We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beantown Trolley

Neighborhood:
Downtown
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 8 Park Plz, Massachusetts Transportation Building at the City Place Food Court, Boston, MA 02116-3952
Phone Number: +1 781-986-6100
Website
Today
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Beantown Trolley offers an 80 minute hop on/hop off sightseeing tour of...

Beantown Trolley offers an 80 minute hop on/hop off sightseeing tour of Boston with unlimited reboarding. Added value includes a free Harbor Cruise / or admission to the Mapparium, a walk thru glass globe of the world at the Mary Baker Eddy Library. Find our ticket booths at Long Wharf near the NE Aquarium, at Faneuil Hall and at our main Gray Line Ticket Office at 8 Park Plaza, located within the MA Transportation Building lobby.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$35*
and up
Boston Beantown Trolley and Harbor Cruise
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 353 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 72
    Excellent
  • 53
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 67
    Poor
  • 99
    Terrible
Ms. Graham

We are traveling in RVs. We stayed in Bellingham Ma and rode the train (3 miles from CG Campground) into Boston. (Good choice...worked well.) We had to walk several blocks from... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
Marla G
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Boston

Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I took this tour this today. What a great way to see Boston. The guides were knowledgable and polite. Unlike the "big" company buy a ticket was a breeze and the trolley was never crowded. I rarely waited more than 5 minutes. Once the driver waited for me! It is heaps cheaper than other companies. Excellent value.

Helpful?
1 Thank huma37
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is our pleasure showing off our city to the visitors of Boston. So glad you enjoyed your day! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are traveling in RVs. We stayed in Bellingham Ma and rode the train (3 miles from CG Campground) into Boston. (Good choice...worked well.) We had to walk several blocks from the depot to BeanTownTrolley. It is a hop-on-hop-off...perfect for seniors, right? Wrong! It listed 3 sites at #2, so we got off. The only problem was the sites were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marla G
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

I apologize if you received any misinformation from our representatives. Our maps list attractions in the vicinity of the stop, unfortunately, we can't specify the distance to each attraction. It seems you may have been trying to visit sites in the North End. There are many streets that our vehicles cannot travel due to city ordinance restrictions in that area.... More 

Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

highly recommend. we stayed in quincy, mass. and they came down and picked us up and took us to our tour place in boston. Sam I Am was great and fun! hop on hop off tour on your first day visiting boston is highly advised. thanks for a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Patsy31748
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting! Glad you enjoyed your time on the Beantown Trolley and with Sam. I'm sure he will appreciate your review. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bus was old and rickety. Window had to be jammed open as it kept falling down. No padding on back of seats. Could not hear the driver because the sound system was so muffled.Other companies busses were taller so may give a better view. On the other hand, the free harbour tour was absolutely great with the best narrator... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phillip Brian T
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We bought tickets on the BeanTown Trolley, hop on hop off service and suggest that you avoid this service. We were directed to board a Trolley which was terminating and so instead of following the tour route, the trolley went directly to the garage, dropping us off at the USS Consitution on the way. After viewing this we waited over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandden L
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have done many Grey Line tours in the past, in other cities. This one was a waste of time. Three different drivers, all complained about traffic and heat. Canned speeches with very little information on the history. Very disappointed. I wish I would have read the reviews before I booked this tour :(

Helpful?
Thank Foto T
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your tour. I did check with the schedule for the day and we had very good guides on that day. Driving the trolleys are taxing in the heat and traffic. We ask that they maintain a professional attitude as is possible in adverse conditions. Our tour narration is scripted by our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Jack was our guide and he was amazing! His genuine interest in what he does combined with his knowledge of the history of Boston, really kept us interested and entertained! I highly recommend Beantown trolley if you are interested in seeing and learning about the amazing historical Boston! Thanks Jack for the laughs!

Helpful?
Thank cherie c
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

Appreciate your great review! Glad you enjoyed your tour with Jack. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

They also do not refund! The website is outdated and we waited and did not get picked up. We could not do the tour at all with them and the people at the main gate were not helpful or nice at all. They said it was not their fault that the website was outdated. We lost all money we paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay M
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were dissatisfied with your experience. Could you tell me which website you were looking at and what the issue was? As far as refunds are concerned, those requests are sent directly to me. If you would like. please send me an email at info@brushhilltours.com. More 

England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We booked this company via our hotel recommendation also they picked us up at 8.40am from our hotel in Dorchester area. It took us to number 1 stop at the habour where we paid the remainder 60 dollers to make a total price for two people 70 dollers. We were only in Boston for one full day and wanted to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyRider
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do provide Free Pickup and drop off service from several of the suburban hotels for the convenience of our guests. I apologize if the service was a little slow the day of your tour as we are working diligently to keep the frequency consistent. Glad you enjoyed the tour! More 

Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

The hotel staff mentioned the Beantown trolley as an option when we checked in - they pick up at the hotel and bring you back. We decided to try it on the 4th of July to give us a break from walking to and from the 'T' stop and all around Boston. Big mistake. It cost $35 person. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay C
Lisa B, Manager at Beantown Trolley, responded to this review

It sounds like you were not aware you were taking the Free Pickup Service to the tour that begins in Boston. We provide this service to guests at hotels outside of Boston as a convenient way to avoid driving and parking in the city. We have a specific route that we take and follow stop by stop. If you take... More 

Been to Beantown Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Beantown Trolley and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beantown Trolley staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Downtown

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown
The largest area of the city, Downtown is rich with historical and iconic sites in Boston. Stroll through one of Boston’s most famous green spaces, the Boston Public Gardens, check out and make way for duckling statues, picnic under a beautiful tree overlooking the pond, and walk over the iconic footbridge where, during summer time, you will catch a swan boat toting children and eager tourists through the pond. Have your camera ready to capture its peaceful beauty in the middle of a bustling city. Continue on through the Gardens and take in some open green space at the Boston Common, where you can spend time throwing a frisbee, sitting on a park bench, or, in the winter time, skating on the frog pond. Head north from the end of the Common to see the golden dome of the State House, and travel through government center to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, both a historic and popular destination worth a quick visit for a first time to Boston. Head to Long Wharf to visit the Aquarium, or catch a boat to Charlestown or even Cape Cod.