Valley Isle Excursions
Valley Isle Excursions
4.5
Cultural ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursEco ToursSightseeing ToursBus Tours
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
Explore the island with authentic, local Maui tour guides provided by Valley Isle Excursions. Take a journey on and explore the road to Hāna, Haleakalā National Park, and so much more. See the sunrise from the summit of Haleakalā or enjoy the cool mist generated by crashing waves on a black sand beach. It's all yours to enjoy and we will take you there safely in comfort and style. Tours include hotel pickup and meals. Our custom 12 & 24 passenger cruisers have elevated seats and oversized windows that give the best view while delivering the safest and most comfortable experience. All our tours are culturally focused creating an authentic experience that you desire on your Hawaiian vacation.
Wailuku, Hawaii

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Valley Isle Excursions
Travelers talk about
(1,000 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,410 reviews
Excellent
2,009
Very good
241
Average
83
Poor
43
Terrible
34

Michael D
Mississauga, Canada60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
All day tour on road to see many breath taking and historical sites best not driven by yourself.

Ride in a van that holds 12, 11 on our tour, in comfortable seats with tall viewing windows for all.

Guide was, Travis aka Ikaika whom grew up in the Hana area and was an excellent driver, entertainer and friend too all by the end of the tour.

Great local knowledge of entire tour route and made many scheduled stops and special photo ops accompanied with fun and knowledgeable commentary.

After early morning pick up at our condo we had a light continental breakfast and chance to meet and chat with fellow travellers on our tour.
Lunch was food a plenty under a comfortable covered area and consisted of fresh salads, buns and a delicious spiced shredded meat.

Travis made the trip fly by by involving everyone in well timed involved everyone in well timed conversation as we all learned about where each other - where everyone was from, what we did for work or in retirement, where we liked to travel and if there was anything in particular they came to see.

One of our favourite stops was a refreshing dip in a pool at the base of a waterfall. Followed by a stop for some vanilla macadamia nut ice cream and bought some locally baked banana bread. Some folks 😉finished their’s before the trip ended, it was yummmmmmy.

If you take this trip with Travis be sure to ask him to sing a song with his Yuke fo you.

Using a locally owned company get’s you a better more personal experience from administration to tour guide.

Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for the great detailed review! Travis is one of the many Local amazing guides we have, Travis Has a love for the road to Hana and is very passionate about sharing his native culture history and his Aloha (love) with everyone. We are so blessed for have Travis “Ikaika” as well as all the other driver/guides. So grateful for you joining us as well as the Valley Isle Excursions Ohana. Malama Pono, Jimmy
Written March 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Heather L
Minneapolis, MN26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022
So glad we did this with Valley Isle. We were picked up early and made our way up. The vehicle was comfortable, and the driver was very friendly and informational. Everything was taken care of for us as part of the tour as far as getting into the park. We got there in plenty of time to get a great spot and await the sunrise. They had insulated ponchos which were hugely appreciated! It’s cold up there! The sunrise for us was beautiful that day. On the way down the driver discussed some history and particulars of the park—and we ended the morning with a delicious breakfast at Cafe O’Lei. We could have tried to wrangle reservations and driven up ourselves (in the dark) but it was great to be able to trust someone else with the drive and not have to worry. So glad we did this, it was a real highlight of our trip.
Written August 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha heatherIN2683TL, Thank you for your review. It warms our hearts to know we are recognized as the highlight of your visit. The ponchos are always a customer favorite! As well as the sit back and relaxing drive, with our friendly and informative guides. To be able to help others see and learn about the Native Hawaiian land is our top priority, and we are pleased to hear our guides and company have done just that for you. Mahalo Nui!
Written August 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KSA320
Gainesville, VA91 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Family
Your trip to visit the Haleakalā Summit at sunrise was arrangers with them from our hotel concierge. Certainly it was a worth full trip. They picked us up at 2:45 from our hotel and drove us in a small bus that accommodated 12-14. People to the summit and gave us panchos to wear while standing in cold waiting for the sunrise. After that, we were scheduled for a plated breakfast at Coconut Grove, followed by drop off to our hotels. They are professional , punctual and I would highly recommend them.
Written January 18, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha KSA320, Thank you for visiting Maui and touring with us! Glad you enjoyed your sunrise experience! Mahalo nui, Stacy
Written January 20, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

joe z
Florham Park, NJ97 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Couples
The decision to start the tour should be based on the weather conditions. I am aware of another tour company which did cancel prior to going. It was clear before starting that the weather was poor. This tour just took the money
The weather was so bad even the driver knew the ranger was going to ask the bus to move. I did not see any other tour companies that day, only private cars. Breakfast was ok but added time to get there. The mac pancakes are just mac nuts added on top not in the batter.
Written March 14, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha, Yes, unfortunately we've had some inconsistent weather in the month of March. We always check the weather reports and hope that the ever changing weather at the Haleakala Summit will change in our favor. We do understand that for many of our guests, this may be their one and only opportunity to experience this once in a life time sunrise. We deeply apologize that the tour did not live up to your expectations.
Written March 16, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris C
Moncton, Canada10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
Prompt pick up by tour guide Travis. A very detailed, organized and seasoned guide that if you lucky enough to get him your day will be fun filled and full.
Travis is a local to Hana knowing much of the history and locals including many food / shopping locations included within the trip agenda.

Travis' excellent driving skills navigated the route and was always mindful of safety for all his charges. Every location comes with its dos and don'ts ... much appreciated with no negative issues with the tour.

Warning: Travis fully engages with all members of the tour throughout the drive (this keeps folks engaged and not thinking of the very twisted road) ... if you are looking for a quite drive with little interaction this is NOT the tour for you.
Written May 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Valley Isle Excursions. We hear that Travis does indeed work very hard to keep his guests engaged throughout the tour! We are glad to hear you enjoyed it. Hope you get to tour with us again soon!
Written June 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shawn S
Seattle, WA3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
What a great time we had on our trip down the Hana highway! We were so glad to be able to sit back and have someone else do the driving. Our tour guide and driver was Mark who was a warm and welcoming guide. Definitely exhibited the Aloha spirit! We felt safe in his capable hands on the narrow, windy, and sometimes sketchy road. He was full of stories and Hawaiian culture and history which really made the trip come alive. It was a very long day of driving, but we felt like we had enough time to enjoy all the stops we made.

A few recommendations to make the trip enjoyable- wear water shoes with straps (like Teva or Chacos) as there are a lot of rocks and uneven ground on the beaches, rivers, and paths along the way. Also bring a phone charger as there are ports in the van you’ll want your battery charged all day for pics and videos. Otherwise a sweater for the air conditioned van and a bathing suit and towel were a must. Bring a snack for the afternoon as you might not get time to stop anywhere. Also remember cash for tips for your driver and snacks and trinkets at the different stops. We were very happy with our experience. No complaints at all!
Written May 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Afternoon Shawn, Thank you for choosing Valley Isle Excursions for your Road to Hana tour and taking the time to write such a wonderful review! Being able to sit back and relax while someone like Mark drives you, is the best way to experience Hana. Mark is definitely full of the Aloha Spirt! I have been on tour with Mark myself and I had a great time. His stories are amazing as was well. I will pass along your kind words to Mark. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Autumn Crisp Director of Sales
Written June 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

446michaeljohnson
Dallas, TX20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Couples
First Class service and experience! We thoroughly enjoyed our “Sunrise on Haleakala “ from the point we were picked up from our lobby in Kaanapali to being dropped of we were impressed with the professionalism and courtesy of all of Valley Isles staff! The opportunity to see the top of Haleakala was amazing. Breakfast at the Plantation was amazing and encouraged us to return to this beautiful setting. I would definitely recommend “ Valley Isle “ to anyone wanting to see the sunrise , and could only guess that all of their other tours are equally outstanding.
Written October 10, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

SteveNScottsdale
Scottsdale, AZ324 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
This is a good way to see the Road to Hana, you can just sit back and enjoy the beautiful views. It is about 11 hours but well worth it.
The rain forrest is impressive. The only reason I didn't give it "Excellent," is that I was a little disappointed in the professionalism of the driver. Too much talk that wasn't about the tour, singing to some music I didn't care for, a little crude.
Written May 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing Valley Isle Excursions for your Road to Hana tour and taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the rainforest and the beautiful view along the way. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your tour guide. Our guides go through extensive training on driving and history of the Island as well as a training course on professionalism. If you have the time please contact our office at 808-871-5224 or email me at sales@tourmaui.com. I would like the name of the driver so we can speak with him to help address these issues. Thank you, Autumn Director of Sales
Written May 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bob B
Brackendale, Canada80 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
For our visit to Maui we rented a car, which is pretty much needed to explore the island. The ‘road to Hana’ was one of the trips we wanted to do. However, as we explored this adventure (the nature of the drive and not knowing where to stop and what to see), we felt we’d get more out of the experience by taking a guided tour, which we did with Valley Isle Excursions. For us it was the right decision.
Our excursion was the full circle tour, which we wouldn’t have done with our rental car. It was a workout drive and tour. But what a great Maui experience!
David, our guide and driver, was excellent. We benefitted from his love, passion and in-depth knowledge of the Hana area every mile of the circle tour. Not only did we stop at many of the ‘must see’ spots, we learned of the history and workings of these lands and more, especially travelling ‘the back side’ of the Hana road. David brought all of it to life!
We certainly wouldn’t have had this in-depth an experience driving on our own. And, the day of our tour it was raining. While this meant many waterfalls appeared for great (wet) viewing, it also meant for a challenging drive, which David handled with confidence.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Olivia K
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Couples
Absolutely gorgeous and worth it. Wear your best warm clothes, we were out there for and hour and a half before sunrise and it was freezing. Breakfast was a little disappointing, we were sat down pretty early, but were the last to be given our food and had maybe 15 minutes to eat even though we wanted to relax.
Written April 23, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience. I will pass on your dining feedback to our partner vendor. Im sure they can be more attentive to which guests are first to arrive and try to ensure they get served first. Glad the rest of the tour went well. Mahalo for choosing VIE. Malama Pono.
Written April 30, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,399

Valley Isle Excursions - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Wailuku
Day Trips in WailukuSpas & Wellness in WailukuZoos & Aquariums in WailukuTheater & Concerts in WailukuAmusement Parks in Wailuku
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars