The Umauma Experience
The Umauma Experience
5
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Located on the Big Island of Hawai'i, The Umauma Falls Experience specializes in providing Visitors with an experience of a lifetime. We are considered the premiere destination on the Big Island as we offer the best outdoor activities. Whether you are in the air flying through our 9-Line Zipline course above waterfalls, trekking the trails on an ATV through our property, riding horses with Wailea Horseback Adventure, rappelling into the river with Island Mountain Guides, walking to view the world's famous triple-tiered Umauma Falls or just indulging in our private pond to relax. Here at The Umauma Falls Experience we have activities for you and your whole family to enjoy, you won't want to miss out.
Hakalau, Hawaii

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by The Umauma Experience
Travelers talk about
(213 reviews)
(117 reviews)
(311 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles4,203 reviews
Excellent
3,826
Very good
253
Average
69
Poor
26
Terrible
30

npmargo
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Family
This was our second time. That should say something, but 3 lines into the 9 line excursion, the guides under directed from the management, to cancel the tour due to high tail winds and safety concerns. Things weren't handled so well that day, but the management made up for it eventually. The guides are fantastic and upon returning to the Big Island in the future, we will book another tour at Umauma Falls.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GT3_S
Phoenix, AZ1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022
Of all the zip line tours on the Big Island, I definitely recommend the Umauma Falls Zipline! Not only are the views beautiful, but the staff was amazing and made the experience memorable! It didn't go unnoticed that they made a conscious effort to learn everyone's names to personalize the experience for each of us. I thought that was top tier service and want to call out each staff member by name, too. Lau greeted us with his great sense of humor making sure we had a laugh while he explained what to expect. Melody, our cashier, was so sweet and helpful even helping me settle on a cute hat to take home. Now for the zip line! Our guides, Maika'i, Sydney, and La'a, were the absolute best guides to have for this experience. I am terrified of heights so it took me at least 5-8 more seconds to let go on every line LOL but Maika'i was so patient. He took away the anxiety with his undeniable experience and quiet confidence. It made me feel safe while dangling hundreds of feet in the air LOL so big thanks to Maika'i!!! Sydney was so friendly and encouraging trying to make sure I was able to flip upside down before the end of the tour. It was cool to watch her "Spiderwoman" herself across a line at such great heights. I could never LOL! And last, but not least, La'a! He was so funny and brought a lot of energy to the tour. We now know everything that is grown on the land LOL Nothing but laughs and jokes along the way which allowed us all to really loosen up to enjoy the experience. On the last line, La'a helped me zip upside down LOL I lasted a whole 5 seconds but I did it! All 3 guides were awesome, flipping and zipping upside down showing all the cool tricks. Again, they were the best guides to have! WE HAD A BLAST! Special shout-out to Tanya for saving the day with the Go Pro. We have lots of photos to share when we get home. Overall, 10 out of 10! We will definitely come back and bring the family next time.
Written September 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rebecca53189
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Family
Our family of 4 zip lined with 16 other people and 3 guides. The entire trip took about 2.5hrs, it started on time and was exactly as advertised. The guides control the ascent so you can go hands free and not worry about slowing yourself down (or monitoring speed). There are 9 lines, the 2nd and the 4th are the best. The guides were very knowledgeable and funny too.
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jim T
Saint Clair, MI1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 • Family
My experience boiled down to a lack of customer focus and thus I'd recommend finding an alternative. Our story is pretty simple. I made a reservation for 9 of us to zip line a couple weeks in advance. I was staying in Captain Cook and hence had a 2 hour drive to Hilo. On the day of the big event the weather was poor and we got rained out so we were cancelled and refunded. When they called and cancelled I made a new reservation for Friday which was also the last day of our trip (red eye out that night). I called to confirm before we departed for the long drive on Friday morning and was told we were all set and good to go. When I arrived, we found out that the new reservation wasn't put into the system and we were out of luck. The lady that met us at the door to deliver the news had zero empathy or customer focus and I was shocked after confirming that morning and driving more than two hours. We did get someone to help but zip lining was no option because they were booked up. The best they could do was sell us tickets for the Kayak & Swim tour which was a $500 waste of money. If you go to this place do not do this tour. It's a tiny pond with almost nothing to do and it would be more fun to throw your cash in the river and watch it flow downstream. Bottom line, if it were my business I would have made the situation right and correct the error made. We wasted our last day in Hawaii after confirming just hours before arrival. Mistakes happen but it's all about the response. In this case, they didn't care and for that they are in my tourism hall of shame.
Written March 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our General Manager was able to discuss your situation with the Reservation Specialist who handled your transaction. This is what we learned: On the morning of your initially scheduled tour, you called several times to inquire about the weather. We said it was overcast, and if we hear of the tour being canceled, we will contact you immediately. In fact, we did contact you two hours prior to your tour time. You had not yet left Captain Cook. Because we canceled, we refunded you in full at that time. You requested that we hold a new tour time for you at a later date. You were informed that we do not hold without payment, and that you would need to call to confirm that date with payment or if you wanted to change the date, or the space would be lost. You called the morning of again only to check on the weather, in which we replied it was good. However, you never called to confirm your booking with payment, so your spots were released 24 hours prior to tour time. Due to the high guest turnout, our tours have been sold out and we were not able to accommodate your family. In order to “make the situation right”, which would have required us to add you on to an already full tour, as you mentioned in your post, and that was not possible. The Swim and Kayak Tour was the only tour with availability, although rainy at the time. We are confident if you read other reviews, you will have a different opinion of our tours, and our staff. Respectfully, Management
Written March 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jskeelz
Naperville, IL151 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Family
I made advance reservations for my family of five to do the nine line Zipline tour at the Umauma experience. We purchased our tickets at least three months in advance. This was our one zip lining excursion on our Hawaiian vacation and I felt that I had researched all the options thoroughly. When we arrived, I was extremely optimistic. The grounds are lovely with beautiful landscaping. You can see the ocean from the hillside. The setting is breathtaking. Yes, there is rain off and on. But, that is to be expected in a tropical rainforest setting. We were checked in and got our gear with the rest of our group in our timeslot. A van drove us up the hillside Toward the start of zip line number one. The equipment was in excellent shape, The guides were very focused on safety and did a great job of explaining what was going on. The zip lines seemed well laid out and everyone was very helpful in assisting with takeoff and landing. The braking system is great - the guides help you brake and you don’t have to wear special gloves or worry about how you are going to stop. Lines one through four are really fun and at least number four is quite long going over a river with some small Rapids and beautiful plants lining the sides of the river. At the start of zip line 5 things changed. Instead of zipping two of the time it is single file and they had us lineup in size order. The first couple patrons went and suddenly we were all told that we needed to get back in the vans. I never really heard what was going on but one of my children said they overheard someone saying there was too much wind. It was not a windy day. There was some speculation that people were coming in a little too fast, as If they had sold tickets to participate to people who are actually too heavy to zip line safely. Bu again, we were never really told what happened. We were ushered to the vans where we were driven away from zip line 5 to the start of zip line number eight. We proceeded to zip lines 8 and nine and then we were done. So, I paid for a nine zip line tour for five people and I got a six zip line tour for five people and the whole experience was a little strange. It would have really been nice if someone could’ve come out to us and acknowledged that we didn’t get what we booked and apologize. I wasn’t even expecting to get any money back. Maybe a cookie or a bottle of water? But some acknowledgment that we didn’t get what we thought we were going to. Not positive.
Written August 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Amy B
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Family
We were running late and called to let them know. Isaac told us no problem. We arrived and everyone was super friendly and the grounds were beautiful. The people that hooked us up to our equipment seemed knowledgeable and professional. They were positive and engendered a good vibe for the group. The equipment was in good shape. It was drizzling the day of our reservation, but the cancellation policy states that the company does not cancel reservations for rain. We got started with the the zip line tour. Our family of 6 was in a group of other people for a total of around 20. It was a bit of a wait for a group that size. We waited about 30 minutes between zip lines. Not a huge deal because the grounds are beautiful. We completed 3 lines and were queuing up for the 4th when a manager drove up to the line and pulled my husband out of line. The manager told my husband he was too big to go on the next line and that he would have to drive him to the next zip line course while everyone else completed the line. (My husband is 6' 2" and 225 pounds - definitely under the 275 pound weight limit). My husband was very embarrassed as the line watched him get into the truck. I accompanied him in the truck to the next line and watched our family complete Line 4 and then queued up for Line 5/6. The manager then came to test Line 5 and decided he needed to shut it down. He was not super clear with his communication. It was drizzling (not raining - and not windy at all). However, I have no experience to know what unsafe zip lines conditions are. Nevertheless, the tour ended at Line 4 for everyone and Line 3 for my husband and I. The company refunded 80% of our money, which was appreciated but unfortunately, we lost a day of our vacation driving back and forth from Kona. I saw ads for a zip line closer to Kona - might be better to try that one next time
Written April 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lisa A
Pleasantville, NY15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Family
We rented a 4 person ATV which was a blast. Our teenagers especially enjoyed getting muddy! However, it was a lot harder to drive than advertised and it’s shocking that no experience is necessary other than a valid drivers license. Also, the trail is mainly thru open fields, not rainforest and water falls as described. We saw one waterfall when we stopped at the stream. The kids did the 4-line express zip line and enjoyed it. Would recommend Umauma but if you rent a 2 or 4 seater ATV, make sure you know how to drive one!
Written December 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ejcaustx
61 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
We unfortunately were not able to secure a pass for zip lining or swimming or other activities. Note it can book multiple weeks out! We wanted to see it so paid $10 a car to just park and hike up the trails. Totally worth it even at a distance. In fact, we can zip line pretty much anywhere. But those falls are the most picturesque I've seen in the way they are arranged one after the other. Like a movie. The hike is easy - note - go ahead and drive up the first 1/3 of the way. Nothing to see in that part anyway and it makes the hike much easier.
Written June 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

FreshviewLondon
12 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022
Generally, this was a good experience. Some of the lines were absolutely beautiful, most were a bit drab. The course is built over a farm field with a few areas of streams and waterfalls. All the take off and landing platforms are manmade wooden structures. The course isn’t built into the landscape. The guides were very capable and funny, no concern there. It was just very expensive for an afternoon spent mostly standing and waiting in line, or zipping over grassy fields, with the occasional spectacular zip.
Written March 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeff W
Highland, CA84 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
Eventhough they had 20 people to a group for the ziplining, they had it setup so that the group kept moving pretty quickly. There were multiple double zips and a combo zip that made things move easily. They also had 4 - 5 staff for each group also, helping to expedite the large numbers of guests per group. Overall a fun time!
Written January 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,192

The Umauma Experience - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Hakalau
FlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars