Seaforth Boat Rental &Tours

Seaforth Boat Rental &Tours

Seaforth Boat Rental &Tours
4.5
About
Seaforth Boat Rental is San Diego's premier boat rental and yacht charter facility. With everything from Jet Skis, small sailboats and powerboats, to luxury sailing and motor yachts, Seaforth is sure to have the right boating experience for you. Book a sunset Sail, skippered charter, boat ride or a Jet Ski Tour, or cruise around the bay on your own. We have four full-time locations covering both bays, and all experience levels are welcome!
San Diego, California

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Seaforth Boat Rental &Tours
Travelers talk about
(23 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles181 reviews
Excellent
122
Very good
28
Average
12
Poor
4
Terrible
15

Southernboypilot
Apple Valley, CA3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019
These guys are pros! The 21 foot powerboat with a big V-8 they rented us ran perfectly, and the guys in the booth will check you out thoroughly, plus provide a map of where you can and cannot go. We explored all of San Diego Harbor and shut down in the middle of the bay for a nice lunch. Getting close to the USS Midway is a REAL rush and lets you appreciate just HOW big that flattop is!! Seaforth is a great company to work with and we have already planned to use them again!!
Written February 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind review! We're glad to hear you had a fantastic experience with us, and that our staff was able to get you out on the water! We can't wait to see you at Seaforth Boat Rentals again!
Written February 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amber M
Hollywood, CA15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020
Had so much fun riding around San Diego Harbor. They told us the drill, 5mins tops and we were on our way. Was really happy with my jet ski. I told them I had a problem once on a jet ski and they understood, got me a better jet ski that was more stable and made sure I felt safe on it while answering all my questions. Super Epic fun adventure. I loved that I could cruise around at my own pace with my cousin, while viewing the stunning San Diego Bay! The staff were really cool and when my friend chickened out they were nice enough to get her a kayak and let her paddle around while we jet skied. They didn't have to do that and it was so kind that they wanted her to have a fun experience too at whatever skill level you were at. She plans on coming back with her kids soon now! Overall amazing experience. You can really get out of your head going out on the water. Jets skis go up to 40mph. It's addicting I might come down every month! I live in LA and this is definitely a fun bucket list adventure to go out and do. Oh and book 2 hours so you can take your time, stop and take in the views. You'll love it! Thank you Seaforth! You helped me create a family experience we will all never forget! Now... I think I might need a customer loyalty card lol, I'm definitely coming back with groups of friends!

Ps: if your a veteran you get a discount so make sure you ask for the discount BEFORE you book!

Tried to post videos but check out ig: amber.michaelle to see the jet ski videos. I posted them on my ig!
Written June 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

G. Kang
San Jose, CA23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
Great experience overall. We rented from the Mission Bay location. We got the Sylvan 18’ for a family of two adults and 3 kids under 10. We thought the Vectra would be a bit small and didn’t have a top to block out the sun. Day of we called to see if any powerboats were available and asked to see them in person.. we dropped by at about 11:20 am and booked for 12-2pm the same day. Grabbed some food, came back, used the restroom, got fitted up with life jackets and went out to the dock.. hadn't driven a boat in years so the crew going over instructions/pre-outing checklist was a bit nerve wracking. They make you look at the motor rotor thing before and after you come back to check for damage... so I took pictures both times just for my own sake anyway and I had also purchased Boat Incidental Damage Waiver insurance for $29.. We left the dock into the Mission Bay and it was all fun after that.. came back and docked and checked out... I called the following week to understand the charges.. dude on the phone was cool and explained. I knew up front there was a fuel charge.. my suggestions is to have it itemized on the PEEK email receipt so there’s no confusion.. overall everything was good and I would suggest this place to friends visiting SD and I personally would rent here again.
Written July 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Holly W
14 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
Being on Mission Bay is a lovely experience. But this rental company leaves much to be desired.

We were the first boat out of the day. It was clear the boat hadn’t been cleaned since the day before. There was some sort of sticky residue on both sides of the dash and the seats were dirty. The boat in general was in disrepair - ripped seats, stains, a zip tie being used as the hull storage handle.

When we returned to the dock at the end of our rental time, there were no employees outside to help us dock. It was windy and we had to use the paddle to prevent hitting the dock and other boats. I yelled for help but no one heard us. Finally I was able to flag down an employee and we were able to dock.

When I mentioned it to the person inside who seemed like a manager, he just shrugged it off. We will definitely not be using this rental company again.
Written August 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ujjala M
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
We purchased 2 hour 10 person boat rental, overall experience was ok. first we did not get any directions on parking so took us 30 mins to figure it out. We called the number provided and lady was not helpful at all. We planned to arrive 30 mins prior to our departure but due to confusion of parking we got there 5pm (our time was 5-7pm). Then there was a paperwork demonstration that took extra 15-20 mins so or. I wish they mentioned that in the email that they close at 7pm as we wasted our 30 mins already. We spent over 400$ for 2 hr ride so didn’t like it at all that half hour was wasted. I wish they had better communications to make our experience memorable. The boat was fine, we were 8 people and i thought 10 people would have like no room to wiggle. The speakers on board were terrible sound quality and we could barely hear the music. We used our own portable speakers (glad we brought our own).
Written August 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

E4149VCrobertc
Phoenix, AZ19 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022
Rates are not too bad. We rented a 21 ft boat with 150 HP motor for three hours. Nice time on the bay, self-captained. We have boat experience, so it was fun. Don't get the little boats as they are sort of beat and if you go out in the PM, the water gets rougher. Weekends are crowded on the bay with a bunch of sailboats tacking and they have the right of way. So, mornings are best. The boat we had was big enough to tackle some larger swells and wakes from bigger boats, fast enough to get out of the way and had a bimini top for shade, which is nice. Everything on the boat worked. Nice to start on the Coronado side and work back to the Midway aircraft carrier and you can get right up to it. You can also go by the sub base, Shelter Island, Harbor Island, etc. Only one gripe. The sign telling you where to pull in is small and faded. So, we pulled into the wrong slip area and had to turn around. Staff was helpful and friendly. If you can afford it, it is a nice treat. Take a lunch and drinks and cruise on out and relax on the water! We went out of the downtown location behind the Manchester Grand Hyatt, not the Seaworld area location.
Written December 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roland S
Las Vegas, NV3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Business
We rented a boat to go look at some of the buildings along the San Diego harbor, and the boat was clean. The person who briefed us on the boat use did an excellent job in informing us to make sure we were safe. also brought to our attention in case something happened while out in the water who we could called in case of an emergency.
Written August 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

London P
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Solo
Rented the fishing skiff for like 8 hrs was fun so much explore took food drinks tons of room very very inexpensive and access to live bait. Dude I even caught a majestic sea hare was neat to learn about. Access to great food very reasonable.
Written May 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ricardo S
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023
We rented a boat for 2 hours with Seaforth at Coronado for a reasonable price (including fuel cost). It was a fun experience cruising around San Diego bay. The boat was fast (even with 5 adult passengers) and easy to operate. The staff were nice and very professional. I highly recommend this company.
Written May 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Edward B
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Family
We bare boat chartered Meridian, a Catalina 27 from Sea Forths downtown location. The staff was friendly and helpful, though it seemed more experienced with the smaller craft at the dock in the AM. The PM return crew was more experienced. We had extraordinary weather and a lovely sail out and beyond the mouth of the channel. This boat is sadly beyond her prime, evidenced by the clatter from down below as we tacked, numerous cabinets and door came loose creating quite a noise below decks. After several attempts to re latch things we gave up. The standing rigging is very loose and should be addressed as if the wind were to pick up, an unexpected jibe could prove disastrous. The cleanliness of down below left much to be desired. If we had brought anyone beyond immediate family this boat would have been embarrassing for us. Mechanically she worked well and the running rigging was well set up and easy to handle. The sights and sounds of the ever-present activity and wildlife of San Diego Bay certainly made up for any short comings of the vessel. I would recommend a trip like this to anyone who is visiting San Diego.
Written May 1, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 178

Seaforth Boat Rental &Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All San Diego HotelsSan Diego Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San Diego
All things to do in San Diego
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars