Bar Harbor Ghost Tours
Bar Harbor Ghost Tours
4.5
Ghost & Vampire ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursWalking Tours
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 9:30 PM
About
Bar Harbor Ghost Tours are unique experiences found nowhere else in the world. Our tours are based on sound historical research that gives a cross-cultural view of our shared history and is interpreted to our guests through traditional tribal storytelling methods. We are a 100% Native American owned company, family operated, and proud to be a woman-owned business in Maine. Get ready for an evening of fun, ghost stories, & Wabanaki Indian spirit tales as you explore the dark side of this beloved seaport village. Discover the untold history behind the area's ghostly activity as you walk the winding paths of prehistoric curses and ancient specters. Hear tales no other tours will tell you and listen to recorded evidence of a resident spirit. Follow your historically dressed tour guide through the shadows of the parks, waterfront, and inside the 1932 Art Deco Criterion Theatre for exclusive access after-hours. Bring your camera and be prepared to sleep with the lights on.
Bar Harbor, Maine

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(6 reviews)
(6 reviews)
(5 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles207 reviews
Excellent
167
Very good
19
Average
8
Poor
4
Terrible
9

Jimmy S
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
Our guide Audrey was fantastic. We learned so much about haunted locations and hidden history in Bar Harbor. Audrey made the entire tour fun as she interacted with every member of our party. And when she found out we were staying at the Bar Harbor Inn she stayed after the regular tour ended and provided us with stories and discussions about that specific location. My 21 year old son is a major skeptic but after interacting with Audrey now he at least has an open mind. Definitely will take the tour again our next time in town.
Written May 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your time and review! We are very happy your enjoyed your experience and are delighted to hear your guide offered exceptional service. We love to connect with guests, particularly if we know they are staying in a haunted location. We will be sure to forward your review to her.
Written July 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Moaner T. Lawrence
Cologne, Germany6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
As a former critic for one of the world's largest horror magazines (feel free to Google my name for proof - I even wrote a review for this tour back in 2018.), with a fairly seasoned knowledge of the ghost tours in New England, I can attest that the Bar Harbor Ghost Tour is the best in New England, let alone Mount Desert Island. Every time I return to Acadia, I make sure to take the tour at least once, and every time I love the guides, their delivery, the pacing, and the lore. The competition on the island doesn't even come close. If you're a Horror/Halloween fan, and looking to experience Bar Harbor in a new way, this is the only tour where you'll get your money's worth.
Written August 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CHRIS H
Somerset, PA30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
Jennifer was the best tour host. I ended up with a rowdy group and we had soo much fun!
Her ghost stories were very interesting and she was a true professional. She included everyone on the tour and had great "comebacks" when random things were said to her by the guests. This tour is ok for children, as it is not very scary. Walking on the sea wall at night was awesome! Bring a flashlight!
Written June 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Michelle L
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
Can’t put into words how much of a waste of time and money this boring ghost tour was. I have been to many wonderful ghost tours but this one sticks out as being frightening…ly bad. Daniel the tour guide painstakingly stretched out every last detail of the 7 total ghost tales he told (not “a dozen” stories as the owner defensively replied to a previous review… I could have only wished for a dozen but every story was unnecessarily long! I remember the number 7 distinctly because there were so few of them that we stuck with talking about for so long - so do not dispute that number in your inevitably angry reply back, owner person!) I think my legs full out atrophied after standing in one spot for a solid half hour listening to the entire history of one building from the dawn of time to it’s modern day occurrences (aka finally the spooky stuff in the last five minutes.) I laughed out loud at the “unexplained” photos he showed that were taken by other guests - I can explain them, they’re blurry photos of other human beings in modern day attire walking quickly! So absurd and disappointing. Do better, please. And teach your guides to “read the room” - if everybody is antsy and slouching and their eyes are glazing over, speed it up and move along!! I got a better sense of Bar Harbor’s exciting, extensive haunted history through a Google search after the tour.
Written August 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your well prepared and preplanned review. You answered every point of the owner response with obvious enthusiasm. However, I will reiterate some points made by you, earlier. The photos are not ours and not fake. We simply show images other tour goers have submitted that we cannot replicate or debunk. It is your choice to believe them or not but at no time do we try to make anyone believe anything. We simply tell stories. The number of ghost stories on the tour is actually 13. We know this because we put them on the back of our t-shirts. Your tour guide happens to be new like a shiny penny and only 8 weeks into a new career. While we all have some learning to do and strive to make our tours better, a novice is still a novice. Lastly, at ANY time you found yourself unhappy with your experience you could have done one or more of the following: 1) left the experience, 2) told your tour guide you were unhappy and given him an opportunity to fix things, or 3) contacted the office via phone, email, or text with your unhappiness. We would have immediately worked to find a mutually beneficial resolution. Instead, here we are. For future reference, you always have the right to explain nicely to your guide that your experience was not excellent.
Written August 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bkhockey3
Norwood, MA99 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
Like others said, we wanted to love this tour, but just didn't. We thought this would be a great way to see Bar Harbor on our first night in town, but it ended up being a disappointing waste of time. This tour certainly seemed entertaining to a few others on the tour, but it just wasn't for my family of teens. We found the stories dull and pointless. The first house we stopped at we heard a handful of poorly told stories that were way too long, but we never got very close to the house or anything that was scary. Next stop was a graveyard that we couldn't go in and the storyteller showed a picture on her phone to a group of 28 people. Third stop was at a theater that we couldn't go in, but we stood across the street in the Walgreens parking lot while we heard sewer water rushing past us. The sewer water was probably the scariest part of the journey even though it was unintentional. Several people asked questions that the guide had no idea about, and it was around this point that I noticed others sneaking off the tour. Our group decided to go to the final destination near the water where we 20+ people listened to a random recording on the tour guide's phone. It was a nice night to take a walk so that was a positive, but we felt like we wasted some valuable time on our vacation that we could have been exploring the town. It felt like wasted money too, but the wasted time was much more disappointing.
If you are a ghost hunter or enjoy paranormal TV shows you might love this tour as there were people in the tour that really seemed to be into it. Unfortunately, it just didn't work for my family and we remain pretty confused by the 5 star reviews.
Written August 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LolaSmithardson
Charlotte, NC28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Couples
This was our first trip to Maine and we love a good ghost tour. Jennifer was a phenomenal tour guide - highly knowledgeable of the history of Bar Harbor and very entertaining and personable. I really can’t say enough good things about her. We 1000% recommend this tour - even if you’re not a believer it’s honestly just a great history tour as well.
Written June 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1000%???? WE LOVE THAT! Thank you for your time and review! We are very happy your enjoyed your experience and your guide.
Written July 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JILL W
MISHAWAKA, IN83 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021
Very good tour! Our guide was terrific-gave us lots of history about Bar Harbor as well as some tales about strange happenings in the city.. We were able to visit the Criterion Theater during this tour-beautiful Art Deco building! The walk is at a nice pace around the city. We had a large group but were always able to hear our guide. This is a fun and interesting 2 hour tour.
Written October 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Courtney Savage
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
I had a wonderful time on our ghost tour! Our guide was funny and did a great job telling stories which chilled me to my core. I found that this tour was a really unique way to also learn more about the history behind Bar Harbor and was really appreciative of the opportunity to learn. Definitely struggled to sleep after this tour, which I think is a good sign that it was a little scary for me! I don't think I would recommend this for small children, since we had a teenager on our tour who got noticeably nervous and scared a couple of times.
Written September 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Harmonyplease
11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
Jennifer was a lovely tour guide, very engaged with the audience and very knowledgeable. I have done a number of ghost tours in various cities and the only thing I was disappointed about with this one is that we couldn't go inside anyplace. I will say it is a nice way to see the town of Bar Harbor, you cover quite a bit of ground and see different areas. If you do this on a Fri/Sat I think you do get to go inside the theater. This is not scary at all. We had a number of little kids on our tour and Jennifer did a decent job keeping them engaged, but with more story telling and less "seeing" sites it was challenging at times. Budget friendly.
Written June 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your time and review! We are very happy your enjoyed your experience. We are always disappointed when we can't take you into the theatre as it is our favorite place but due to the theatre's COVID regulations we operate as they dictate and are happy to do so. While the tour is lighter on the number of sites as opposed to other tours you may have experienced there is no shortage of ghost stories as we are fortunate to have several locations where there are multiple haunts. We cover over a dozen individual stories on the tour so there is something for everyone. Thank you so much for your feedback and please know we will take your thoughts into consideration for future tours. We hope to see you again in the future!
Written July 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laura H
Pennsburg, PA1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
We had a wonderful tour last night with our guide, Daniel!! He is a natural storyteller who engaged us from the first moments of the tour when he entertained us with a quick tale while waiting for it to be time to officially start. He has an obvious passion for the history of the area and really helped our family to see BH as more than a tourist destination. I have been on ghost tours in other towns/cities, but this was one of the best!! Thank you for a wicked good time, Daniel!! Your friends in PA
Written August 16, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 206

Bar Harbor Ghost Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Bar Harbor
Day Trips in Bar Harbor
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars