We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hula Daddy Kona Coffee

Features Animals
74-4944 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
+1 808-327-9744
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Average Coffee tasting

The hostess was not as much knowledgeable, coffee tastes average and coffee price is very high. Not... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Vikram K
Interesting tour by knowledgeable staff.

I've been drinking coffee since I was a teenager and the tour guide enlighten me with her... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ronald M
,
California
Read all 641 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hula Daddy Kona Coffee is the winner of the 2016 Kona Coffee Cupping Competition and the 2015 Hawaii Cupping Competition. Hula Daddy sells roasted coffee beans that have been grown on its own plantation. We offer coffee tasting, farm tours and roasting demonstrations by advance reservation only.
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“coffee beans” (67 reviews)
“roasting room” (31 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
74-4944 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-327-9744
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Holualoa
from $249.00
More Info
from $238.54
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
from $213.26
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coffee beans"
in 67 reviews
"roasting room"
in 31 reviews
"roasting process"
in 27 reviews
"great tour"
in 54 reviews
"small batches"
in 9 reviews
"tasting room"
in 15 reviews
"dark roast"
in 15 reviews
"informative tour"
in 28 reviews
"small operation"
in 9 reviews
"chocolate covered"
in 16 reviews
"whole process"
in 9 reviews
"the big island"
in 47 reviews
"free samples"
in 18 reviews
"minute tour"
in 8 reviews
"clock tower"
in 8 reviews
"answered all our questions"
in 7 reviews
"private tour"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostess was not as much knowledgeable, coffee tastes average and coffee price is very high. Not worth the time and price. Definitely not a place to go with kids

Thank Vikram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been drinking coffee since I was a teenager and the tour guide enlighten me with her knowledge. Great view, great coffee.

Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

Outstanding tour with a knowledgeable guide. She showed us the beetle plaguing the island’s coffee plantations. We tasted coffees, chocolate covered coffee beans, and tea made from coffee cherry skins. Interesting citrus flavor. We learned why Kona coffee is SO pricey. Bought half a tree’s...More

1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018

Great tour. My wife and I did this apart of our honeymoon. The plantation is only a few acres, but it works the same. We personally like the smaller tours and smaller places where we can learn more and get a more personal experience. Honestly,...More

2  Thank ajensen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Very friendly and knowledgeable and coffee. They also offer a very special tea made from the coffee bean. A must try for all.

1  Thank TataandPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

It was a fun tour with a LOT of details and we learned a lot. The lady that gaves us the tour was super nice and answered all our questions. I will definitely recommend this tour.

1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

We spent a little over an hour at Hula Daddy’s this week while visiting Hawaii. We did the $10 tour, which was incredibly informative. Karen has a clear passion for the business and does a great job of taking you through the journey of starting...More

1  Thank Pablo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

The tour was $10 and took an hour. We learned so much. The guide was fantastic. Got to taste a lot of great coffee and gained an understanding of Kona coffee and why it is so expensive.

2  Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

I learned a great deal about coffee, the growth and process. Fantastic atmosphere and great samples. Only real issue is the shop didn’t have much selection of what you just tried. Certainly worth a couple hours and convenient to Kona town. Amazing view too.

1  Thank bdearl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Aloha Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit please come again. Mahalo Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Don't forget to stop here before you leave town to take some real coffee back home with you. It smells great and the people are really friendly.

Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Aloha Helen It was our pleasure to show you our farm and our coffee. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself here. Please come again. Mahalo Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
526 reviews
3.15 miles away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,314 reviews
3.16 miles away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
543 reviews
3.23 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,252 reviews
3.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mi Taqeria Potosina
16 reviews
2.44 miles away
Broke da Mouth Grindz
270 reviews
2.91 miles away
Kona Coffee and Tea Company
133 reviews
2.87 miles away
Privateer's Cove
55 reviews
2.92 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ueshima Coffee Company
39 reviews
2.83 miles away
Mountain Thunder Coffee Plantation
910 reviews
2.21 miles away
Mauka Meadows
173 reviews
2.39 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
incubusfanclm
April 19, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lee P | Property representative |
Aloha The tour is free and so are the coffee samples. The tours last about 30 minutes. However, we offer the tour the visitor wants not the tour we want to do. So sometimes tours can be shorter and sometimes longer depending... More
1
Vote
Dunderlin
February 15, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ken G | Reviewed this property |
Under an hour. Unless you want to talk a lot :-)
1
Vote
;