Wooten's Everglades Airboat Tour

Wooten's Everglades Airboat Tour

Wooten's Everglades Airboat Tour
4.5
Boat ToursEco ToursNature & Wildlife Tours
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Wooten's offers unique airboat rides through 259 acres of private Everglades grasslands, swamp buggy tours through a cypress forest, and an animal sanctuary with panthers, tigers, snakes, crocodiles, and over 100 alligators. We also have hourly live gator shows between 10:00 am and 4:00 pm!
Ochopee, Florida
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(435 reviews)
(376 reviews)
(565 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,178 reviews
Excellent
3,227
Very good
573
Average
159
Poor
85
Terrible
134

mike h
Palm Coast, FL97 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
This will be a three-part review.

Part One, the Airboat ride: we purchased online the extended tour. This included a 60-minute airboat ride instead of the 30-minute. It also included the Swamp Buggy and the animal display. (See part 2 and 3 for these reviews)

The airboat ride was different then any we have been on before, first of all they say see alligators, manatees and more. Obviously the tour company has no control over some things. The only thing we saw was one alligator near the dock and a fair amount of birds. The water level was low at less than 10” however with this the captain made the tour very enjoyable and fun. We did some high speed riding and some high speed turns. He would then stop and tell us some history and educate stories about the everglades. All and all this was very enjoyable even without the animals. I would give this a 4 out of 5 star rating.

Part two, Swamp Buggy: this was a delightful experience although it was very dry due to the weather and the lack of rain. Jimbo was our guide and told us several interesting stories. As we drove through the woods we saw a bear, dear, raccoon, several squirrels, a few bald eagles, an alligator living in their pond and several manatees. This was very interesting and a great experience. I would give this a 5 out of 5 star rating.

Part three, the Animal Sanctuary & Alligator Park: This was a disturbing part of the tour that I would recommend that you skip especially if your heart gets tugged at seeing caged animals. The alligators were crowded and did not appear healthy; several of them had their front leg/foot bitten off as well as other evidence of sours by fights with other alligators. (I assume this happens when the animals are caged up in close areas) The tigers and lions are in separate pens of about 50’ X 50’; they do not appear healthy and spend a lot of their time pacing back and forth. My advice, if you want to see healthy, happy live alligators, then stop at any of the park ranger centers and/or take one of the loop road rides in your car. It’s free and you will see healthy, bright colored alligators in a natural setting with all of their legs/feet in tack. This was free with our tour and very disappointing, I can only imagine the disappointment if you paid for this tour. I heard an employee tell a group of people that this is not a zoo and this is like an animal retirement home…..I can see this and this is the sad feeling I get when I visit a poorly ran retirement home and realize how unhappy the residents must be. PASS on this one. I would give this a 1 out of 5 star rating.
Written March 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry you didn't enjoy the Animal Sanctuary. Thank you for your detailed feedback.
Written April 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dennis M
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
My wife and I took the Small Airboat tour. It was great fun. We preregistered the day before online, to reserve our spot. The small boat holds about 10 people and I think the regular boat holds at least double that and is easier to get a seat. The small boat goes into some of the tighter areas that the larger boat can't. The pilot/captain stops a few times during the trip to point out some of the ecology and thinks to look at during the trip. It lasts about an hour and is great fun. Afterwards, you can go through the gator exhibit (free) and see alligators and crocodiles of various sizes. They have a short alligator show and can hold a baby alligator. Very "kitschy" in a good way.
Written March 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

neversaycant1
Nw York City29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
We loved the airboat ride. We had Capt'n Tommy who was very informative and a heck of a good airboat driver. You can tell he has been driving for a long time by the way he handles and maneuvers the swamp with his airboat.

The front seat is off-limits, and after a few sharp turns where the mud is coming up near the front seat you will understand why.

The ride is 30 minutes and if you have a hat or a loose wig, please hang on tight to it.

Alligators are not guaranteed but we spotted a few (2 or 3) big ones and our captain made sure we circled around a few times to make sure that we got some good shots.

Note there is about a 3.5 foot drop under yout seat. My camera lens fell down there during the ride. Please secure anything that you do not want falling down there and know that it's there. The captain was good enough to go underneath to get if for me.

Tips are accepted and we tipped even before he went to get my lens.

After the airboat ride we went to the gator park. You don't need to do the airboar ride to go to the gator park.

Most alligators are behind double wire fencing so your fingers don't get eaten off, but it also gets in the way of your photos.. I would recommend a DSLR camera with a zoom lens. There are gator shows and photography sessions in case you want a photo with one. (Their mouths are taped down.)

There are no Tigers or Bears (April 2022). I didn't mind. I'm not sure I'd want to see them caged up anyway.

2 adult for the airboat and gator park was $70
Written April 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KBelk
Hobart, IN6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
Our family of 12 recently purchased tickets for a 12 person grasslands airboat ride. We were disappointed to see other people on our 12 person tour with us. We had intentionally requested the 12 person tour so we would be by ourselves due to covid. We were not made aware that they would put others with us on the big boat. The guide said about 20 words the entire time and we were taken thru mangroves with just a few minutes worth of grasslands. We were told to be ready in 10 minutes, and we ended up waiting more than 20 minutes. I’m not very picky but we had just been on another tour with Captian Jack’s and they were fantastic! Save your money and do the Mangrove tour at Captain Jack’s. Wooten’s was a bust for our family:-(
Written July 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry you weren't completely happy with your experience. We'll pass your feedback along to our team.
Written August 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lovetogetawayoften
San Francisco, CA19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Family
Horrible business! We booked and paid for a private tour (due to COVID concerns) on Christmas Day and this was my child’s main Christmas gift. He was so excited! We drove 2.5 hours to get there and unfortunately we arrived 5 minutes late. We called ahead to tell them that we would be five minutes late the lady said “no problem!” Once we arrived we had to wait in a line that took 15 minutes to finally be told that they didn’t have enough captains for the day. The captains they had were being prioritized for the large jam-packed airboats. Instead of telling us that we would not get to go on a private tour because of the late arrival time, they told us they would get us in as soon as possible. After waiting patiently for an hour, they finally admitted they wouldn’t do a private tour for us. They tried to offer us a jam packed airboat tour instead, but the waiting all took too long and we didn’t have anymore time to wait. I wouldn’t recommend this company to anyone.
Written December 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry your child's Christmas gift didn't turn out the way you imagined. However, you arrived at 2:00 pm for your 1:30 pm launch time on Christmas Day, one of the busiest days of the year for us. When you booked your tickets, you agreed to arrive 30 minutes early, so you were effectively 1 hour late. On such a busy day, there's only so much we can do when other guests also have reservations. This kind of regrettable outcome is why we have a policy to arrive 30 minutes early. It's especially important for a private tour, when an entire boat is reserved only for you.
Written January 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ellie Headley
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
We had a great family experience at the Wootens facility in February 2020.
Our family of 14 (including 6 children ranging from 1 year old to 7 years old) to Wootens to do the Airboat Tour and wildlife sanctuary - it was a great time.
Marco was our Airboat Tour Guide and he did a fantastic job! He was an incredible driver and was very knowledgeable about the everglades, mangroves, gators, wildlife behaviors, weather patterns, etc. I would recommend him as a guide to everyone! (Note to families: There is ear protection provided for the loud fan for children.)
The wildlife sanctuary was very educational for the kids. Its always a little sad to see such large, wild animals caged in confined spaces but again - educational. The family also enjoyed the gator show with Charlie! He interacted with the gator in the cage and was very informative. We all then took turns holding small alligators! It was quite the experience and recommend it to all families & folks of all ages.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Arnold S
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
I was disappointed with our time at Wootens this week. The hour (plus?) ride was only 40 minutes long and our family was spit up for the ride , even though we were the first reservation made for that time slot. The gift shop was overpriced and “cash only” and the animal exhibit was old, run down and sad. Only good part of the visit was the young man doing the alligator show, who tried to make it interesting and funny. Next time we will go back to Erv’s.
Written August 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the feedback! We're sorry to hear you didn't completely enjoy your visit with us.
Written September 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eppi1954
Denton, TX188 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
This is the place for a thrilling airboat ride, but not to see a ton of alligators. They explain on the tour why there are so few alligators in their water. You get your money's worth with zipping along waterways and learning about the area. There was definitely some talk of private business versus national park challenges. Our family had no issue booking a private airboat ride and adjusting the time the day before the trip. The person working the gift shop was a bit salty. The animal "zoo" part is fine to see some wildlife up close, but it's definitely dated and low on upkeep. In the end, I'm glad we went with this company since it fit our needs.
Written May 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We take our responsibility to our animals very seriously. We've made many updates to the animal sanctuary in recent years, and would not describe our animals as requiring "low" upkeep! Thank you for providing your honest feedback.
Written June 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SLKC
Charleston, SC5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Family
Great family run attraction! We went mainly for the airboat ride but loved the entire experience. We had 11 in our group so booked a private boat. MUCH more affordable than the other 5 places I checked for the same private boat and # of people. Tour was on private land which means we didn't run into a bunch of other tours or groups, in fact we were the only ones out when we went.

JR was our guide and was excellent! Very experienced, made the entire group feel comfortable and safe (most hadn't been on airboat before). We stopped 4-5 times and JR shared plenty of history, facts, nature observations, etc. Answered all our questions and took the time to get to know our group. Went fast in certain spots which was fun for the kids and included a few spins and sharp turns. Went slow where appropriate, could tell he knows the area like the back of his hand. Made the entire tour a great experience!

It was end of the day and really hot but we had just enough time to see the animals. We enjoyed the simplicity of the exhibit, 1 siberian tiger, 2 lions, river otter, some crocs and plenty of gators of various ages and sizes. We missed the gator handling show but the handler (didn't catch his name) was kind enough to take a baby gator and small/med gator out for the kids to hold which made their day! He didn't have to do that as we were literally 10 mins from closing time, very much appreciated!

All in all, we will def be back and enjoyed the entire experience! Outstanding, polite, knowledgable, welcoming staff, clean, well run!
Written July 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jack G
Flemington, NJ120 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
Not just an airboat ride. We got the bundle with the buggy ride and airboat ride. Marco was our airboat ride captain and did a great job stopping to narrate and view alligators in the water. While there is no guarantee of seeing wildlife, we saw 4 alligators at 2 different spots and one swam right up to the boat. Also saw countless pelicans, herons and other fowl in the brush and water. Sit in the first row if you are ok getting wet. Best seat in the house.

DJ was our driver for swamp buggy ride which was a nice eco tour. He is extremely knowledgeable and pointed out many interesting things as we drove through the swamp. It was a bit anticlimactic after the boat ride which higher on the thrill scale.

They also have a captive animals in back including tigers, lions, gators, turtles, an otter and they fo an alligator discussion every hour. Larry was our native gator handler at the gator show they have every hour.

Definitely worth a 3 hr stop before a quick trip to Everglades City for some fresh seafood.
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,881

Wooten's Everglades Airboat Tour - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Wooten's Everglades Airboat Tour Information

Excellent Reviews

3,227

Very Good Reviews

573

Wooten's Everglades Airboat Tour Photos

2,818