North Shore Tour Guide
Surfing & Windsurfing • Fishing Charters & Tours • Hiking & Camping Tours • Stand Up Paddleboarding • Kayaking & Canoeing
Read more
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(2 reviews)
(3 reviews)
(6 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
65 reviews
Excellent
49
Very good
3
Average
4
Poor
4
Terrible
5

yeahmon0920
Stewartville, MN18 contributions
Mar 2020
We had a great time and most of us caught fish, even though catching fish were not guaranteed. First off, we took a wrong turn, and called our guide right away, Kyler, and he was very nice about it. We were about 30 minutes late, but he wasn't concerned. He gave us simple instructions about casting and baited our pole and took the fish off. He would run from person to person helping in anyway he could. The only bummer was it rained, and poured at times, and that might've been the reason why he told us "Last cast", about 30 minutes early. We were all soaking wet anyway, but it was just starting to let up and we were still having fun. I would still recommend this excursion, we all had fun!
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kathy76
Boise, ID15 contributions
Apr 2021
NS bike tour was beautiful and fun. Our tour guide was amazing and had home made granola bars for us. Bikes could be a little better but it was still lots of fun.
Written April 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

terriccha46
Gasquet, CA176 contributions
Feb 2020
My hubby said best excursion we did on vacation and so relaxing. I thought is was exciting but maybe it was cause I caught so many cool fish that day. See pictures. Anyway Kyler is thorough, patient and knowledgeable. Takes the work out of the experience by baiting your hook and releaseing the fish (some have spines). Fun 2 hours. Well organized and Kyler is the most patient teacher for novice to experienced. This is not big fish fishing but the number of species and colors are amazing and an experience themselves. Kyler also takes pictures for you and doesn’t try to soak you for more money just emails them or takes them on your camera for you. Nice.
Written February 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Misha
3 contributions
Jun 2021
We booked with GoOahu and our experience was not as we expected. We did not have a tour guide and had the self-guided tour which we did not feel was clear before we got there. Once we arrived, we felt the experience and company were simply unprofessional. The man who had to give us the bikes was shirtless and smoking something and pulled out our bikes from a van. These bikes were not up to the quality and were just difficult to ride. They were all trashy and had tons of issues with the brakes as well. The tandem bikes were almost impossible to ride. Since we did not pay directly and went through GoOahu, we were not so devastated about the money lost but we did feel that it was a waste of our time. If you are booking directly without the voucher, I do not feel this was worth $70 a person.
Written June 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Steve T
Calgary, Canada76 contributions
Jan 2020
Received a text message less than an hour before our guided bike tour was due to start, apparently due to inclement weather. We were already half way to the meeting point from our accommodation so continued and arrived to beautiful sunshine and 100's of people on the beach and swimming.

Contacted the North Tour operator and the lady commented that she was unaware of the weather as she lived in San Diego! She did however offer to contact the guide, which she did. He / she then sent a text saying with numerous excuses for not doing the tour, basically he/she obviously really did not want to do it.

The thing is, to re-book another tour at a later date costs $30 even though we did not cancel and it was the operator that cancelled the tour! In addition this was part of a busy week of tours and activities so there was no room in our schedule to re-book.

We decided to spend the remaining time of our scheduled tour on the beach to save a wasted journey and the weather was beautiful for the duration of our stay.

In all honesty, there is a bike rental right off the beach so would be best to simply rent a bike and do the trail yourself and not bother with North Shore Tour Guide.
Written January 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Aloha! Thank you for your feedback. We had canceled the hiking tour because of the bad weather that was happening actually all day and you had even mentioned that it had been very bad also just right before the hiking tour. I am in San Diego on business for expanding our business over there, never said I lived here in San Diego. Many of our clients and friends had contacted us regarding the weather in north shore, and we even canceled our earlier tours due to the weather so we had to make a decision to cancel based off of that given info ration. We cannot predict that the weather will change at any minute and made a decision to cancel because of how it had been the majority of the day and to save a trip for our guests. You had decided to show up even after we had canceled and surprisingly the weather happened to clear right when you had gotten there. In that circumstance, our guide had already been busy and I contacted him to come back and do the biking tour which after canceling on him, was great that he said he would come back. He gathered all of the bikes for tour group and met up at the place and even after all of that, you canceled on us. We accommodated you’re group very well considering and it was unfortunate y’all decided not to continue with the tour even after the guide did show up for you after all this trouble. I am not sure where you heard that rescheduling to another date and time was $30, but we would have been able to reschedule you. Mahalo again. And have a great rest of your trip.
Written January 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cat N
Midland, TX2 contributions
May 2022 • Friends
My friend and I rented snorkel equipment from North Shore Tour Guide. They provided clear instructions on picking up the gear, and I appreciated the location recommendations they provided. However, one of the snorkel masks had a leak, which we didn’t figure out until we were snorkeling. It made snorkeling a little harder than I would’ve liked since one of us had to dump the water every few minutes or hold your nose to avoid getting water up your nose. Dropping off the snorkels was also an easy process. We snorkeled at Shark’s Cove and saw beautiful fish and several sea turtles! The mask having a leak was the one bummer of the experience.
Written May 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Philip C
2 contributions
Feb 2020
Kyler was a great guide. I had never been fishing before and he showed us the ropes. The fishing spot he chose was teeming with wildlife. In 2 hours, my partner and I caught 6 fish, most of which were different. Kyler also caught the hawaii state fish and showed it to us before tossing it back. Great experience, had a lot of fun and would do again.
Written February 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
alhar121
Thank you so much! So glad you had a great time!
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kamikams
2 contributions
Jan 2020
My husband and I did the North Shore Intermediate Hike with Chris in mid-January. We didn't know what to expect the hike to be like so we were surprised when Chris told us we were hiking to the top of the mountain that was standing before us! The hike up and down were super easy, switchbacks through the trees on the side of the mountain. Chris chatted with us the entire time, sharing info about the local culture, history, other activities to do, and places to eat. He was very friendly and a great tour and hiking guide! He made sure that we took multiple breaks for water, to catch our breath, point out amazing views, and to take photos of us along the way. I found the tour through Go Oahu Card and I'm so glad I did! Spending 2 hours with Chris hiking to the top of that mountain was one of the highlights of our trip.
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
alhar121
Thank you so much! So glad you had a great time with Chris!
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sharon S
Lennox Head, NSW11 contributions
Nov 2019
We had a great experience with Chris heading up to this awesome mountain.

Chris had so much information to give us and was a pleasure to be in accompany with.

Thanks again!! You are awesome!
Written November 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

303kristae
10 contributions
Oct 2019
What a fun hike with beautiful views of the entire North Shore! We purchased the Go Oahu Card and booking for the hike was easily done through text messages and finalized online. Reminder texts were also convenient and helpful. Our tour guide, Chris, was great! We were running a couple minutes late due to a downed power line and he answered our phone call and was accommodating. He was friendly and chatted with us throughout the hike. He also took photos of our group which was a nice bonus. He knows the trail and walks ahead to remove hazards. The intermediate hike was just right for our active family. It was a great experience and I highly recommend.
Written October 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 64

North Shore Tour Guide (Haleiwa) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go