We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours

86 reviews
Contact
Honokaa, HI, USA
Travelers talk about

Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Recommended experiences in and around Honokaa
from $173.77
More Info
from $225.00
More Info
from $197.00
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
21
22
15
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
21
22
15
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mule drawn county road carriage ride steep road four wheel drive an adventure beautiful scenery flora and fauna hawaii petting stories operator
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2018

Please, please, please do not book this tour!! Our tour time was 12:30, we were told to meet at the Last Chance General store at 12:15. We were there, the tour host did not show up until 12:35. We took a dirty van to the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Michelle L
waipiospirit, Manager at Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

We are sorry if you did not enjoy the tour. As we informed you, one of our mules developed a leg problem at the last minute. We had to switch out the mule and re-harness another in order to do the tour. We did not...More

Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

This was a terrible tour. The wagon ride is maybe 15minutes, with the rest of the tour conducted in a dirty old van with no air conditioning and non opening windows. Bob, the guide, is obviously sick of the tour, and past caring about customers....More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Bryoneill
waipiospirit, Manager at Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Sorry you were not pleased with the tour. We were behind schedule 5 min because of delays on the Waipio hill. In regard to blowing the horn on on the hill, this was to avoid a dangerous situation. The vehicle ahead decided they did not...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Visit one of the botanical gardens instead. the van is old and dirty. If you don’t sit up front, you get no ventilation and the driver has BO bad! very little tourist info is shared during the van ride. He doesn’t really stop for you...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank DAGF77
Reviewed August 4, 2018

The "tour" takes about 1.5 hours but most of that time is check-in, driving down into the valley, and waiting for the wagon. Time on the wagon was short and total ground covered was vey little since we stopped every few feet. The best views...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank CandDHi
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Can't recommend. When I called the person that answered the phone was extremely rude. But we booked anyway. The tour would have been a lot better if the guides had been more friendly and accommodating. It really sounds like they don't want business the way...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank fateyanagi1972
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

We looked at a couple of tours of the valley and choose this one because of the price and the excursion time. If you are looking for a well-oiled, premium tour this isn’t for you. If you are into petting wild goats on the side...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank R6569LNlizw
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We were so close to booking a tour for our family, but the the first time I called with a couple questions the woman who answered was rude and impatient. I called the second time to book and she told me to call back in...More

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Jessica H
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Our little group included people with ancient knees and a young child so we knew walking down the steep road into Waipi'o Valley was out of the question. This was a perfect solution as Bob (who has been the owner/operator of this enterprise for over...More

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank 386anneb
Reviewed January 8, 2018

An awesome experience! Enjoyed the tour guide and his information was so very interesting and informative. Loved the mule and wagon part of the ride! Saw beautiful scenery and the local culture and history was great. Beautiful views from the top of the mountain area...More

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank virginias729
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Booked this and then read the reviews, but decided to go anyway and glad we did. Yes, the wagon portion isn't all that long, but to us it seemed just right. We saw all sorts of flora and fauna. Bob was a good guide. The...More

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank Pam R
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SCTravelmeister
January 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from waipiospirit | Property representative |
Easiest way to get tour is at the Neptune store as described in our website. It is about 1/2 mile before the lookout. Let us know if you have additional questions. Thanks
1
Vote