One Ocean Diving
One Ocean Diving
5
Scuba & SnorkellingShark DivingBoat ToursEco ToursNature & Wildlife Tours
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Swim with Sharks! Snorkel with sharks. No previous experience required, you will have a professional shark expert safety diver teach you on the short 20 minute ride out to the ledge where you are guaranteed to see sharks cruising in the current below or around the boat. The shark safety diver guide shark biologist will get in the water first and they will be the last person out of the water. Come out with us to learn about, watch, and actually snorkel or freedive down with sharks. Learn about the biology, physiology, and behavior of sharks and other marine life and help contribute to current research and conservation efforts. *Shark sightings are guaranteed.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by One Ocean Diving
Travelers talk about
(262 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles3,368 reviews
Excellent
3,167
Very good
103
Average
39
Poor
29
Terrible
30

Dtran
Boston, MA8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 • Family
Third time ive been to oahu and this was the best thing i did in all my trips. Very professional staff. The two female trainers were very informative and professional and caring of the sharks. We felt very safe and in good hands the whole time. I like that they are a nonprofit research based group. My gf’s teenage son also said it was his favorite part of the whole vacation too. Thanks for the great life experience. I highly recommend this place and recommend paying the extra 50 for them to email you their go pro videos afterwards. Easy online booking and hassle free.
Written November 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gvo22
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021
I found One Ocean Diving on instagram prior to coming to Oahu, and was excited to book an excursion. I was not disappointed in my experience and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to shark dive. The crew were professional, knowledgeable, and made the experience engaging and safe. The only complaint I would have was that there were only 3-4 sharks during our dive, but that wasn’t their fault nor something they can control. Will definitely look for another dive if/when I return to Oahu.

Of note, at the time of my excursion (end of March), the island was just opening up to tourists and ride-sharing services weren’t operating at full capacity and we didn’t rent a car. We had to take an Uber from Waikiki to the north shore for the excursion and the Uber was quite expensive, over $100, and finding an Uber to take us back from the north shore to Waikiki took a lot of time and was also ~$80. Would recommend renting a car if ride-sharing services aren’t back up to normal operations.
Written March 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha, thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and understanding about the amount of sharks, we're happy you still had a great time nonetheless and we hope to take you out again in the future :) We highly agree to rent a car ahead of time, thank you for sharing the extra tips for future guests :) Mahalo
Written April 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RobertS60982
Honolulu, HI32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 • Family
We have been out with One Ocean Diving several times before and have always had a great time. We saw their Instagram posts about re-opening after the COVID-19 temporary closure, and since it had been awhile since our last outing decided to book a tour. We were not disappointed. Like I said we have always had a great time but this was an amazing experience with about 50 sharks (Galapagos and Sandbar sharks) in the water with us and the sharks were a little more curious and came up higher in the water column. The close interaction was an unexpected treat. The bigger treat was being on the boat with Ocean Ramsey and Juan Oliphant, the husband & wife co-founders of One Ocean Diving. Enjoyed our time with them and the sharks. You can tell how much passion and love they have for what they do. Whether you are a visitor or a local, I would highly recommend this as something to do, you will learn a lot and also realize that the stereotype that Hollywood and the media give to sharks is so off base and inaccurate. Sharks are critical to the ocean environment and are not monsters but beautiful creatures that deserve respect.
Written June 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tourist00303469335
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
As locals and avid water goers our group of friends are either swimming, surfing or snorkeling here in Oahu. Not naive to the fact that we are are sharing the waters with sharks we always wanted to expand our knowledge and safely swim with sharks. We booked our charter with One Ocean for my wife's birthday. Prior to the day we all felt nervous with our perceived image of sharks stemming from "Jaws". Majority of the group rated their excitement level low compared to their nervous level of extremely high. While on the boat the crew educated us on the importance and misconceptions of the local shark population. By the time we arrived to our destination the group overall seemed to be less nervous, more excited, and surprising at ease. The crew made us feel safe, educated, and most importantly we had a new appreciation of sharks. On our way in from our experience we immediately wanted to book again so we could learn more and experience more with sharks. Thank you One Ocean for opening our eyes, making us feel safe, and influencing our new perception of sharks!
Written August 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

etv20
Savannah, GA1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Family
I highly recommend booking with One Ocean Diving if you are interested in learning about and swimming with sharks. The experience was amazing. Our captain Justin and diver Forrest were so knowledgeable about the sharks and the entire process. They made us all feel safe and have a great time. You will get to spend about an hour in the water with a professional diver who makes sure you are safe the entire time. You just show up and get to relax and enjoy the experience.
Written January 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Guide53484328929
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021
Amazing experience! It’s well
With it the crew is amazing they’re all very knowledgeable, very patient and very profesional. We had an amazing time swimming with the sharks as well as learning about them. We loved the fact that they show you a great time while at the same time educating people in the conservation efforts for this amazing animals. Highly recommend doing the trip. On a side note do recommend following all instructions sent out the day before make sure if you are prone to sea sickness to take some medication the night before and the day off you will be going out to open water where it get choppy. But even If you do get a little sea sick it is all still worth it. Trust me!
Written December 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Christina H
Pearl City, HI1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
I did this tour with two friends, one visiting from the Big Island and one from Colorado. I’m a local, born and raised in Hawai’i.

Upon arrival to our tour at 7am (we were a few minutes late so I can understand the crew being frustrated with our late arrival) I had a pretty unpleasant experience. I was wearing a shark facemask and one of the crew complimented how she thought it was cool when we got on board. I proceeded to tell her thank you and that my family business makes these masks, based on our marine fish flags which have been made in Hawaii since the 1960s. I told her that I had brought a few of our Shark Flags to possibly fly on the boat and that I had brought extra to give to the captain and crew. The girl then told me “shameless plug” and laughed, as if I was bragging about my family business. I was incredibly shocked, as being a local small-business owner, I understand the importance of helping other local businesses out. It was a super

I am not one to go on guided tours such as this one, when I spent copious amounts of time on the water already, and have had the opportunity to swim with sharks in the wild all over the world, not in guided tours, but free swimming and snorkelling on my own. I decided to give this tour a try and more importantly because my friends were visiting and staying with me, I wanted a fun adventure for all of us to do together.

During the tour, we were instructed to stay close to the boat and I understand the importance of this. However, when one of my friends started to drift past the ladder (the marker for how far you can be from the boat) the girl in the water said to her, “stop paying so much attention to your camera, and stay near the ladder”. I feel this was a rude statement. She could have simply said, “Hey, you’re drifting away, we don’t wanna lose you”, but instead treating my friend with an attitude. She is a land-based photographer so she is not as used to currents and swimming with a water housing. I understand the importance of safety and staying close to the boat, don’t get me wrong, but there is a courteous and kind way to treat paying customers, regardless if they are visitors or kama’aina.

I forgot to mention that we were not offered fins or snorkelling gear (maybe because we arrived 3 min past 7:00am) We helped ourselves to fins and a mask and snorkel.

I’m vert disappointed on the customer service, especially when the tour costs almost $200, which for a local, is not spare change!
Written April 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha, We’re so sorry to hear you had a less than exceptional experience on your dive, and we have spoken with our crew about your particular charter. We believe there may have been a misunderstanding with the “shameless plug” comment as it may have been another guest who you thought was crew. Both of our divers remembered you very well and they told us how cool they thought your masks and flags were. Tracy in particular had seen them before and Andy told us she was complimenting you on the masks. We absolutely want to uplift fellow small businesses so we apologize if there was a poorly made joke or misunderstood comment and we have spoken to staff to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Our crew remembers your friend with the camera, as she had drifted away from the boat and had to be told multiple times by the captain and divers to stay close to the boat. After she continued to drift off, our diver told your friend with a sense of urgency to stay closer to the boat, which may have been misconstrued as attitude. Safety is top priority and we need to ensure guests stay in the previously shown swim zone in order to be able to keep all the guests safe. Snorkel gear is out for guests to grab as they see fit but if you needed any kind of help we would have loved to help if you had let us know. While we feel the trip was upheld to our standards, we are refunding your spot as we understand it is not spare change especially for locals, and we hope you join us again in order to have a more positive experience, and please kindly let us know if you do book again. We welcome you to bring your masks again so we can take photos and post them to our social media to help support your local business. Mahalo Kai, Manager for One Ocean
Written May 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jazmin
Bavaro, Dominican Republic3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 • Friends
We went diving with this famous company thinking we will have a good service accompanied by knowledge. We went to the meeting point 30 mins before the activity as we were told and we waited 45 mins for 2 guests that were late, making the excursion shorter because after ours it was another excursion happening. The guide gave us a nice briefing. Once in the shark spot I was ready to enter in the water and the guide said from the water "first the people of the professional pictures" (we only paid a pack of pics and videos with go pro for an already excesive price), so they made me move when i was already on the ladder and the people who wanted the 'professional pictures' went first in the water, by the time they finished this pictures and let the others go in the water most of the sharks moved away, finally in the water I spent 15 to 20 minutes looking at the sharks and then the guide said to go back on the boat. It was overpriced, they mixed people who is completely no related to diving or any water activities with people who is already experienced, they gave more time to who paid even more for those professional pictures and after some minutes in the water we had to go out. After 2 days when we received our package of pictures and videos we paid on advance there was not a single video or picture with us on it, everything was blury and shaky, like the guide was not even looking what he was trying to shot.
Super bad experience, super bad customer service, to crowd of people and at the end we just got a "sorry" from part of the company. I will not recommend this.
Written October 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha, we never give less than 35 minutes of water time. That is a requirement/standard for all charters and we have buffer time between charters to make sure there is enough time in the water for all guests. We would love to speak with you over the phone or email when you have a chance to further understand your experience. Please give us a call at 1.808.649.0018 or email us at onoceandiving@gmail.com at your earliest convenience :) Mahalo
Written October 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JrCtravel
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
I had a great time snorkeling with One Ocean! The crew did a great job ensuring we dove in a safe spot (we had to move once due to the strong rip current) and put a lot of effort to make sure we we felt safe, comfortable and accommodated during our dives. They really brought home the importance of sharks and why we should join the effort to conserve them. This isn't a company that is just out to make a buck, they really care and it definitely shows! I would highly recommend this company to anyone and everyone!
Written August 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

stephaniemZ6862QK
Birmingham, AL1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020
Our group thoroughly enjoyed seeing about 40+ sharks and having the opportunity to swim near them! They (Juan and Ocean) did a great job of educating us on sharks, what to expect, etc prior to us diving - very important prior to entering the water, as we're entering their territory. Our friend group of 6 very much enjoyed our time and would 100% do it again!
Disclaimer: we went in the winter windy season (mid-end of November), so conditions were very windy and overcast, so if you're seasick prone, would recommend waiting til the calmer spring/summer.
The pro to going super early in the morning and when it's windy, is that more sea life is out and about - we saw about 30 some Galapagos sharks and close to 10 grey reef sharks (I think?).
100% would recommend!!
Written November 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,319

One Ocean Diving - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Haleiwa
Day Trips in Haleiwa
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars