We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Griffin Lane | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
Phone Number: 44 (0) 1603 701701
Website
Description:

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk...

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk Broads; why not be your own skipper for the day and hire one of our picnic boats? During the summer months our scheduled river trips operate every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (7 days per week during the school holidays) and relax whilst our skipper gives a live commentary. Refreshments available and cream teas can be ordered in advance, toilets also on-board. We offer private charter cruises for special events, eg. birthday celebrations, corporate events and wedding events. For those of you wishing to spend a relaxing few days or a week on the Broads we offer classic Broads cruisers.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 40 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 11
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
C'est La Vie

We hired C'est La Vie for a week in order to explore the South Broads. The boat is old and, perhaps because it was at the end of the season, is in need of maintenance. It would be... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed September 22, 2015
Layces
,
Rye, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Thanks City Boats - wonderful day We enjoyed a fantastic day out on one of the hire boats from City Boats (behind the Griffin). The views on the river are wonderful and its great to be out on the river away from the hustle and bustle. Great pubs on the river too

Helpful?
Thank 866hello
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have recently had a two week holiday with city boats aboard the cest la vie and felt we must write a review to counter the negative reviews we read prior to the holiday. Let me start by saying we are fairly experienced and have been holidaying on the broads twice a year for a number of years so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank whenman
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

We hired a boat for 4 people, reading the reviews on here I wasn't expecting a great deal but the boat it's self was good, everything worked as it should good clean seating and all safety equipment as it should be... The staff are very helpful getting you into the boat Safely and giving clear instructions on how to use... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

On first seeing the boat it was a bit of a shock... It gave the impression that it was not maintained as well as it should have been....On being shown round the boat prior to departing there were quite a lot of things that didn't work....It is not necessary to list these things....Apart from the sliding canopy....It could not be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A1917OYchristiner
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this review

Another person who suffered from a holiday teamed with bad weather. Another person who wished for compensation. Another person who booked a bargain break........ C'est La Vie is a classic Broads Hire Boat, as modern as possible but clean, comfortable and good value for money. It is a shame that those people who have enjoyed many weeks and sort breaks... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

We enjoyed hiring C'est la Vie, a boat full of character, however there were problems which we pointed out to the yard, but received an aggressive e-mail in reply to our courteous comments. I'm sure as long as you don't raise any problems the company is fine, but don't raise any negative points!! I wouldn't recommend them, or sail with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
Parotgal, Owner at City Boats, responded to this review

This couple made a complaint and wanted compensation which we refused as damage costing a significant amount of money to repair and not covered by their damage waiver had be caused. We explained that we would have to take the damage cost in favor of compensation. Two issues were raised and immediately put right. More 

Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We hired C'est La Vie for a week in order to explore the South Broads. The boat is old and, perhaps because it was at the end of the season, is in need of maintenance. It would be easy to compare it unfavourably with newer, smarter boats but it was good value for the price paid. I tied up behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Layces
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Mrs and I took a small dayboat out over the Summer, not much to say really but compared to other dayboats I have used this was in a poor state the yard was not a very welcoming place either. could do better.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus A
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

We wanted a week on the Norfolk Broards, but we were on a budget so we hired a boat from City boats as it was the cheapest one we could find. We arrived an hour early but the boat was ready for us and we got straight aboard. We were given a quick run down of the boat, and what... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter s
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We went on the Cest le vie for four days. Our first time. An older boat than most we saw on the river which is what we wanted. It was great fun once we got used to the steering and tying up etc. We went on the South Broads, a bit quieter than the north I think It was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinners_10
Norfolk
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We did the trip from the boatyard, into the city and back. We arrived early and easily found a parking spot. A friendly staff member told us that the vessel was still being prepared, and answered our questions. The Vanguard is a classic local boat, so don't expect modern luxury, but it's comfortable. The seating is all inside, undercover, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank gorby321

Travelers who viewed City Boats also viewed

 

Been to City Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Boats and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Thetford Norfolk

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from City Boats staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?