We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About River Riders
West Virginia whitewater rafting, tubing, zip line canopy tour, kayaking, canoeing, biking, climbing, team building, and outdoor adventure summer camps in Harpers Ferry and C and O Canal National Parks on the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. We are the closest outfitter to the Washington, DC, Baltimore, MD and Northern Virginia metro areas.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

River Riders
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
1116Reviews19Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 815
  • 139
  • 48
  • 46
  • 68
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Patty wrote a review Oct 21
1 contribution
Excellent adventure on Zip Line Canopy Tour with Bri and Melissa. They made sure we felt comfortable and had a great time. Jokes are the best! Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Escape679717 wrote a review Oct 13
1 contribution
Great time awesome guides! Johnny & Tae were great guides for our zipline adventure. Perfect balance of safe and fun. Next time we’ll do the Megazip!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt K, Owner at River Riders
Responded 3 days ago
Thank You! We will be sure to share your review with Johnny and Tae! Come back and be sure to try the mega-zip, you will love it!
Read more
Devon Porter wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Reserved a canoe, paid a bit more than 100 bucks. Showed up and they said there was high water, so no canoe, and we also couldn’t go to the planned location. Employee offered us an alternative we didn’t want, was annoyingly patronizing, and refused to give us a refund, only store credit. Had used this place several times before but will not go back. Very disappointed!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt K, Owner at River Riders
Responded 2 weeks ago
Devon we are sorry we could not accommodate your group. Per our email and phone conversation before your trip, the water was very high and unsafe for canoeing.
Read more
TLKplanner wrote a review Sep 2021
Ellicott City, Maryland2 contributions
Great weekend away! We had sites 102 and 103. Great locations right on the river. Lots of staff around while everyone was settling into their sites. Very friendly and helpful. Sites are not level so be prepared to take some extra time to set up and get level. We did the zip line tour and it was amazing. Dakota and Lee were great guides and even took their time with two in our group who were afraid of heights. Cat fish were biting at night, but not much else as the river was higher than normal due to rain prior to our weekend. If you have an RV the train coming through isn’t much of a bother. Tent camping could be different. We recommend great for families and lots of adventures to choose from to add to your trip!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt K, Owner at River Riders
Responded 1 week ago
Thank You! We love hearing you guys had a great weekend with us. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff and hope to see you again!
Read more
Marietta F wrote a review Sep 2021
Bartlett, Illinois21 contributions3 helpful votes
Ryan was a great guide on our rafting adventure. The downside was that he was responsible for kayakers going down the rapids at the same time. Multiple times he had to stop the raft to wait for them or give them instructions. He did a great job but suggest the company send another guide for the kayakers because it definitely impacted our ride. With that said there were other employees on kayaks but he said he was the only paid guide so ultimately they were his responsibility.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt K, Owner at River Riders
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank You Dakota! Please visit in the spring time when the water is typically higher with bigger rapids. We will be sure to share your review with Ryan.
Read more
Previous
123456