We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explore San Francisco

San Francisco, CA, USA
More
About Explore San Francisco
The best and most authentic food and drink tours, historic neighborhood walks, scenic running tours and cannabis tasting tours in San Francisco. We are more than happy to put together a private, one-of-a-kind group tour for your company, your family, or your school group. We have worked with all the big companies of the Bay Area and many groups from around the world. Our goal is to show you the same city gems that we would show off to our own visiting family and friends. So put down the guidebook​, get off that double-decker tour bus, and back away from the pier. Come, explore San Francisco with us and see the city as a local.
Read more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours

Explore San Francisco
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
91Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 63
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
  • 12
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Kimberly P wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Three of us took a day off work to travel to San Francisco for this tour. We waited at the Chinatown Gate from 10:45 to 11:20, in the rain, and no one showed up from the tour company despite the fact that we had received email confirmation from them the day before. The phone number provided was out of service. The tour was connected to Expedia; so far Expedia has been unable to help us--they told us they have to contact the tour people before anything can be done, but they confirmed the phone number is not working. Super disappointing and expensive to us.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Tim W wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Don't waste your time with this company. Our friend booked a food tour of the Mission months in advance. Payment was taken. No confirmation was sent within 30 days of the event, and calls to them went unanswered. The day of the event, we waited until 15 minutes after the appointed time, and called to find out what was going on. Our friend still hasn't heard from the tour company. Payment was handled through a third party who promptly processed the refund but gave no explanation. We ended up doing our own food tour of the Mission and had a great time.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Emily wrote a review May 2019
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
Don’t book through this company as they are extremely unprofessional. We had booked two months in advance as we were trying to fit in as much as we possibly could for our trip to SF. 9 days before the scheduled tour we received notification from Viator that Explore SF had cancelled and asked if we would like to reschedule. So we went to great effort to move reservations around to make another date for this tour. We received our amended booking confirmation three days before the scheduled tour and called to confirm but just got an answering machine. We left a message and asked if someone could call us back to make sure everything was in order. Heard nothing. We still showed up at the scheduled time and place and hung around for an hour waiting and calling this company. We finally gave up and left with our night ruined and most places already booked out for dinner. We still haven’t received a call or apology from Explore SF. Thankfully Viator refunded the money but we can’t get back our evening in San Francisco. Don’t book any tours through this company.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from MPMoran4U, Owner at Explore San Francisco
Responded May 21, 2019
Hi Emily, Thank you for the review. We were closed for two weeks when you tried to book through Viator/ Trip Advisor. I am not sure how they allowed you to book a tour with us. Our calendar was completely blacked out until the 10th of May. This should not have happened.
Read more
smoldoff wrote a review Apr 2019
Lafayette, California10 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a great time on this 2.5 hour tour. We stopped at four restaurants, then went for ice cream, then chocolate. Michael and David took care of everything; they ordered the food and drinks, then explained what we were eating. They are very personable and engaging. They told us about the history of the restaurants and the local area. We even did a side tour down the mural alley. Some of the restaurants we tried were closed on Sunday afternoon, so that was disappointing, but there are plenty of places that are open. One place we went was crowded and told us it would be a 30 minute wait for our food, so we went on to the next place. We ate at a health food restaurant, Indian restaurant, Spanish restaurant. The tour guides made this tour really fun and memorable. There were a couple of issues. The first hiccup was a month ago when we scheduled the tour and were ready to go but they contacted us about 2 hours before the tour to say it was canceled. To make up for it, they sent a list of the top restaurants along with a map so we could do our own tour if we wanted to. They offered to re-book us and provide a discount, which was very nice. The 2nd time we booked this tour, they showed up 30 minutes late. So prepare yourself. We texted them so we knew they were running late. Even with those hiccups, you should check out this tour for the great food and great stories and great tour guides. Did we tell you to bring a bag so you can bring the leftovers home? We got to relive our tour for a couple of days by eating delicious leftovers.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Sydney BT wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Do NOT book tours through this company! They did not show and now will not respond to phone calls or emails!!!! I booked the mission desserts tour directly through their reservations department, and was scheduled for March 3rd at 3pm. I got a confirmation email the day before and everything. I showed up the requested 10 minutes early. At about 3:15pm I called the main number. Then began to call the numbers of all of the guides listed in my original booking email. No one called back. I also sent an email to the employee that had helped me book, with no response. I waited until 3:30 pm before finally giving up on them. I have called multiple times since that day, originally requesting to rebook, ending with requests for a refund. It has been over two weeks and they have not responded! This is unacceptable customer service. Do not risk your money! Buyer beware!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous