We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Rappel Maui
Experience Maui's rainforest waterfalls up close and personal in this unique, full day excursion. Your highly-trained guides will take you halfway down the famous Road to Hana to a private rainforest preserve, where you'll gear up like a pro and learn to walk down jungle walls and natural waterfalls. You'll also hike lush, green trails and swim in natural freshwater pools reserved exclusively for your tour. It's paradise at its most peaceful and exciting, and the most private, intimate nature tour on Maui. Perfect for active families, teams and groups, couples and solo adventurers alike, no previous rappelling or climbing experience is necessary. Picnic lunch and bottled water is provided, along with all your gear and transportation from Central Maui.
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Rappel Maui

Rappel Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Cliffs

Embark on an adventure and go off the beaten path in this small-group rappelling excursion. Learn how to descend down the numerous waterfalls and cliffs along the Road to Hana, starting small then scaling up to a slightly-more difficult 30-foot (9-meter) waterfall. Includes a picnic lunch.
Read more
6 hours 30 minutes
from $233.98

Rappel Maui Extreme Zip Rappel Tour

Take the plunge for a thrilling day of outdoor adventure during this 7.5-hour extreme zipline and rappelling tour on Maui. Tired of sitting on the beach during your vacation? Add some excitement to your trip by tackling 4 advanced drops of up to 110 feet (33 meters), descending via various ‘zip-style’ and waterfall-style rappels. One drop even ends with a heart-pounding plunge into a refreshing freshwater pool. Experienced guides, all gear, transport and lunch are included.

Please note: the minimum participation age is 14, and all participants must weigh between 80 pounds (36 kg) and 230 pounds (104 kg). Not recommended for guests over the age of 65.
Read more
7 hours 30 minutes
from $298.08
387Reviews10Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 344
  • 34
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shawn Marie wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Wow! This was an amazing experience. The guide/instructors, Chris and Taylor were clear and friendly and compassionate, really helped calm my doubts about my ability. To be honest, I read through the website and was a little worried I wouldn't be able to do it fully because I am not the most physically active person in the group I was going with, and it read as an incredibly interactive physical experience. And it is, but it is so worth it! If you are healthy, and have a chance to try this- I would wholeheartedly recommend Rappel Maui. It was definitely the highlight of my trip to Maui!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Cindy G wrote a review Mar 2020
Waukesha, Wisconsin4 contributions3 helpful votes
While we were able to get a refund, our limited time in Maui was planned around this event. It is very disappointing that no mention of any issues/warnings about what conditions would not allow us to go. My husband has a pace maker and although his Dr told him he has absolutely no restrictions in his life, he was denied going on the rappelling part of the tour so we of course didn't go. Very sad not only that we couldn’t go, but we could have planned something else instead.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jody R, Guest Relations Manager at Rappel Maui
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Aloha Cindy, We, too, were disappointed that we were unable to accommodate your party due to a health issue. Your safety is your guides' top priority, however, and it's true that the activity is not appropriate for everyone. If you book through an activity desk or concierge, as you did, it's possible to receive a shortened version of restrictions, and that's why we publish a very extensive FAQ at our own web site. We encourage everyone who's considering booking this activity to carefully read all the frequently asked questions at our own web site (not just your activity agent's), particularly the Other Considerations section. Of course, we also encourage anyone who books this activity through any means, to call or chat online with us directly about whether or not this activity is right for you. We've fielded thousands of questions over the years, and can help each person determine if this is an appropriate tour, given the nature of the activity and the remote location of the site. Mahalo and safe travels.
Read more
Fredandethe wrote a review Feb 2020
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida68 contributions27 helpful votes
I’ve had the pleasure of doing a waterfall rappel before but I have to say, this one was by far the best! Emily and Isaac were excellent guides and the rush of going rappelling down a waterfall is difficult to explain. DO IT!!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jody R, Guest Relations Manager at Rappel Maui
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Mahalo, Fred, for the enthusiastic review. We love introducing seasoned rappellers as well as newcomers to the island's unique offerings. We hope you'll join us on your next visit. A hui hou!
Read more
Jonathan W wrote a review Feb 2020
Crestview Hills, Kentucky11 contributions1 helpful vote
This was such a fun and unique experience, our group loved it. I'll start by saying that I have a fear of heights so to say I was a bit nervous is an understatement. Our guides, Kevin and Elena, did a great job of explaining everything and keeping the mood fun and light. We did a total of 3 rappels. The first rappel was a practice rappel on a dry cliff. This is where we learned "the ropes" and gained a bit of confidence working our way down the cliff. The first step was scary but once I got going, I started to feel comfortable. The second and third rappels were down the waterfalls, each one landing you in a pool of water. Since it was January, the water was super cold but actually felt refreshing (must've been the nerves). After the final rappel, we headed back up to the starting point for a really tasty lunch. Even if you have a fear of heights, do not let it deter you from this experience. I loved it despite my fear of heights and would do this again in a heartbeat. Mahalo for such a fun experience!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jody R, Guest Relations Manager at Rappel Maui
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Aloha JC! Mahalo for taking that first step--it's a doozy (in a good way)! We look forward to taking you waterfall chasing again, no offense to the group TLC (it's still a great song!) A hui hou.
Read more
Maura D wrote a review Jan 2020
12 contributions4 helpful votes
My now fiance and I took this trip in September and had an amazing time exploring a piece of the Road to Hana in a very different way than most. We both enjoy rock climbing so this was right up our alley. Many others on our trip had no experience and caught on quick and seemed to enjoy their day as well so don't let that stop you. The staff was fabulous, they were very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife and the photographer was phenomenal. My then boyfriend choose to pull me aside in the water and propose after I repelled down the first waterfall and the photographer said he didn't know what was going on, but decided he should capture it anyways which was pretty awesome for such a memorable event. He took quite a lot quality pictures throughout the whole experience as well. Overall I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jody R, Guest Relations Manager at Rappel Maui
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Wow, what a day you had! Mahalo for sharing your special day in the rainforest. We hope you'll join us for one of your anniversaries. A hui hou!
Read more
Previous