We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Travelers talk about
Improve This Listing

B&B Scuba
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
599Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 501
  • 52
  • 12
  • 9
  • 25
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
You meet very early with this group of divers, but you beat the crowds which is good. I didn't like meeting in the dark and not getting instructions on where to go to meet. We had good snacks between dives and they took good care of you.
Read more
Response from TommyLV33, Owner at B&B Scuba
Responded 1 week ago
We are glad you had a great time diving with us! We are stoked you enjoyed the snacks and amazing little sandwiches. As far as meeting in the dark like. The next time you come out you’ll see a much better lit up A-frame type sign. It has our name and logo in front of the truck with the B&B decals at the top of the boat ramp where we all sign in so it will be easier to spot for all people. Thank you for your review and comments. We want wait to see to see you again on our B&B Scuba boat. Greatly appreciated!
Read more
Booked a week in advance for 2 days of diving on Molokini as certified divers with B&B, as we had previous good dives with them when we were here a few years ago. Spoke with them on the phone, received a confirmation e-mail, ant thought we were set. When we got on island we were
Read more
Response from TommyLV33, Owner at B&B Scuba
Responded 1 week ago
As an owner/partner this is a tough read. First and foremost I personally apologize to you for this. This is inexcusable at the vary least. Our boat was absolutely down for some serious mechanical repairs. Our database hadn’t been managed correctly at the time of this incident. This has sense been rectified so nothing of this nature will ever happen again. You should have been notified. You should have been rebooked with a partner company. You should have been taken care of correctly. As there is nothing I can do about what’s been done and we take full responsibility. I would like to personally offer you is to come back out with us again and I promise you, if you give us that opportunity I will personally make sure you’re taken care of you. Feel free to contact me directly at Tommy@BBScuba.com. Management has been held accountable and changes have been made so this won’t happen again. Thank you for your review and input.
Read more
I came into Maui thinking I would try diving but after my first dive with Tommy, I was hooked. Tommy is a great instructor and he makes learning how to dive very easy and fun! I’m definitely coming back to dive with them. All the crew members are great and also make it very fun
Read more
Response from TommyLV33, Owner at B&B Scuba
Responded 1 week ago
We are so happy you enjoyed your time here on Maui and learning to dive with one of our awesome instructors. Tommy is an amazing instructor with a great deal of teaching experience. He absolutely makes learning to dive fun, you nailed that on the head. We hope you see you back very soon here on Maui to coming diving with B&B Scuba. Thank you for your great review.
Read more
Go anywhere else. It’s about as bad of an operation as I’ve seen. Disorganized, unsafe protocols, rude captain. Loud heavy metal music in the early morning, loud yelling by crew, luke warm coffee, crowded self-setup. Basically, you pay to get an uncomfortable ride to a dive site.
Read more
Response from TommyLV33, Owner at B&B Scuba
Responded Feb 20, 2020
We apologize that you feel your experience was negative. I will address your comments and add some details / explanations. Safety: First and foremost safety is our top priority hence the reason we didn’t dive the back-wall of Monokini per your request to not only one of our dive masters but also to 1 of 3 owners that were on the boat with you 1 such owner was leading your dives. The other 2 were sitting next to you and your wife the entire time. The weather conditions would not allow us in a safe manner to dive the back-wall. Back-wall of Molokini: You had stated that the 3rd party vendor had promised you we would dive your requested location. We at B&B I can’t speak for all other scuba companies on Maui. Do not promise or guarantee anything. It’s all weather permitting. Safety comes first and the captian makes those decisions and is always backed by ownership. We spoke to the vendor whom we have known for years. He stated that he would never and has never guaranteed any scuba company will do anything. It’s again, all weather / conditions permitting. Organized: You stated that things were disorganized. It wasn’t whatsoever and I’m not positive what or how you thought it was. I’m unaware of other dive boats you’ve been on. Everyone on our boat works together in a very organized manner at all times to effectively make everyone feel comfortable and make sure that everyone has an amazing time. At no point in time was anyone or anything disorganized. Captian: Our captian was not remotely rude to you. I was standing next to you when he obtained your gear after he helped you onto the boat after one of your dives. You had brought your own gear on the dives. He asked you three separate times if you wanted him to change your tank out. A lot of divers that have their own gear prefer to change their own tanks. You ignored him all three times. He placed your gear in a organized fashion in its assigned tank slot right next to your assigned seats. Again very organized. You then at the next dive site said (as I was next to you). “Do you guys change the tanks out”. The Captian said to you. Yes, I had asked you a few times but I didn’t get a response so I didn’t know if you wanted to or you wanted us to. Then he said he would take care of it. Nothing was rude about that at all. Yelling by the crew: No one was yelling at all to anyone. This is just a flat out false statement. Music: Yes we play music on the way to the dive sites and the way back. Customers enjoy it and you’re the only one that has ever mentioned that playing music was an issue. The music wasn’t loud, the back of the boat couldn’t even hear it. If you preferred the music to have been turned down, changed or off you had every opportunity to project that request. Comfort on the boat: This is a custom made dive boat specificity for diving. It’s extremely comfortable, plenty of room for everyone plenty of space for extra gear, tanks, equipment and storage. You could have moved from your assigned seat at any time if you didn’t like that specific location. You were placed there with your wife to stay organized with your tanks and gear but you could have relocated at any time. You seemed to have no issue navigating the boat whatsoever. This is a custom made dive boat not a yacht. Self setup: As previously stated some divers that bring their own gear prefer to set it up themselves. We are not self set up at all unless you request it. Everyone’s gear was set up by the crew unless otherwise requested. To sum everything up: You weren’t happy that the conditions wouldn’t allow us to dive the back-wall. We are not going to put anyone’s safety at risk nor take the chance of someone being hurt. The conditions were not optimal for that dive and our captian made that judgement call. We stand by that and him. We are a safety first dive shop. Nothing was disorganized. No one was yelling. Everyone was having fun. Music was playing. The boat is a very comfortable dive boat. No one was rude to you. Everyone was overly nice to you and your wife. My wife even offered and gave her some warm home made chicken broth because she was a little chilly. My wife even helped you with your gear getting it off the boat at the dock. If you have any concerns please feel free to call the shop and I would be happy to discuss them at any time to provide any more needed clarity. Thank you
Read more
From booking the trip at the dive shop to the dive masters and boat captian on the dive, everyone made us feel very comfortable and extreemly welcome. All rental rates were very affordable. I can't wait to go back
Read more
Response from TommyLV33, Owner at B&B Scuba
Responded Feb 21, 2020
We can’t wait to have you back! Thank you
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Maui
from $79.95
More Info
from $222.03
More Info
from $187.50
More Info
from $117.52
More Info