We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Friendly Charters, Lani Kai

Features Animals
Open Now: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

Friendly Charters, Lani Kai
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
96
All photos (96)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good20%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“coral gardens”(18 reviews)
“turtle town”(47 reviews)
“bagels”(11 reviews)
About
The Lani Kai is a 53 foot power catameran which holds 69 passengers. Friendly Charters takes passengers on Snorkeling tours to Molokini and Turtle town in the morning, and to Coral Gardens in the afternoon. This is a classy, beautiful yacht, which...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours
Contact
Slip 76, Ma'alaea Harbor, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Website
+1 808-244-1979
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wonderful experience. We opted for the afternoon snorkel adventure with Friendly Charters on the Lani Kai (our group hates getting up early). The cruise was exactly as advertised. Great Boat, great crew, nice facilities, nice drinks, nice food, just as fantastic experience. Normally, taking an...More

5  Thank critics_critic
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed December 24, 2014 via mobile

On our first time to Hawaii, we looked at the Maui catalog, and we're looking for a snorkeling trip. We found a company by the name of friendly charters that offered us a trip to Molokini & Turtle Town (Whale Watching too!). Only when we...More

8  Thank Yaniv R
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
143
43
4
8
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
143
43
4
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral gardens turtle town bagels afternoon snorkel trip fish mai tais molokini crater offered snuba pasta salad snorkel gear was provided rent a wet suit second stop fresh sandwiches breakfast lunch build your own helpful crew snorkel bobs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 213 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018

The crew was very helpful and did a good job of helping everybody out. I liked the smaller group as this was our first time snorkeling or doing snuba. They had a continental breakfast as we got started and a lunch and drinks on the...More

Thank Diane E
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

..Diane.....Thank you for your post here, the crew is awesome and we are lucky to have them...Come back see us again..........Bill....

Reviewed September 29, 2018

We spent quite a bit of time researching which boat we would go out on. (There are so many!) We had the following criteria: * Smallish boat so there were not too many people * Reasonable price * Enough time to snorkel * Most importantly...More

Thank LouLou22297701
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

.....*LouLou.....Thank you for joining us & thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor....I agree the MaiTai's are delicious........Aloha........Bill.........

Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

This was one of our highlights of the trip. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t the best for us to head out to Molokini or Turtle town, but we were taken to other locations which were just as good. The Captain and crew were very accommodating and...More

Thank Clarkeyss
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

.....Glad you enjoyed , thank you for your post....Come see us again....

Reviewed September 19, 2018

Mark and his crew were really great and made for a fun time. Although we weren't able to go to Molokini due to the conditions, the spots we went to along the Maui coast fared some fantastic snuba diving. It was my first time snuba'ing,...More

Thank Kristen M
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

....Sorry we didn't get to Molokini....It's the weather, ya know....We try not to fight Mother Nature around here.....Next time...

Reviewed August 6, 2018

Early start but made it in plenty of time (we thought). Warning to give yourself extra time to get your parking ticket from the machine. Then onto the Lani Kai. Good trip out to Molokini, good snorkelling (we had our own gear). then across the...More

Thank mamiab
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

.....Thank YOU Maiab......Everyday is a Great Day on the Water....We think so anyway....So glad you enjoyed....I'll pass this on to Capt & crew.........We look forward to your return.....Safe Travels....

Reviewed August 1, 2018

Although we were suppose to snorkel Molokini and Turtle Town, the winds and water got to choppy on the way there at each location that prevented safer snorkeling so the captain turned around to find some better known locations for snorkeling. This cut into some...More

1  Thank Drew B
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

...DREW....we Thank You...we invite you back...the fish and the Turtles wish you a safe trip home...as do we......Aloha...

Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

We were traveling with our 2 teenagers, and both sets of grandparents. Everyone loved the experience. Mark, Emily, Mia and Joe were so helpful and friendly. My 15 year old and I did SNUBA for the first time with Joe. Joe was a great instructor...More

Thank mgc00gs
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

....THANK YOU ....I'm passing your post on to the crew... They deserve your kind words...and we look forward to you returning to Maui and the "Lani Kai".......

Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the marina on time but the paid parking took a few minutes, especially with the last-minute line up - so allow a 5 minutes for this process. The crew were on Island time so it didn't matter. All went to plan and...More

1  Thank stephenpV271CF
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

...Thanks Stephen.....When you understand about "Island Time" ...You have been *Mauified....Ha....Glad you and your group enjoyed...See you again hopefully... Safe travels ....

Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

Nice boat, it was well equipped. The crew were great and very helpful. The food and drinks served during our afternoon cruise were very good. Due to poor surf conditions we did not go to molokini. The alternate spot saw some 🐢.

Thank David F
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

....When all else fails....*Turtle Town* almost always save's the Day....Thanks for you taking the time to review and approve....Bill

Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Our trip was probably a little unusual. A woman fell from the top of the deck to a lower deck and the coast guard had to be called as we approached Molokini. (The fall was her fault- not related to the boat or crews. The...More

Thank Kimberly85044
Bill B, Director of Sales at Friendly Charters, Lani Kai, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

...Just a little Update about the lady who fell... She's fine, nothing broken, no bleeding, no stitches. A bruise on her knee, on her elbow and a scrape to her forehead... She didn't want to go with the Coast Guard, but, it's a Maritime law...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 nearby hotels
Kohea Kai Maui
100 reviews
3.79 miles away
Maui Coast Hotel
2,261 reviews
6.40 miles away
Maui Beach Hotel
632 reviews
7.11 miles away
Maui Seaside Hotel
1,217 reviews
7.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,048 nearby restaurants
Hula Cookies & Ice Cream
181 reviews
.19 miles away
Cafe del Vino
35 reviews
.24 miles away
Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant
279 reviews
.19 miles away
Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe
298 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,204 nearby attractions
Alii Nui Sailing Charters
1,580 reviews
.28 miles away
Pacific Whale Foundation
9,985 reviews
.10 miles away
Maui Ocean Center
4,590 reviews
.13 miles away
Maui Fun Charters
181 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Terese V
March 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FMOmbrello | Reviewed this property |
We too did an early afternoon charter. The cost for the basic trip, which included snorkeling and lunch was $35 per person. This included your mask and fins. If you wanted to use a wet suit, it was an additional $10. If you... More
0
Votes