Mendes Ranch
Mendes Ranch
4.5
About
The "Morning Oceanfront Trail Ride" begins at the Mendes Ranch Corral and will take you down the edge of the scenic valley to the coastline where you will have an opportunity to view the magnificent waters of the Pacific Ocean before heading back up to the corral. At the coastline, our trail guides will take photos of you with the majestic seascape in the background. RIDE LENGTH: 1.5 hours CHECK-IN: 8:45 am (Departs at 9:00 am) We take the safety of our riders and horses very seriously and will therefore strictly enforce our weight limit of 230#. Due to our terrain of going up & down the mountain, if the horse slips, we face serious injury to both. If you show up on sight with questionable weight, we will take you to the scale. No refund will be available if you are denied as we are booked to capacity and could have sold your space. Please respect our animals, be honest, and we look forward to meeting you at the ranch! * Closed toe shoes are required for this ride *
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Mendes Ranch and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
475 reviews
Excellent
388
Very good
49
Average
17
Poor
10
Terrible
11

Richard Anthony
Los Angeles, CA30 contributions
Aug 2022 • Couples
I really wanted to visit to recommend this location but the communication on their end was poor. We had booked a trip with on a Friday afternoon. The previous day was heavy showers and assumed that our reservation would be rescheduled or canceled due to the weather. We got charged full price but luckily booked with our credit card company. Please aware of their non flexible policies
Written September 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teri A
Aloha I'm really sorry to hear you are unhappy with us, but I don't fully understand your situation. I do not show a Rain Out day around the time of your review, which would have resulted in us refunding all riders. What does stand out is your statement that you 'assumed' reschedule or cancel, meaning you did not bother to reach out to resolve or question this ride. Clearly the ride you were booked for did go out, I assume you were marked as a No Show and charged in full per the terms of our cancellation policy. Lesson to be learned here folks; don't book an activity for a Friday and if it rains on Thursday you no show and expect to be refunded, if we operated this way we would be out of business. Give us a call, we work well with everyone, as evidenced by our high ratings. See ya at the ranch!!
Written October 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ktbmas
San Diego, CA47 contributions
We just spent a wonderful week in Maui with one horrible experience at Mendes Ranch. We never step foot on the ranch, and never will due to the poor business practices and rudeness of the owner. In a nutshell, one family member could not attend a scheduled group ride. We were told on the phone weeks before that a charge would not be applied until riders showed up. We were not given a confirmation number or told their cancellation policy (which apparently is 24 hours notice). What turns out to be, in my opinion, a misunderstanding on the part of the employee who took the reservation and failed to give communicate the policy , should have been dealt with differently. We were charged a full price ride, plus $20 for a lunch...completely unfair and stupid on their part. The least they could have done was charge for a partial fee..and never charge for the lunch, that was ridiculous! They just lost any future business from our family and friends who live in Maui. We travel there often and will stick with other horseback riding companies. It is a shame that $120 is going to cost them so much more in the long run. The other family members who did go enjoyed their ride but it left a black cloud over everyone's day...a little customer service goes a long way.
Written February 20, 2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

demccrae
Oregon2 contributions
Just returned from our trip to Hawaii. We took a ride at the Mendes Ranch. The staff was lively and friendly and the views were great. I am an intermediate/advanced rider and was given an "advanced rider horse". The horse reacted well until we came to a hill which we were free to run up. The guide instructed us to tighten up on the reins because the horses knew they could run as soon as we rounded the corner. My horse took off fast, and unfortunately I didn't take command soon enough the the horse got away from me. He passed the horse ahead of me, sideswiping it and then ran into the back of the guide's horse. I was knocked off, onto the path of the other oncoming horses. My husband who was behind me tried to pull his horse back, but it slowed as it went over me, stomping on my left leg and my left hand, creating a large gash in my hand. At this point, I don't find fault with anyone but myself. However, it immediately became apparent to me that the guides were not medically trained and had no medical supplies wih them. I ended up wrapping up my bleeding hand with my own dirty shirt. It took about 30-40 minutes for their pickup to arrive. I returned to their office and they gave me directions to the ER. They did ask if I wanted and ambulance and I declined. I want others to be aware that unfortunate things can happen - but the Ranch really should have medical provisions on hand on all rides.
Written February 24, 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Crazynello01
Chicago, IL414 contributions
Jan 2012 • Business
I will preface this with the fact that I have been riding for 20 consecutive years, currently ride 2 horses 3+ days a week including 1 ride under training, have competed, used to teach English riding lessons.

No doubt, the views you see during this ride and from the ranch are lovely. You explore both the hilly areas as well as down near the water. The coast location is wonderful.

Helmets are optional, but in my opinion no matter what your experience level is you should ALWAYS wear a helmet and I feel this should be enforced. It is incorrect to think that just because you are mainly walking means that you are safe. A man on our trip slipped off sideways during a WALKING portion and landed on rocks. Luckily he landed shoulder first, but had his head hit ground he could have hurt his head. Accidents happen at any speed. Given the type of riding offered and especially the rocky terrain WEAR A HELMET!

Please please please be truthful about your experience level. Gallops are done on rocky hilly inclines, not straight-a-ways. If you are not experienced, do not try to be a hero. These horses will go go go, and if you do not have knowledge of riding, you may face being off off off. Despite being paired to the horse based on experience, the guides still asked if anyone wanted to gallop. If you had no experience, this was offered to you which is not right. These are 1100lb animals.

I was unimpressed with the presentation of the horses and tack. The horses did not appear to be even slightly groomed and some had a case of 'rain rot' on their hair. The saddes did not fit all the horses properly either, this was visible as there was too much gap between the saddle pad, back of the saddle, and the horse. Many saddle were also slipping off to one slide due to improper fitting.

The terrain is very rocky, and I do not believe the horses foot care were tended too considering this. The trail was littered with shoes, and the hoofs had cracks or small chunks missing. A horse in my group was visibly loosing its shoe, it was flopping off at a walk, yet the trail guide did not care and still allowed this rider to gallop uphill. That is very negligent and dangerous to the horses hoof health and safety to the rider (if the shoe had come off during the ride).

I am not big on trail rides given my weekly riding schedule, but I have done many and this definitely does not rank high. I think the horses needed better care given the footing and greater safety enforced to protect the rider.
Written January 19, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Redman358
Myrtle Beach, SC8 contributions
My wife and I just returned from our first Hawaiian vacation. We did several excursions while we visited several of the islands. Based on other trip advisor reviews we decided on the Mendes Ranch for a horseback ride. Bad Mistake. First, we were told that we would make two stops where we could get off of the horses for a break and take in the scenery. The first stop was at the top of a mountain with a beautiful view of a waterfall. We were not allowed to dismount and had about 30 seconds to view the waterfall before we headed down the mountain on a very dusty path. The second "stop" was at the base of the mountain close to the ocean. Again, we were not allowed to get off of our horses. Our guide was Holly, the niece of the owner. She was no guide. She was texting on her cell phone the entire time we were riding. There was no conversation or friendly information about the ride or the island which was customary with guides on our other excursions. The only time we heard anything friendly from Holly was at the end of the ride right before the big hit for a tip. I don't know anything about any other ranches but I would stay away from Mendes Ranch.
Written August 24, 2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

nightlifemaui
maui11 contributions
the guide was rude, the horses all skinny and overworked. what a joke for $120!!!
Written June 9, 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

countrylifedogs
Winnipeg, Canada52 contributions
Feb 2012 • Couples
Their horses are not properly trained. They see open space and they just "Bolt" and no regard for commands. I was sideswiped by a runaway horse and thrown. Very badly injured and they did nothing except tell me to get back on the horse so as not to ruin the ride for everyone else. I could have been killed, badly bruised with an injured back for over a month after that. Do not ride unless you are a professional with wild horses.
Written August 6, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ashlysal3
Okotoks, Canada1 contribution
Aug 2011 • Friends
My friend and I booked the afternoon ride for a Wednesday afternoon hoping to fulfil our dream of a beautiful afternoon horseback riding. On Tuesday we took the 2 mile hike to the 7 pools and on the way back my friend sprained her ankle. We were hoping that it would be ok in the morning but the swelling just kept getting worse. We called at 8 am to cancel the ride but were told that they couldn't give us our money back. They came up with all kinds of excuses as to why they wouldn't refund the money. We even offered to drive up there to show them her ankle! They told us the only way they could refund us was if they rebooked our spots so my friend called at 10:30 am to see if they had any openings and they said they were booked for the afternoon. So apparently they rebooked our spots. When we called earlier in the evening the girl on the phone tried to tell us that they didn't rebook the spots, they were holding them in case we showed up. Why would we show up when we cancelled because of an injury? Just another excuse not to give a refund. So they ended up making a lot of extra money this afternoon. Good for them I guess. So my advice is to do a lot of research if you're trying to make your Maui dreams come true.
Written August 9, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Linda S
7 contributions
Jul 2019 • Family
When I booked this ride I was really excited. As a long time rider I was looking forward to riding next to the beautiful water. When we arrived we had to stand around a while for them to be ready. They did offer drinks and water. Once they were ready, they separated you into groups based on your experience, advanced, intermediate and beginner. I would have been the only advanced rider so I stayed with my family and did intermediate. I was just looking for a nice scenic trail ride. They assigned horses based on your size and riding experience. However, they gave my son a small horse and he is 6 feet tall while giving bigger horses to smaller riders. I was initially happy with my horse.

Once we headed out on the trails, they were very steep and the horses were sliding making it a bit dangerous for the horses. None of them had much energy which I guess is good when beginners are riding. My sons horse would barely go forward. After we made it to the first scenic overlook and had pictures taken, we passed a horse grazing whose hooves were curled up and could barely walk. I immediately asked about this and was told I needed to speak with someone else. As we headed back towards the barn, you were allowed to run your horse up a hill. I opted not to do this but asked if we could trot. Was told yes so I trotted my horse about 10 steps. After that, she was visibly lame. Once back at the barn I told my guide that she was lame and he pointed to her feet and said once her foot was past the shoe she needed her feet done and would be lame. Ok, I know this is not correct but wasn’t going to argue with him. I also asked about the horse with the curled up feet and was told he couldn’t pick them up. Once again, not true. These horses work 6 out of 7 days 2 rides a day. That isn’t much for a young healthy horse. These horses just appeared to be miserable and not cared for. They were in good weight and not skinny but were being pushed by guys wearing spurs. I’m not sure I would promote this treatment of the horses. Non horse people will not know the difference but horse owners will. I left sick for these animals.
Written July 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

vpomalley
Summit, NJ7 contributions
Mar 2018 • Family
My children and I (who are riders) recently did this trail ride and I was incredibly disappointed. It is not a relaxing ride AT ALL...the horses are either walking gingerly down very steep terrain with slippery rocks/asphalt patches (this was actually very scary as our horses kept slipping) or they were huffing and puffing while struggling to get back up the hills. Almost none of the trail path was level where you could relax and look around (or even trot/canter). The only cantering option was uphill and we felt badly making the horses do that--they looked very neglected and tired. The only part of the ride that would make it worth it was the scenic lookout spots (where the guides take photos of you). It was beautiful to look over the ocean...but then off we went again up or down slippery hills!! And our guide kept whipping his horse and kicking him with his spurs--totally unnecessary on that terrain. I found the whole thing very stressful and depressing. Also, we were not finished with our (1 1/2 hr) 9am ride until 11:30 because we didn't get on the horses until almost 10am. I would NOT recommend. I had tried to get a booking at Pi'iholo Ranch because it looked like more relaxing, open cattle range riding, but they were booked up.
Written April 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 464
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Mendes Ranch - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mendes Ranch



Mendes Ranch Information

Excellent Reviews

287

Very Good Reviews

44

Mendes Ranch Photos

269