Lake Geneva Cruise Line
Lake Geneva Cruise Line
4.5
Historical & Heritage ToursBoat ToursSightseeing ToursPrivate ToursFood Tours
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
About
For the True Lake Geneva Experience, you have to get on the water! Beautiful estates, mansions and natural scenery that only be viewed from the lake unfold through a descriptive and insightful narrated tour or provide the backdrop for an unforgettable party or wedding celebration. With 8 boats that hold from 2 to 225, Lake Geneva Cruise Line is one of the areas premier attractions - including the World Famous Mailboat Tour. As seen on the Travel Channel, CBS News, and the Today Show; it is the only marine mail delivery of its type in the nation as the mailperson leaps onto the pier, places the mail in the mailbox and jumps back aboard the boat. The catch is - THE BOAT NEVER STOPS MOVING! Other tours include the Geneva Bay and Full Lake Tour, Ice Cream Social Tour, the unique Black Point Tour, Cocktail Cruises and delicious meal tours including Lunch, Brunch and Dinner Cruises. All tours offer a narration about the history of the lake as well as beautiful views from comfortable boats.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(153 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,993 reviews
Excellent
3,803
Very good
697
Average
280
Poor
136
Terrible
77

travelbarbz
Chicago, IL3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
Definitely book in advance! When we arrived to the dock a few people were disappointed to find that the cruise was sold out. We had originally booked the 7:15PM sunset cruise and Lake Geneva Cruise Line contacted us and moved us up to the 6:15PM as the sunset was to be around 6:50-7:00PM that evening. I'm so glad they did as it was a perfect evening with a great sunset. Sadly I can't recall our Captains name but he was funny and had a wealth of knowledge. It was such a nice way to end the evening.
Written September 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your comments and review! We are glad you enjoyed the tour!
Written September 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Leti
Milwaukee, WI22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Friends
We opted for the Black Pointe estate cruise and tour which was a cruise of the whole lake and a tour of the mansion. The cruise, tour and staff were all GREAT!!!

Unfortunately the climate did not cooperate and it was very cold and windy but we made the best of it.

The staff was very nice and informative. I also recommend adding the lunch for the extra $10 because Lake Geneva is expensive and after 3 hours of sailing and walking, we really worked up an appetite and it was nice to not have to find a place for lunch.

Well worth the price!
Written September 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very glad you enjoyed the Black Point Tour.
Written October 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Toni M
Roscoe, Illinois, United States54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
This review is for the Sinatra Cocktail Cruise on July 29. It was wonderful. John Ludy was the performer and was very enjoyable and entertaining. He sang songs from the Sinatra era and included a few newer ones. It was a beautiful evening and social distancing (less people) and masked servers were in place. Our only downside was not having time to eat beforehand and having a cocktail with no snacks LOL.

Highly recommend the cocktail cruises, especially if you just want a pleasant boat ride with no tour/house information around the lake. (We could give the tours at this point!)
Written August 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your comments, review and also for your repeat business. John Ludy is a great performer and we are glad to have him on our Cocktail Cruises on occasion. (He will be back again on 8/26.) Glad you enjoyed the tour!
Written August 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gayle R
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Family
I know no one can control the weather, but this cruise line COULD control the quality of this expensive experience. I wanted to take my grandchildren and their parents on the boat ride I remembered as a fun experience from years ago. Not anymore. The necessity of buying tickets in advance means no control over the weather and on our day it was cold and rainy and WINDY. A busload of people snagged all the lower deck seats (whete it was enclosed and warm) and the rest of us had to go on the second level where it was open and cold and miserable. Worst of all, the mail delivery I had told my family would be so much fun to watch was impossible to see from the second deck except on TV screens covered in plastic that moved and glared and simply made viewing as poor and frustrating and disappointing as every other aspect of the trip. I paid more than $250 for all of us to spend 3 hours huddled shivering and wet counting the minutes to when the ride would end. Tickets should not be sold to the second deck until the day of the tour. That way people can know what the weather and expereience will be like, and no way should they cost as much as the seats on the main deck, where it is possible to actually SEE the mail delivery that makes this particular tour boat so unique. This was a great disappointment and a true finanacial rip-off.
Written June 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your comments and review. We appreciate your suggestions, but as you mentioned, we can not control the weather and would not limit ticket sales based on weather predictions. The Mailboat seating is, and always has been, first come, first served - we do not reserve specific seats. Unfortunately not all seats can be on the shore side or lower deck of the boat. Though the Mailboat is sold out many days, we are always able to provide information to people making advanced reservations about which dates are less full than others so that there are more options for seating.
Written June 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BAKreiter
Milwaukee, WI298 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
My boyfriend had won a voucher good for two tickets to the Lake Geneva Cruise Line in an auction. We ended up choosing the last Sundowner cruise (7:30pm), that took us on a tour around the lake, showcasing the amazing homes & lifestyles. This was our favorite thing we ended up doing while on our getaway two weekends ago. The two teenage boys that were our guides gave great information and kept a good pace to the tour. I was amazed and learned a lot. The boat was probably less than half filled, so it felt very comfortable considering we are in some crazy times right now. The sun began to set a bit after 8 and it was an absolutely gorgeous view. I highly recommend coming on this tour if you are interested in seeing that. It was an hour long and the perfect length.
Written August 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Sundowner Tour and that is was such a great part of your visit!
Written August 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

travelwimama
Muskego, WI195 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
Spent a lovely day on the lake doing the US Mailbox cruise. The captain and two guides (one a bartender, one a mail jumper) did a fantastic job sharing information about sites we were passing, history of the lake and so much more.

I will say, the boat was sold out and FULL. If you have any expectation of being able to sit together, especially if you are a larger group, make sure you arrive EARLY. We were there 20 minutes beforehand, and they did accommodate our birthday party of 6 (2 seniors/2 adults/2 kids) by setting up chairs in the bar area, saving the day for us. Since this was our first cruise with the line, we just didn't know any better. Now we do. I had hoped for slightly less crowding since we went on a weekday, but no such luck.

The adults all enjoyed it very much. The 11yo and 13yo boys lost interest about halfway through, but that's on them and not the tour itself- just a heads up in case you have active teen/tween boys.

Make sure you pay for parking for at least 3 hours, more if you plan to eat after the tour. Bottled water is $2 on the tour and don't forget to bring cash to tip both the mail jumper and the bartender/tour guide when disembarking. Staff was fantastic about taking pictures of our party, both on and off the boat.
Written June 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are very glad you and your family enjoyed the first Mailboat Tour of this season! You were correct in assuming that weekdays might be less busy, but the first day usually is a big draw. Glad it all worked out for you and hope you will be back!
Written June 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sue44ann
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Family
8 of us with a 3-month old and a 2-year old. 2 adults arrive 45 minutes before boating time wanting to be first in line so we could choose "safe" seats . We did. 2nd level first row. The captain said they had removed 1/2 the seats but we were still pretty close together considering the 6 ft distancing rule. We were first on and last off so all was ok. The tour was great and the day was beautiful.
Written July 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your comments and review. We are doing the best we can to keep passengers safe. Reducing our capacities and providing more space between seats was the first thing we did when we opened this season. We are glad you enjoyed the tour.
Written July 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alexandria920
Munster, IN104 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
We chose the Black Point Historic tour which departed at 10:30 AM and returned at 2:00 PM.

Since it was a Wednesday and 9/30/21, or off-season, the boat was only half full of it's 50 person capacity. We did sit on Starboard side (right side) which does give you unobstructed views from your seat since the boat travels counter clockwise.

Both Captain Mike and 1st mate Douglas give very interesting facts about the area and the incredible mansions that line the lake. There is also a small bar on board with beer, blood mary's, mixed drinks for a fee. Very small bathroom on board, however, they suggest you use the one in the Riviera building.

The boat ride is 45 minutes to the dock of the Black Pointe Mansion. Bathrooms also available here :) There are 120 steps from the dock up to the mansion. No rush up them and plenty of areas to stop and rest, if needed.

If you pre-order your tickets, you have the choice to tack on a boxed lunch for an extra $10. HIGHLY recommend this. My husband and I split one, which included a PotBelly sandwich (already cut in 1/2), chips, cookie and water. I heard others behind us wondering how we got one of these! You eat it as you head back for the rest of the boat portion of the tour.

Relaxing and interesting tour. Thank you, Captain Mike!
Written September 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks very much for your comments and review. We appreciate your business and are very glad you enjoyed your tour to Black Point!
Written October 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Susanna E
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
My husband and I celebrated our anniversary by going on this boat tour. It consists of two 45 minute boat rides to and from the Black Point mansion and a 2-hour leisurely tour of the mansion in between. Everything was great - the breezes on the lake, the boat captain who pointed out famous estates as he piloted around the lake and told stories about their past and present owners, and our charming, knowledgeable museum guide Breana, who showed us around the 1888 Queen Anne house and gardens. Because of the pandemic, numbers are severely limited (there were only five in our house tour and not very many on the boat) and everyone has to wear a mask inside the house. Because the house is on a cliff, you have to walk up a total of 120 steps, but they are sturdy and comfortable.
Written August 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your comments and review! We are very glad your enjoyed our tour experience. Black Point truly is a time capsule of lake life in the late 1800's and we are very grateful that we are able to provide access to this amazing estate.
Written August 26, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rose
Waukegan, Illinois6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020
I took my kids and nephews on the Ice Cream Social boat tour, everyone was really nice, friendly, welcoming and attentive. The ice cream was good. I also loved that there was a special price for the kids of a $1, that really saved us a lot of money to do other things in Lake Geneva. Overall, it was a great experience, I have no complaints. Lake Geneva is our go to spot for the summer. I will definitively book another boat tour in the future.
Written June 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your comments and review! We are very glad you and your family enjoyed the tour. We look forward to having you back again!
Written June 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,990

Lake Geneva Cruise Line - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Lake Geneva HotelsLake Geneva Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake Geneva
All things to do in Lake Geneva
Theater & Concerts in Lake GenevaAmusement Parks in Lake Geneva
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars