We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
All photos (200)
All photos (200)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“bamboo forest”(42 reviews)
“road to hana”(63 reviews)
“pipiwai trail”(20 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
75°
63°
Jun
75°
63°
Jul
76°
63°
Aug
Contact
678 Omaopio Rd, Kula, Maui, HI 96790-8840
More
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Seven Sacred Pools
from $218.75
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
from $500.00
More Info
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
115
76
31
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
115
76
31
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo forest road to hana pipiwai trail water level longer trail past hana great hike haleakala national park long drive mile hike hiking boots worth the effort view of the ocean parking lot narrow road entry fee gorgeous views
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately the Seven Sacred Pools was not what I was expecting. I guess I should have researched a little more. We were expecting to be able to swim in the pools but they were definitely not swimmable. The view of the ocean at this spot...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Kim G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

$25 entrance fee to walk down to 7 muddy pools, re-branded name by Maui's tourist industry. On the road to Hana there are so many more beautiful natural wonders to see then these, was very disappointed about the visit and wouldn't recommend anyone to go...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Joshua B
Reviewed May 20, 2019

The seven pools is a sacred location in traditional island culture, and you can understand why. You will find excellent views of the ocean, along with an outstanding collection of water pools and a waterfall. There is some hiking for those that like it, but...More

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank sam c
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

If you want to see views you only thought existed in the movies, this is the place to go. Not easy to get to but well worth the drive.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Tol C
Reviewed April 28, 2019

I've heard amazing things about swimming and cliff diving here, but now it's just a great hike. We left our hotel in Kana very early in the morning and had a great hike up to the waterfall at the top. Don't forget your bug repellant....More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JJMHH
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Last time we were on Maui, we took tour bus around the road to Hana. My favorite stop on that tour was this site, but we were so rushed we couldn't do the hike. This time, we skipped the tour and drove ourselves straight to...More

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank JohnS226
Reviewed April 3, 2019

In fairness we just went to the pools and didn't do the full hike so perhaps the hike would make this far better. With young kids though and a grandparent the hike was a bit too far. The pools were pretty underwhelming. When we went...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jason G
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

Right now water is murky and violent flowing , you can't hike down you can't swim . View above is nice but average. If you can hike for an hour up to waterfalls those are great, otherwise it is an average to good spot, like...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank ESTP990
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Another set of waterfalls that are much easier to see than many along the narrow road to Hana. There is a huge parking area, proper bathrooms, and an easy well maintained path takes you to the lower falls in 15 minutes. Unlike the others, this...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank LucyKate
Reviewed March 7, 2019

Waterfalls feed into pools extending from a cliff down to ocean level. Steep stairs lead down from the parking area to the ocean pool. It is possible to walk barefoot in the pools, keeping in mind there may be some crowds. This area was closed...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank marieaparsonsny
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 nearby hotels
Hale Ho'omana
37 reviews
3.64 miles away
Lumeria Maui
702 reviews
5.92 miles away
Kohea Kai Maui
127 reviews
8.28 miles away
Paia Inn
826 reviews
8.44 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,075 nearby restaurants
Kula Bistro
1,022 reviews
2.96 miles away
Serpico's Pizzeria and Restaurant
172 reviews
2.35 miles away
Kojima's Sushi Bar and Japanese Cuisine
50 reviews
2.34 miles away
Kula Lodge
1,466 reviews
2.40 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,280 nearby attractions
Skyline Eco-Adventures Zipline Tours
1,915 reviews
1.43 miles away
Shoreline Snuba
400 reviews
1.86 miles away
Pukalani Country Club
173 reviews
2.15 miles away
Ocean Vodka Organic Farm and Distillery
1,474 reviews
2.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hellominty
March 6, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DaveVee | Reviewed this property |
It’s is kind of paved (very broken) road and quite narrow/curvy. Like mentioned it is a national park so try to work it with a trip to Haleakalā Crater b/c the pass works with both parks but have to be used within 48hrs... More
1
Vote
casweetie02
September 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CCluv2roam | Reviewed this property |
Wished we had done that. Totally packed by the time we got to red sand beach with nowhere to park we ended up skipping it.
0
Votes
rball1515
April 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Hillary B | Reviewed this property |
Yes there are but you have to hike. They are not sacred.
0
Votes