeles, CA115 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2012 • Friends
I was visiting my daughter, who lives in NYC, and she found a Groupon for this tour. It was a beautiful day, perfect for a walking tour. It started at Chelsea Market, and except for the walking and seeing different parts of lower Manhattan, it was disappointing. We went to six stores. Each store was unique in its own way. For the most part they gave very small samples, and one place, the only non-chocolate establishment whose specialty was cannolis, we had to pay for the cannoli. I didn't mind too much, a small one was reasonably priced and I shared it with my daughter. It was delicious! Another place we went to was very large and popular. They already had samples out, so it wasn't as if it was an advantage going with the tour.

It was a nice experience on a lovely day. Would I do it again? Probably not. Oh, the tour guide, who was rather new, told us some of the local history, but then my daughter ending up teaching her facts she didn't know, but should have. Also, there was time at each location to buy our fill of chocolate, which was good, as we barely got any chocolate at all on the tour.
Written June 8, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shing Yiing O
New York, New York, United States1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2012 • Friends
I enjoyed the chocolate tour, with our tour guide Marci. She is really friendly and took her time to explains the history of chocolate and bringing us to many local chocolate places located in west village and soho.

7 locations. 1 of the location had an emergency and did not open till 3pm. Marci told us that we can return and said that we are from the tour and asked for a sample. So I did. :)

The only comment I had is to exclude Magnolia and Pasticceria Bruno bakery. They are both not "chocolate" but "dessert". With the fees I pay, I expect to get more samples in all of the chocolate shops and making at least 8 stops. Magnolia is mainly cupcakes and Pasticceria Bruno is known for their cannoli. We even have to pay to eat it. With that being said, we only get to sample 5 different chocolate shops.

Celebrity Planet should make the tour walking distance shorter and include more chocolate stops. :D
Written May 28, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JW75_11
London, UK9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2011 • Solo
I turned up at the appointed meeting place, 15 mins before the tour started, as requested....... NO ONE TURNED UP!!! Or bothered to call me to let me know the tour was cancelled!!!! If I was you I wouldn't risk it! There are lots of companies that offer tours, this one is not worth the risk!!
Written July 17, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jan1015
Woodstock305 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2012 • Friends
I booked the Sex and the City Chauffer driven tour in February 2012. My credit card was charged $493.00 for this tour for 4 people. Our entire trip to NYC was planned and this tour was to be the highlight. 3 of us flew in from Canada and another from Utah after months of watching the shows and movies and getting our costumes ready to dress in character for our special night. We were topping the tour off with dinner at a restaurant that was featured in the show as well. I phoned the tour company Wednesday before the tour and before my actual trip occured (I was flying out Thursday) just to be safe and to confirm which paperwork was needed. I then again confirmed the tour 24 hours ahead as instructed on the E-ticket since I was having a hotel pickup. They confirmed I would meet the driver at the hotel lobby at 5:45pm.
The day of had finally come and we were to be picked up at 5:45pm in front of our hotel. At 5:10pm our hotel phone rang and it was the tour manager telling us there had been a double booking of the car and that they had to cancel the tour but could give us a walking tour instead. You can imagine our disappointment, it was pure heart break. We explained the situation and how far we had travelled for this tour and that based on the heels we were wearing that a walking tour wasn’t an option. The tour manager said he would call us back. After 20 minutes had passed I called them back. They assured me there was nothing they could do and we were out of luck. I asked for the Manager to come to our hotel so we could sort this out. He did come right down to the hotel. We presented options we felt we were suitable which included taking us on the tour by taxi rather than car. We were told no to all options we presented. We were told we would get a refund and that we could do the walking tour. This didn't work for us. We finally got the tour manager to let us speak to his boss via cell phone. We explained our situation yet again to the boss and he did offer to refund our money for the tour we weren't about to get. While we wanted our money back we still felt we were owed more. After 50 minutes of trying to reason our case we finally got them to accept to show us some sights by taxi paid by the company and a full refund. Our tour was to start at 6pm and eventually started after 7pm. I was glad to just be doing the tour that we had put so much time and effort into arranging. If it meant doing it in a taxi cab so be it. I wanted to make the best of the evening which up until then had basically been ruined. So we went on the tour. I give the tour Manager credit he did the best he could at the time. He was able to show us several locations from the tv show and movie. We certainly couldn't cover them all because the tour takes 3 hours and it was after 7 when we started and we had a reservation to keep at 9:30pm to close out the day. We truly made the best of a bad situation and in the end when I got out of the taxi for dinner I did feel much better than when I thought the tour was going to just be cancelled. We tipped the cabbie and the tour manager and were on our way to a fantastic dinner at 21 Club. The tour manager didn't want to take our tip and I truly believe felt terrible about the entire thing. We insisted! He thanked us, reiterated what his boss had said that we would receive our refund back on our credit card May 7th (the first business day after the tour).
Skip ahead to May 7th I checked my credit card several times that day and no refund was issued. I then made sure I had all my paper work in order as I started getting a bad feeling. Turns out I booked on line through Alcatraz Media Inc who then in turn organized the tour through Celebrity Planet Inc in Brooklyn.
On May 9th I called Celebrity Planet and left a message asking for someone to call me back with the status of the refund. No one called me back.
On May 10th I emailed Alcatraz Media Inc explaining the situation and again asking for someone to let me know the status. I even explained that I could understand if these things just take time but left a phone number and email for someone to get back to me. No one did.
On May 11th I emailed Alcatraz Media yet again and again no one got back to me.
On May 14th I emailed Celebrity Planet and left another phone message. No one got back to me again. I text the tour manager also on this day. He replied with a text letting me know he would look into the matter and get back to me before the end of the day. He didn't reply.
On May 15th I emailed Alcatraz Media and Celebrity Planet yet again. Both emails went unanswered. I text the tour manager and his response was that he would let me know when he had more information. Those texts and emails were sent early in the day so by the end of the business day when I still had no answers and no returned emails/phone calls I decided enough was enough and I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Imagine I FINALLY got a response.
May 16th after filing with the BBB I got a call from Alcatraz Media who explained they would issue the refund and were quite apologetic. They had never been contacted by Celebrity Planet tours to even issue a refund. I also got a one line email from Celebrity Planet that said "we've authorized the refund contact your booking agent".

I find it ironic that neither company could return any of my emails or phone calls yet once the BBB was involved they both got back to me in less than 24 hours.

The customer service level given from Celebrity planet inc is a disgrace. I truly wish I had read all the comments on trip advisor BEFORE I purchased this tour. Please be warned that unless you wish utter disappointment by them either not showing or cancelling at the last minute and you also have 10+ days to give up to fight for your refund I strongly encourage you to book elsewhere. There are many many SATC tours in NYC do not waste your money, time and effort on this company.
Written May 16, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with the Sex and the City Tour, followed by poor customer service. Please be assured that we have addressed the issues you mention in your review. We sincerely value all feedback. Thank you!
Written July 25, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hannah M
London6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2011 • Couples
As an avid fan of Sex and the City I was soooo excited to have the opportunity to go on this trip and see some of the locations used in the programme! There was some good reviews on the Celebrity Planet website so my boyfriend kindly paid for the tour for both of us. So, we arrived at the meeting point (outside Pastis) at about 10:45 a.m. and waited.......and waited......eventually at about 11:30 my boyfriend called and the guy on the phone could not offer an explanation as to why nobody had turned up.
So we waited for a little while, and at 11:45 realised nobody was coming. I was so upset as this was one of the things I had been most looking forward to on our trip to New York. Similar to another review (that I wish I'd read before we booked this tour!!) We kept wondering whether various people turning up outside the restaurant were also going to be on the tour, only to be met with stony faces!!!
Luckily the rest of the trip was amazing but I certainly will not be booking an excursion via the celebrity planet again.
Written November 16, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

skigirl916
North Beach, MD19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2014 • Couples
My partner and I took the Superhero tour of NYC and it was fun, interesting, and worth doing when you come to NYC. Even if you aren't the biggest comic book and/or super hero movie aficionado, you'll still enjoy learning more about the city and history. Our tour guide had worked for Marvel for many years and in fact he still works there. He was full of fun facts and he offered to draw pics of batman and superman for everyone at the close of the tour. It also starts at a comic book store in NYC which is pretty cool.
Written August 13, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

michie40
london32 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this tour via the internet whilst in New York. Tried to call to book but just generic message they will call back. Was really short of time and forfeited a part of Lady Liberty and Ellis Island to make the rendezvous on time, a shame the guide couldn't be as punctual or even show up. Waited 35 mins and no show. Actually stood up. Couldn't believe it. A paying customer stood up like I was nothing, a nobody. I felt so embarrassed , in desperation, asking complete strangers looking like they were waiting or looking for someone (rendezvous a busy restaurant) if they were from Celebrity Planet only to be given blank or negative responses. Celebrity Planet put me in such an embarrasing situation. A whole host of excuses went through my mind as to why they didn't show up but no excuses and at a loss as to why the customer care is so seriously lacking.

Left the rendezvous and called, finding a pay phone but got the usual leave a message and someone will call you back. Unable for them to contact me as my phone had no service, left a message to refund, email and explain why no show. Checked emails on return home and only received a couple of automated confirmation of booking emails. Put a dispute of payment via paypal to refund the money - still no email explaining or apology from Celebrity Planet - just appalling. Thank goodness payment was through paypal otherwise I don't know how I would have got my money back as they don't respond to emails or call, I gave my home number when booking but no call. Dispute through paypal issued a refund and fully refunded.

Such a shame as their website looked so good and promised so much. I had limited time in New York and the SATC walking tour was the perfect length of time for me and good value for money compared to others on offer. They do a Marvel superheroes tour which my son would love and going to New York again, before this, I would have considered using them but after this it's a case of once bitten twice shy. Didn't check them out on Trip advisor and so wish I had as they have had mixed reviews and like my tour one reviewer has also stated how they didn't show up but were refunded.

As well as my money back, which I now thankfully have, I just want an explanation really as to why they marred my New York break on the last full day and wasted my precious time on a very tight schedule.

Book at your own risk and get assurance from them that the guide will be on time or even show up at all!!
Written September 7, 2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TKA978
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2015 • Friends
The Tour guide for the tour never showed and the company refuses to compensate us for our inability to attend a prepaid tour while visiting New York. We spent over an hour waiting, hoping she'd show and another hour on the phone with Expedia trying to get a refund for services not rendered and they stated that the company refused to issue the refund. Ridiculous.
Written October 4, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Abbe J
Melville, New York, United States19 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2012 • Family
I purchased this tour on Groupon for my family of 4. I had some trouble scheduling the tour on the Celebrity Planet web site, as the first one I signed up for was not actually given on the day I chose. I never received a confirmation from the company and had to call and email many times to straighten it out. Finally we got to go on the May 27 noon tour. Our tour guide, Marci, was very nice. She was reading notes off index cards provided to her which had some facts wrong (claimed that Jacques Torres invented the Oreo). A quick Google by my son was able to debunk this fact. The tour description promised 9 stops. The assumption was that there would be chocolate samples at each. Also, we expected an “insider” type of view at the various stops. The first 3 were great and samples were wonderful, Jacques Torres, Li-Lac and The Chocolate Bar. But no insider facts or interaction with the shops. The rest of the tour was disappointing. Next, the tour brought us to Magnolia bakery and we were told no samples but feel free to go in and buy a cupcake. It was a very long walk to the next stop, Paticceria Bruno. Wonderful cannolis but we were on our own to purchase them once again. Neither really fit the theme either. Wonderful, but not strictly chocolate stops. Then we were told that the next stop had an emergency and was closed (not the tours fault) but that we could go back at another time and request a sample. The last stop on the tour was Vosges, wonderful chocolate samples but available to anyone off the street, not specially provided for the tour. So that was 6 stops in all, not 9. My family still had a good time. I am glad we got the tour at a discount, as I would be outraged if I paid full price for this.
Written May 28, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience with the Chocolate Tour, and that you felt the tour overall was not good value for money. We do keep the content of our tours under review and we investigate any issues. We sincerely value all feedback and thank you for your time in making this response.
Written July 25, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 68

The Celebrity Planet - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York City
All things to do in New York City
Day Trips in New York City
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars