Downeast Windjammer Cruises Lines

Downeast Windjammer Cruises Lines

Downeast Windjammer Cruises Lines
4
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Visit the other side of Acadia National Park and join us for a ferry ride aboard the Bar Harbor to Winter Harbor/ Schoodic Ferry departing from downtown Bar Harbor. You'll pass lighthouses, mountains, fishing villages mansions and lobstermen hauling their traps. Picnic by the ocean, or use the new bike trails from Winter Harbor around the Schoodic Point section. We are also bicycle and dog-friendly. The Free Island Explorer Bus meets the ferry and goes to Schoodic Point, Winter Harbor, Birch Harbor and Prospect Harbor.
Bar Harbor, Maine

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Downeast Windjammer Cruises Lines
Travelers talk about
(370 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,249 reviews
Excellent
1,327
Very good
383
Average
246
Poor
166
Terrible
128

MaryCollazo
Bangor, ME1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
This is a "MUST DO" when you come to Bar Harbor! I went with my significant other, and it was incredibly romantic. There was a live guitarist/singer onboard, and the music enhanced an already perfect evening. You are encouraged to bring food and drink (except alcohol) onboard, and I made finger sandwiches, had cold drinks and fresh fruit, and it was wonderful. The cruise had guests of mixed demographics - I'm in the Senior and Couples demographics. There were families with children, younger couples, and a few solos. Everyone was so enthralled with the beauty and the ship, that we were all connected in our enjoyment of the evening sail. Very young children may not fully appreciate the experience. Children must be strictly supervised by their adults for safety reasons. This is a four-masted schooner, so lots of rope and moving parts in raising and lowering the sales. Older kids and adults are invited to help raise the sails and given instruction in working with the crew in accomplishing this task. The crew was friendly, informative and helpful. I plan to go on other Downeast Cruise experiences in the future. A side-note: The restroom facilities are "primitive," as I expected. Best to go on land, before you board. The bathroom is down some narrow stairs (watch your head and your step) and around behind them.
Written August 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DarleneAgan
Bowling Green, OH1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
The only other things I could ask for is a) equal visibility from both sides of the boat, and b) fewer people. They have to make money though so I get that. But the entire sunset was visible on one side of the boat, which meant people on the other side had to cross to the starboard side to enjoy the view, snap pictures, etc.... which meant that we were standing in front of the people who had seats on that side. Inconvenient for everyone. (I did message this feedback to them, hoping they make more of an effort for other guests in the future) Otherwise couldn't ask for more, the crew was very personable and efficient, and did a great job keeping everyone in line with their safety guidelines. Dog-friendly.
Written August 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, the sails do impinge on visibility for half of our passengers at sunset time. As you observed, the boat can get quite cozy when at full capacity and due to our sail's wild popularity, we feel the need to accommodate all who wish to join in. We are glad you managed to get some photos without toppling the boat, though! Good to hear as well that the rest of your trip was pleasant and enjoyable. We hope you join us again in the future.
Written September 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BPD171
Tariffville, CT76 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
If you want to experience a pleasant sail around the bay but are not into crowds then I highly recommend booking a private charter with Downeast Windjammers. We took a 2 hour cruise on the 100 year old lobster sloop Chrissy. Once we got out of the crowded mooring area Captain Zach was able to raise the sails and turn off the engine. After that the only sounds were the flap of the sails, the slap of the water against the boat and our conversation. Zach has had a wide variety of experiences and proved to be a great conversationalist. In addition he had a good bit of knowledge about the area and was able to point out several interesting features both in the bay and on the mainland.

The whole experience was interesting enough to keep the 13 and 16 year olds off their phones (mostly). I would definitely consider adding a third hour if we do it again.
Written August 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our private charters are truly an idyllic experience, even for techy teens! We are so happy you had such a marvelous time and look forward to booking you on a 3-hour tour in the future! Thanks again for taking the time to submit your review.
Written August 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Erika J
Madison, Wi7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We had a lovely evening for a cruise after a very hot day. The views from the boat are lovely but the cruise itself left something to be desired. The ship was very crowded and we were packed onto the benches around the boat. They recommend getting there 45 minutes early, which is essential with so many people if you want to sit together. You don't learn much - or anything - on the cruise. The music is a guy with a guitar who walks around the boat sitting in different spots to play classic rock. The drinks are overpriced warm beers and wine ($12 for wine) that you spend most of the ride in line for since they have one person managing the bar and also managing the sails. With no commentary from the captain, the cruise is largely people standing in groups talking... which is fine but just know what you are getting in to.
Written July 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We appreciate your review and apologize that your cruise was not what you expected. The ship can get cozy when it reaches its 150 passenger maximum capacity. Our captain refrains from providing narration so as not to talk over our musician. The cans of wine that we sell contain two drinks, which accounts for the price. Unfortunately, we did not chill the beer in time for it to be at the preferred temperature and we will try and do better with that in the future. Again, we regret that your trip wasn't the best that we usually offer and we thank you for your feedback.
Written July 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KP Saturn
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
We took the 2 pm sailing out of Bar Harbor, and was shocked at how bad this was. I thought it would be the highlight of our week in Bar Harbor., There wasn't anything to wet your whistle, even though it was 85 degrees out .MAIN GRIPE : NO bottled water (complimentary or for purchase ) We don't have kids, but they needed something, as well as the adults.

I can't see this being a COVID thing because the boat was packed AND In contrast, the 6 pm sailing
offered beer & wine for purchase that the workers had to serve. They also offered water, etc, It was only a difference of $3.00 so it's not like we picked the no-frills cruise.

The Park Ranger gave a dry narrative on the history of the shape of the hills. People tuned her out and actually closed their eyes halfway through. Not worth $58.00 a person. As I stated, my main gripe is that they couldn't even provide bottled water, whether comp or for purchase. The 6 pm cruise was an all out sail with no holds barred, including a band. The people working the ticket counter seemed like we were bothering them & were more interested getting back to texting on their cell phones - did not inform us there would not be anything to even drink . Oh, we noticed the deck hands were rude to the parents.
Written September 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry you were disappointed in your trip. Our brochure does specify that passengers can bring a picnic, which implies soft drinks or water as well. As you mentioned, our cruises are very popular but since the ship passengers adhere to the 6-foot social distancing rule, “packing” the boat is not an issue. The sunset cruise description in our brochure mentions that we sell alcohol and soft drinks as well as water on board, so you are welcome to choose that voyage in the future. Park rangers are not affiliated with the ship and thus are not constrained by any requirements of ours. We do, however, feel that $58 is a comparable price for our cruises. Thank you for the feedback regarding our ticket counter personnel; they will be admonished not to be on their phones during work hours. Please also forgive any perceived rudeness on the part of our crew – they certainly don’t intend to be. We invite you to try another sail in the future; perhaps a sunset cruise would be more to your liking with the drinks and entertainment.
Written May 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bweeks3579
Boston, MA1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Family
crew really should help people board and be seated so families are not separated. When you pay 0ver $200 for a sunset cruise you should be able to sit with your family. Also when you advertise that your travel 17 miles around the the islands you should maybe go around 1 island and travel at least 5 miles.
Written July 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review - we are always striving to improve our customer service. We apologize for not being able to seat you all together. Passengers select their own seats as they board so the earlier the arrival, the better the choice of seats. We sincerely regret that your sail did not meet your expectations and hope you give us another try in the future.
Written July 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicole D
Glenside, PA1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
The cruise on the Margaret Todd has the potential to be great, however the excursions was not worth the price. The ship was beautiful, but it simply goes around the one island and returns back to dock. The crew stands around looking miserable the entire trip, not once attempting to talk to anyone on board. Even when given the opportunity to engage the passengers during the raising of the sails, the crew just seemed miserable and not happy to be there.The captain barely even communicates to the passengers. If you ask a question, you get nothing more than a one work answer. It was a lifeless trip, that could have used some music and a bit of spark from the captain & crew. Not worth the price - definitely look into another excursion opportunity.
Written July 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so sorry you were disappointed with your sail. All of our promotional materials state that the schooner sails around Frenchman Bay but perhaps you expected more. Our crew keeps any narration to a minimum so as not to disturb the peacefulness of being out on the water. We do offer an acoustic musician on our sunset sails, so maybe you'd like to try that in the future. Again, we apologize for your experience and hope you try us again in the future for a different cruise.
Written July 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Zhenya P
New York City, NY15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Couples
We went out on a smaller boat, Bailey Louise Todd. Only one of the 3 crew members was wearing a face covering. It’s not big enough for 40 guests to maintain safe distance (they reduced capacity from regular 50 and that’s not nearly sufficient, compared to 50 on the larger boat, reduced from 150). Only a couple of guests had face coverings and even though there was no way to keep 6 feet apart from other parties, the crew did not enforce the masks. One guest, who volunteered to help with the sails, asked if he should put on a mask, provided he was being paired up with another volunteer face-to-face, and the crew member’s response was “nah”. This is absolutely unacceptable. Every other place in Bar Harbor is very compliant, so this was shocking. Even the passengers who started with masks, took them off eventually. It did not feel safe at all and completely ruined our experience. The tour itself was slow and boring and we really didn’t get to see or learn much. At one point the captain informed us that seagulls don’t exist as a species, for example... You know what does exist? COVID-19! If you choose to operate your business and charge $45 during this time, please also take responsibility for the safety of your guests or at least inform them ahead of time that face masks won’t be required. Would not have booked this tour had we known.
Written July 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MelissaL0715
Tampa, FL917 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Couples
Yesterday we took a harbor cruise on the Margaret Todd schooner. The staff was very nice and well organized. Those on board were able to help hoist the sails and wildlife was pointed out along the way. If it’s sunny I would recommend wearing sunblock yes because a few of us got burnt even with hats and jeans on. Seating is on long benches so if you need a back rest you might not want to take this boat, but overall I would highly recommended this group as they did a great job of giving us a 2 hour tour of the harbor. Only downside we saw was there really wasn’t room to social distance as everyone was really tightly packed on.
Written July 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your wonderful and descriptive review! You are right, the sun is especially strong on the water. The reason we don't social distance is because our passengers are out in the open air, greatly minimizing any risk. We are glad you had a great time and invite you to join us again in the future!
Written July 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anna M
Raynham, MA4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Solo
I absolutely loved the cruise from start to finish. I sat near the wheel with my dog and the captain was pleasant and kind the entire trip, coming over to pat my dog several times and answering my questions and anybody else’s questions throughout the cruise. He was particularly kind to an elderly gentleman who ambled up the deck to talk to him about his cruise across the world back in the 1950’s in a wooden ketch. Listening to these two sailors was well worth the price of the cruise. The Margaret Todd is a beautiful schooner with a great crew. We had a windy, cool, sunny day and the scenery was beautiful! Captain Steve pointed out and named islands, mountains and other landmarks, as well as eagles and other wildlife. I will absolutely be doing another cruise with Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines again should I return to Bar a Harbor!! Highly recommend!!!
Written October 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are thrilled to read your glowing review and strive for the complete satisfaction of all our customers. The captain is indeed knowledgeable about sailing as well as the history of the area and knows his landmarks. We will be very happy to have you join us again in the future, and thanks for the high recommendation!
Written May 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,242

Downeast Windjammer Cruises Lines - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Bar Harbor
Day Trips in Bar Harbor
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars