We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vavoom Volcano Tours - CLOSED

Vavoom Volcano Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
71
All photos (71)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good6%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible11%
Oct 3, 2013
“Volcano and day tour”
Jul 2, 2013
“Not just an average tour... a lovely experience!”
About
Vavoom Volcano Tours has been providing fun and educational tours of Volcanoes National Park, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls and visits to other popular spots in the Hilo area such as the Mauna Loa Mac Nut Farm since 2007. We can now customize your tour...more
Contact
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-0761
Website
+1 808-937-5953
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
68
5
1
3
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
68
5
1
3
9
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The company and the tour guide we had are excellent at what they do. They personalized our day to include local attractions like the rainbow falls and the volcano but also made it special by giving us a taste of local culture and food. The...More

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Utsi W
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm so happy to have booked with Vavoom! I had booked well in advance, and through our communication, owner Lori Asana knew I had only 1day in Hilo, and that it was a very important part of my trip to see the volcano. Although nobody...More

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank Kia K
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not knowing what my work schedule was going to be like in Hawaii, my husband and I were not able to commit to booking any kind of tours in advance, should our plans change at the last minute. However, when I got my schedule we...More

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank inxsary
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great day with Lori which was particularily nice to have a local tour guide. Many guides are now not from Hawaii. Lori is a warm, friendly and knowledgable guide. We visited Rainbow Falls first then onto the steam vents then Kilauea Museum....More

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank BonnyMS
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I hope this feedback on Lori, owner of Vavoom Tour will help you in your selection. I booked this tour on Thanksgiving day because my husband mistakenly booked our rental car at Kona airport and our flight was arriving at Hilo airport about 3 hours...More

11  Thank yleeito
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel quite a bit and must admit that I use tripadvisor often for information but don't post reviews (I know..I should post reviews). However, I felt compelled to write a review for Vavoom Volcano Tours because of the recent reviews from two people who...More

Date of experience: October 2012
8  Thank Brian M
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were a group of 4 that enjoyed our tour. Yes there was a delay as a van had a problem and had to be replaced, I don't know how those people can rate a trip if they don't experience it. Thoses people must never...More

2  Thank Knotsnut9
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lori and the other tour guides could not have been any more accommodating! We were witness to the behavior of the people who wrote the two negative reviews. They were rude and impatient. Lori had called and stated she wanted to check the brakes on...More

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank Linda M
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked our tour on phone about 6 months in advance. Got confirmation paperwork that Lori would pick us up at pier at 8:30. Called at 8:45; she said p/u is for 9:00 but she was running late, so expect 9:30. Corrected her error b/c 8:30...More

Date of experience: November 2012
3  Thank Sept16
HawaiianTigerlily, Owner at Vavoom Volcano Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

This review of Vavoom and the one dated November 8th were both the same day of tour. What happened was one of the 3 vehicles we had , had a brake light that suddenly turned on while we were en route to the pier. Rather...More

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked with Lori 6 mths in advance unlike meeting her in person, she was very pleasant and profesional on the phone. We were supposed to meet on the dock, with a sign with our name on it, at the cruise terminal at 8:30 AM....More

Date of experience: October 2012
3  Thank william g
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 49 nearby hotels
Dolphin Bay
709 reviews
.43 miles away
Waiakea Villas
22 reviews
1.14 miles away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2,096 reviews
1.26 miles away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1,057 reviews
1.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,022 nearby restaurants
Moonstruck Patisserie
148 reviews
.06 miles away
Moon and Turtle
310 reviews
.11 miles away
Tina's Garden Cafe
154 reviews
.06 miles away
Puka Puka Kitchen
211 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,146 nearby attractions
Pacific Tsunami Museum
523 reviews
.09 miles away
Hilo Farmers Market
858 reviews
.12 miles away
Extreme Exposure Fine Art Gallery
45 reviews
.04 miles away
Vive Institute Big Island Academy of Massage
15 reviews
.04 miles away