We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road

Maui Mountain Cruisers

#10 of 12 Tours in Paia
Paia, HI, USA
More
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Maui Mountain Cruisers
Overview
The massive gray cone of the Haleakala volcano looms over the Hawaiian island of Maui. This tour brings you to the mountain’s peak to cycle down its slopes. The tour is self-guided, so you’ll take the 26-mile trip at your own pace. Along the way, you’ll pass Haleakala Ranch, Kula, and Makawao, and finish at the tour office in Paia.
302Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 159
  • 39
  • 22
  • 25
  • 57
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My reservations for this event were cancelled because of inclement weather. This company has not refunded my money after numerous emails and phone calls. What a scam!!! I would never recommend this company to anyone!!!
Read more
Response from Cheryl F, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Hello this is Shannon with Maui Mountain Cruisers if you could please contact me at 8089897919 i will be more than happy to assist you in this matter. I understand that waiting on money to be returned, a few days can seem like a long time, but there is a process that has to be taken for a refund to be processed. As with even the simplest of refunds its usually anywhere from three to five days. When there are multiple parties involved the process takes longer. I am sorry we could not return the money instantly but thats not possible. I wish i could fix the ill feelings you have towards our establishment but please understand we are working to provide you with the best service possible. Feel free to reach me at number provided or cruiserjonmmc@gmail.com.
Read more
We rode this with a large group of friends and here are a few things that were good and bad: 1. The time was scheduled for 4:00 AM which was INSANELY early for us, but I was able to convince the group it would be worth it. The tour ended up changing the time the night before to
Read more
Response from Cheryl F, Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Thank you for your review! Mahalo
Read more
Great driver/guide up. Very knowledgeable. Highly recommend NOT having a guide down. The 26 miles goes fast. You’ll be done by 10:30. They need to update the bikes. Bad shape. And the helmets stink soooooo bad!!
Read more
From their website: Maui Mountain Cruisers is now A highlight for most visitors to Maui—if not all of Hawaii—is experiencing a guided bike tour down Maui’s active volcano – Haleakala. Guests can enjoy this experience in an active way. Bike 26 miles (42 km) from the 6,500′ all
Read more
Everything they said was a lie. We were suppose to see the sunrise and the driver told us once we were already at the top that the sun is behind us and we wouldn’t be able to see it. They also didn’t mention that we couldn’t go all the way to the top of the mountain because they
Read more
Response from MauiMountainCruisers, General Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers
Responded Dec 27, 2019
Aloha, I'm sorry you felt that way. We don't go to the top and we do not advertise that we do. There's been many changes on Haleakala due to overcrowding and now they limit how many people can go into the park for sunrise and cost about $100 more per person. I was up there with you all working another group and all I could here was your complaints and I'm sorry. The rest of the bicyclist were having a great time. The Jackets were clean because they are cleaned frequently. The gloves you were handed out were new. The bikes don't have gears because it's all downhill! AND it's not a white knuckle bike ride. We DO NOT encourage anyone to speed down the mountain as you don't want to get hurt on your Maui vacation. Mahalo
Read more
Previous