We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maui Mountain Cruisers

#11 of 14 Tours in Paia
Paia, HI, USA
More
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Maui Mountain Cruisers
Overview
The massive gray cone of the Haleakala volcano looms over the Hawaiian island of Maui. This tour brings you to the mountain’s peak to cycle down its slopes. The tour is self-guided, so you’ll take the 26-mile trip at your own pace. Along the way, you’ll pass Haleakala Ranch, Kula, and Makawao, and finish at the tour office in Paia.
307Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 39
  • 23
  • 25
  • 58
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
christinFrisco_TX wrote a review May 2021
Frisco, TX47 contributions9 helpful votes
I definitely enjoyed the self guided tour much better. We had done the guided one before and it was frustrating to go so slow. This was very fun and we were blessed with great weather. We did the morning tour, ate lunch in Paia, saw resting turtles on the beach in Paia and then drove up to tour Haleakala. Should have done some shopping too so we could have seen sunset, but it was still fun. My family all loved the bike down the volcano!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheryl F, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review. We hope you had a fun Maui vacation and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Read more
Joe C wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
John was our guide . I am beyond disappointed in this company. This man talked about the Baldwin’s and his own brother being 7 feet tall rather then gaging the feel of the riders and their experience levels. He completely abandoned us to catch a flight. If he just cancelled due to an unforeseen emergency I would of never wrote this. When my husband asked if there was someone we could call in case of an emergency he said no!!!!!! The bikes were run down ... our brakes stopped working also. Thank God we didn’t have a flat tire or serious accident. I watched other self- guided company’s go by with a van that trailed behind to keep an eye on its group. What a waste of money.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheryl F, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded 2 weeks ago
We're so sorry that you were disappointed. We hope that you had a fun Maui Vacation!
Read more
kyliemantor wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Great driver, made it fun for everyone!! Guide told us a lot of history on the way up and made it an easy and safe experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheryl F, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Mahalo for your great review! We hope that you had a fun Maui vacation. Hope you can visit us again soon!
Read more
Heather C wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
The ride itself was great! I would do it again. I would not however choose this same company (Maui Mountain Cruisers). Our driver was super nice and seemed to know what he was taking about, but the van was super dirty and run down. The bikes were very sketchy. Some had loose handle bars etc. Our brakes were super squeaky so we made a lot of noise. The helmets were sturdy but kind of gross. I would have also chosen a company that got us into the state park at the top had I realized that was an option.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheryl F, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Mahalo for your review. We apologize that you were disappointed with the tour. We do hope that you had a fun Maui vacation!
Read more
Daves_Maui_Trip wrote a review Feb 2021
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
Mike was an excellent guide for the trip. He also goes the extra mile by following you down the mountain to insure you take the correct turns to get back to the shop. If you've done the sunrise tour already and just was to enjoy the ride down the mountain this is a great choice, and an affordable one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456