We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters

Features Animals
5400 Makena Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6525
+1 808-879-7218
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Sunrise at Molokini crater

Great service, super helpful and nice crew, took us to several snorkeling places, provided a lot of... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Jaqueline L
via mobile
A trip to remember

We went on the Kai Kanani Deluxe Snorkel cruise to Molokini and Turtle Town. My wife and I were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Martin Z
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 1,336 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling. With two snorkel trips daily to both Molokini and Turtle Town, Whale Watching Tours (late December through April) and romantic Sunset Champagne Sail three days a week, Kai Kanani is sure to make your vacation very memorable. Snorkel equipment, instruction, and select food/drinks are included in all snorkel tours. We have marine naturalists on-board, so you can learn more about all of the fascinating underwater life you see! We even have GoPro4 cameras available for rent on-board so you can capture all of the amazing memories you make. Staying in Wailea? Kai Kanani offers free Mercedes shuttle service from select Wailea Resorts.
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“sunset cruise” (110 reviews)
“early morning” (135 reviews)
“turtle town” (276 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
5400 Makena Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6525

Similar Things to Do in Kihei

Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great service, super helpful and nice crew, took us to several snorkeling places, provided a lot of information and let us listen do live whale singing! Totally recommend.More

Thank Jaqueline L
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Aloha Jaqueline! Mahalo nui loa for the review and for coming out with us! The whales have arrived! I think your trip was the first Hydrophone use of the season, with many more to come. Our official Whale Watch trips begin December 15, this Friday!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went on the Kai Kanani Deluxe Snorkel cruise to Molokini and Turtle Town. My wife and I were looking forward to a Molokini snorkel for months and couldn’t be happier with how it went. The staff and the catamaran were fantastic. We were lucky...More

Thank Martin Z
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Martin! First, congratulations on your wedding and this new chapter in your life! It's always awesome to see newlyweds on boat enjoying that special time together. You mentioned that having only 18 on the boat felt like a private charter, which is true. You...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our son recommended this charter for us to go out to Molokini crater to snorkel! We were picked up in a courtesy van and our staff for the day was awesome and very knowledgeable!! We saw some beautiful fish at the crater and even better...More

Thank Lisa_A5171225
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Lisa! Awesome! Reviews like this are music to our ears. Please come out with us again the next time you're on Maui! And big mahalo nui loa to your son for the recommendation!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrible. Two hours of nothing. Never did get even close to Molokini for the sunset. Just cruised out about have way, put out sail and drifted back to shore. The food was terrible the little there was. The champagne and sunset was five minutes before...More

Thank Harold N
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Harold, We're truly sorry you didn't enjoy your experience sailing with us. You mention a "misrepresentation of service," which I would like to know more about. Please email me details: marketing@kaikanani.com. We always seek to make sure that our offerings are straight-forward and fully-deliverable....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I chose the 6:00 am tour as it started at first light when snorkelling is best. The company sent email confirmations and a link for google maps. The parking lot was well marked with a lighted sandwich board. We were offered coffee...More

Thank BarbGag
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha Barb, Thanks so much for coming out with us and for leaving a review here. Our entire trip is designed to be the best possible experience we can provide. And we're glad you were able to snorkel the back side of Molokini, which is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Scheduled the early morning trip for myself, and the boys (20yrs & 15yrs). I had done the trip once before with my daughter, a couple of yrs ago. Don’t be deterred by the early morning start; you’ll probably be the only boat in the crater,...More

Thank Anthony S
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha Anthony! Thank you for leaving a review here AND for mentioning the reef-safe sunscreen! This is very important to us: sunscreens that contain oxybenzone and a few other ingredients really do a lot of harm to the choral and fish, inhibiting their ability to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did the deluxe 4 hour snorkel tour to molokini crater and turtle town. The boat was clean, in excellent condition, and well equipped with snacks, supplies (including reef-safe sunscreen), equipment, and literature about he area. The crew was exceptional, taking care of our 8...More

Thank LauraD72
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Laura, Thank you so much for coming out with us. And thank you for caring for our reefs. Kai Kanani knows that it's a privilege to be out here, working in this environment, showing off the beauty of Molokini and Maui. Guests like you,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the early morning snorkeling excursion without need for sunscreen!! We saw many fish on the beautiful, healthy coral reef. In turtle town we saw 2 green sea turtles and more fish! The BIG surprise was hearing the whales calling!! It was absolutely magical!...More

Thank Lisa G
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Lisa, You heard the whales! Those are our first whales this season so that's a special morning for you and the other guests. Thank you so much for coming out with us and for leaving this review. Our Whale Watch trips start Dec. 15,...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This Molokini Deleux trip was the highlight of our trip to Maui! It was such a top quality experience from the expertise and attitude of the staff to the equipment and food. Leaving from the beach was convienent and allowed for such a short ride....More

Thank homer1999
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha homer1999! Mahalo nui loa for the review and the high praise! It is our privilege to show our guests a great day but we're especially happy when we get first-timers to Molokini because we get to watch that "wow" experience happen. We're so glad...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Smooth organistaion and well organised team that gave us a great experience. Snorkleling was amazing, breakfast was the perfect size and range for the early hour. Unforuntaley we had ropugh seas, but the team managed to give us the best possible experience. Really appreciated. My...More

Thank 971dannettel
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha! Thank you for the kind words. You used the word "smooth," which makes our day. We pride ourselves in the professionalism of our crew and making our guests' time worry-free, even in rough seas. The ocean can be a challenge, but our crew has...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Honolulu Cookie Company - The Shops at Wailea
200 reviews
.58 miles away
Matteo's Osteria
830 reviews
.22 miles away
Monkeypod Kitchen
4,630 reviews
.05 miles away
Pita Paradise
812 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wailea Beach
1,567 reviews
.67 miles away
The Shops at Wailea
477 reviews
.61 miles away
A Promise Made in Paradise
13 reviews
.66 miles away
Wailea Tennis Club
56 reviews
.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vincent B
April 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gatorqt | Reviewed this property |
We were there mid march and saw whales everywhere so I'd say a possibility
1
Vote
saramom095
March 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from madtaylor | Property representative |
HI Saramom095, The trips are quite different and both will be excellent for your whole family. My boys love them both for different reasons. The Express trip is a special experience in that we have the crater to ourselves... More
0
Votes