We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Lava Ocean Tours Inc
Lava Ocean Tours is your front row seat to feel the heat onboard our 40+ft high speed aluminum catamarans. Our Lava Boat Tours are world famous for delivering the best views of the active lava touching the sea dont wait till its to late to experience the magic of lava sizzling into the sea.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours

Lava Ocean Tours Inc
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
1,290Reviews61Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 997
  • 122
  • 43
  • 21
  • 107
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Trek614732 wrote a review Jun 2019
23 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband went with Kalpana ocean tours and Lava Ocean tours. Kalpana was great. Lava ocean was so bad it made my blood boil. I was so disappointed in the guides. They were rude, and just ruined the whole journey. We were in front of the line to get good seats, and sat up in the front. After everyone else sat down, they told us our kids couldn't handle it and made us move. Our short children (and us) were then left with sitting in the middle of the boat and between adults. Fine for us, but the kids couldn't see anything. No compassion. It's a cattle boat.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PhilJR70 wrote a review Mar 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom134 contributions39 helpful votes
A truly amazing experience to see lava flowing in to the ocean. We did this trip in mid August, about 10 days after Fissure 8 stopped producing lava. However, it took a month for the lava in the channels to make its way to the ocean so we still saw plenty of activity. The crew were very informative, and provided context and background to the eruption.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
Helpful
Share
Jac M wrote a review Sep 2018
Kenwood, California114 contributions42 helpful votes
We did have to get up very early in the morning to meet the people who drove us to the boat dock. It was very dark. But it was most enjoyable ride out to the lava flow. I must tell you if you are prone to seasickness you may want to take precautions. But once you get to the lava flow it is something you will always remember it is something of awe
Read more
Date of experience: November 2017
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Thanks for joining us on this great adventure
Read more
djmccord wrote a review Sep 2018
Huntersville, NC6 contributions4 helpful votes
Awesome tour! Got to get super close to flowing lava on our tour in late August. Was an amazing experience!! Oh, and the boat is very fast :) Plan on getting a little wet.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Thanks for your accurate review look to see you out on future flows
Read more
Kat W wrote a review Aug 2018
York, Pennsylvania12 contributions3 helpful votes
WOW - a can't miss opportunity of a lifetime. Very glad we did it. highly recommended experience. 1) Lava was promised, lava was delivered. Awesome up close view of the beautiful lava flows at sunrise. We could feel the heat and smell the sulfur. We were at the lava flow for almost an hour, however we remained at only that one location for that entire time. We had heard the lava flow had subsided a bit and that was evident on our 8/18/2018-4am sunrise cruise. 2) Rough, Wet, open water boat ride promised and delivered. One of the darkest, roughest and wettest boating experiences of my life. You need a poncho or full rain gear if you don't want to be soaked to the bone. Only bring your car keys and a camera and place those in a DRY bag or Ziplock. You will be sprayed by the ocean the entire time. 3) Cash discount - promised, NOT delivered. Boat Captain stated price was $500 on sidewalk next to boat. I stated it was quoted to me as $450 if paid in CASH. His blunt, curt, gruff demeanor and the threat of disappointing my 14yo son at 0330am after a 2+ hour drive was not an option and that dude knew it. He stuck to his story and, yes, I gave in and paid $500 cash instead of the promised (via phone reservation, email confirmation, and on the website) $450. Needless to say when they asked for tips for the boat crew when we disembarked, I did not tip the captain nor his one crew member (who was super nice and helpful onboard), as in my eyes, the captain already made an extra $50 cash.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Thanks for your review
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Hawaii
from $66.67
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $193.72
More Info
from $139.00
More Info