We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilo Ocean Adventures

Features Animals
Hilo, HI, USA
More
About Hilo Ocean Adventures
Hilo Ocean Adventures is a family-friendly, safe, and exciting scuba diving store right in Hilo. With a strong commitment to fun, Hilo Ocean Adventures provides scuba certifications and dive tours in all the favorite shore spots- and more! We also have the only Dive/Snorkel boat in Hilo!! Whether to purchase some new gear, to fill a tank, or check the shore report, we can't wait to meet you!
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Hilo Ocean Adventures

Boat Snorkel –Dolphin and Tropical Reef Rafting Adventure

Looking for a fun and memorable experience? Come enjoy our guided Zodiac Dolphin Adventure and Tropical Reef Snorkel along the pristine Hilo coast! Our tour departs from the Wailoa Boat harbor in Hilo and ventures beyond the breakwall to explore and snorkel the scenic coastline on our 20 foot inflatable zodiac. Enjoy the iconic lush coastlines that Hilo has to offer, and explore untouched coves where pods of dolphins hide away and often play in our wake. Stop off in one of these idyllic coves to snorkel over spectacular and untouched reef structures and sand patches, and immerse yourself in East Hawaii's diverse sea life. Our coastline is renowned for the abundant sea turtle population, and our brackish water bays and lagoons are home to a wealth of sea life including octopus, eagle and manta rays, eels, corals, and tropical reef fish! Your captain and snorkel guide will teach you all about the abundance of sea life below, and will ensure you have a fun and memorable experience.
Read more
3 hours
from $165.14

Introductory Boat Scuba Dive - 2 Tank

Experience Hilo’s pristine Pacific waters on an underwater adventure. After a convenient hotel pickup in Hilo, throw on your gear and dive in with a professional guide—and no scuba certification necessary. Instead, take a short training session and enjoy a two-tank introductory dive perfect for a beginner. Watch for green sea turtles, local reef fish, and colorful corals as you swim.
Read more
5 hours
from $307.72

Certified Beach Night Dive

It’s an entirely different world when the sun sets below the horizon! Come explore unseen worlds and discover how our ocean comes to life under the moon lit sky. Your dive master will guide you on an incredible illuminated journey through the abundance of sea life below, and will ensure you have an exciting and memorable experience. Leave your gear at home and dive in our top of the line equipment including 2018 Atomic Z3 regulators and Oceanic BCD's. Come explore the unseen abundance of Hawai‘i Island!
Read more
3 hours
from $148.15

SCUBA Shore Dive at Sea Turtle Cove (Certified Diver)

This one-tank underwater excursion is perfect for certified divers and ensures all the details are taken care of. Travel in comfort from your hotel or cruise port to a local dive shop where you'll be fitted with gear before heading out to a popular dive spot. Spend 35 to 55 minutes exploring the waters with this easy-to-book experience.
Read more
3 hours
from $132.22

Ancient Hawaiian Canoe Paddle Excursion

Holo i ke kai (Sail the Sea) The Ancient Hawaiian Way!
In approximately 400 A.D., Wa'akaulua (pronounced wah-ah-kow-loo-uh), or double-hulled sailing craft, took Polynesian settlers, their domestic animals and staple plants from the South Pacific to Hawaii. In the centuries that followed , Wa’akaulua and its more numerous relative the Wa’akaukahi (Outrigger Canoe) remained essential for travel, fishing, surfind, diplomacy and war. Today you can experience the traditional sailing methods used centuries ago while enjoying a combination of sailing/paddling, learning about Hawaiian history, culture, geology and traditions of canoe sailing. Guests will enjoy sailing and/or paddling around Hilo Bay taking in breathtaking views of the coast of Hilo Pali Ku (spacious Hilo of the many standing cliffs), Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa Volcanos, Moku Ola (sometimes called Coconut Island), and the beauty of historic Hilo Bay.
Read more
3 hours
from $182.15
151Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 115
  • 19
  • 3
  • 10
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Keith S wrote a review Aug 2020
Mountain View, Hawaii178 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
After getting open water certified. Wanted to try the boat dive. kimo made it happen even though the corona virus regulations. Every staff member at the store is extremely customer friendly . Smooth operation. If you need any extra equipment they have it . The rental equipment is top notch and in great shape . Captain kimo knows how to drive the boat and a vast knowledge of diving . He will take you to the next level. The guide Kealoha can’t say enough good things about him. Even though the classes was patient. As a guide was awesome. Knowledge of the fishes and the Hawaiian names . Great to talk story with. Definitely will be back for some more diving and some great gear.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OnAir42878976822, Manager at Hilo Ocean Adventures
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Aloha Keith, Thank you for your 5 star review. It was our pleasure to host your certification and first certified dive. We welcome you to the HOA ohana, and look forward to seeing on future dives with us. Now that you are certified, be sure to sign up for Hilo Dive Club, for exciting member only discounts, closeouts, and special events!
Read more
Rabbity1 wrote a review Aug 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand78 contributions103 helpful votes
I am writing this review as I have had a bad experience with this company. We booked two snorkelling tours way back in March, and when our cruise was cancelled, we cancelled the tour giving this company a whole month's notice. (The tour was sold as fully cancel-able with 24 hours notice & full refunds given). Since then I've been given nothing but the run around, with excuses, promises, but no refund. It's been almost 6 months now. My polite emails now go unanswered. I appreciate Covid19 is hard for everyone, especially businesses,but given the amount of notice I gave and the fact they advertised that it was fully refundable but won't even answer messages now really makes me angry. I don't normally write bad reviews, and $350 is not a lot of money in the scheme of things, but some honesty art the start would have made a difference too, instead of promising refunds that never come & then just ignoring me. I travel to Hilo about once every year by ship and have toured with this company before, but never again now. They are still marketing to me, by email, trying to sell me new tours, so clearly still operating. I'm very sorry to say that I find them untrustworthy and would not pre-pay a tour with them again & cannot recommend them.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OnAir42878976822, Owner at Hilo Ocean Adventures
Responded Aug 21, 2020
Aloha, Thank you for you review. I sympathize with your frustration and the lack of communication is unacceptable. We are currently processing refunds from March, as funds are available. This is a long process for us as we have experienced 10's of thousands of dollars in losses from tour companies who have permanently closed. We never received monies from these 3rd party operators who collected for our tours pre COVID-19. Per contract, they are to pay 60 days post tours. This means all crew were paid and guests received tours, and Hilo Ocean Adventures was never paid. This entire situation is a domino effect, we are doing our best to keep the doors open to ensure we can refund every person's money. I am not sure if you are aware, the governor of Hawaii has extended quarantine restrictions month after month, leaving the entire tourism industry crippled. We are processing refunds in partial payments over a course of a few weeks/months. I would be willing to put you to the top of the list however, I can not guarantee how soon that refund will take place. If you would be willing to work with me on this, I will do what I can as soon as I can. Again, with no tourism and no more financial breaks for permits, rent, utilities and all other business expenses this will be a longer process. A gift card is still an option for future tours with Hilo Ocean Adventures, and would help tremendously in supporting our local business. Again, I sympathize with your frustration and I am willing to work through it. Please contact me personally at natalie@hilooceanadventures.com
Read more
Jean P wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
It was a last minute booking and since everything us barely opening, they accommodated us wonderfully. Kemo and Kaitlyn were great! Very friendly and made sure we got to see turtles, fish and coral! No dolphins but they sure tried to find us some though!! Going back to try surfing and paddle boards!! Wish the bi as t had some cover from the sun. We got a little sunburned. But overall it was great!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
nathanzimring wrote a review Mar 2020
Fort Worth, Texas1 contribution
This was the highlight of our trip. What really made it was our instructor. He was professional but also very personable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OnAir42878976822, Owner at Hilo Ocean Adventures
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Aloha Nathan, Thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear your introduction to scuba diving was the highlight of your trip. Phillip, is an outstanding instructor, and we are very fortunate to have him on our team. Our introductory SCUBA tour is the best way to experience a unique view of marine life. We invite you to join us again on another of our tours on your next trip to Hilo.
Read more
Anthony wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Great place for paddleboard rentals and scuba excursion. Super friendly staff and great management. i would definitely recommend Hilo Ocean Adventures.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OnAir42878976822, Owner at Hilo Ocean Adventures
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Aloha and thank you for your 5 star review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with Hilo Ocean Adventures. Our location, across the street from Reed's Bay, makes it super easy to enjoy SUPS and Kayaks on the breathtaking Hilo Bay. Come back and see us again on your next trip to Hilo.
Read more
Previous