We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Griffin Lane | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
Phone Number: +44 1603 701701
Website
Description:

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk...

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk Broads; why not be your own skipper for the day and hire one of our picnic boats? During the summer months our scheduled river trips operate every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (7 days per week during the school holidays) and relax whilst our skipper gives a live commentary. Refreshments available and cream teas can be ordered in advance, toilets also on-board. We offer private charter cruises for special events, eg. birthday celebrations, corporate events and wedding events. For those of you wishing to spend a relaxing few days or a week on the Broads we offer classic Broads cruisers.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Duet 2 for 1 week

We were expecting an old boat as per the holiday brochure write up, and Duet 2 is old. But for her age and the hire price we paid we were very satisfied. As long as you follow... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed September 16, 2016
chrisX5462ZV
,
Telford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
nORWICH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2016

We hired the boat out at around midday but by 3pm there was smoke/fumes coming from the rear of the boat. This was followed by a smoke into the seating area. We turned off the engine and drifted to side of river. The whole experience was extremely scary especially as the youngest had her leg in plaster. On return not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAZMO2005
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016

We were expecting an old boat as per the holiday brochure write up, and Duet 2 is old. But for her age and the hire price we paid we were very satisfied. As long as you follow all guidelines about battery use, water consumption and do the daily checks then the engine hums along very nicely. It's a bit tired... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisX5462ZV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

We had a great day out on the Broads, even though it rained a little bit, the boat although a little old, had a role down roof that kept us all dry. We had great fun trying to dock at each pub we went to and we saw some beautiful views. Definitely worth every penny and can't wait to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2016

Hired 2 boats for the day with my family cost £20 each for the day boat yard is about 10 minutes walk from premier inn nice people explained everything well would use again

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2016

We recently hired ~Duet 1 ~ For 1 week , but abandoned our trip after 2.5 days due to the appauling condition of the boat. There was a foul smell of diesel throughout , No toilet paper supplied , filthy carpets and upholstery, and human hair all over the place. If you like to holiday in a clean & tidy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank figgypuddinga12
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this review

This customer obviously wanted a 5* cruise not a budget boating holiday on the Norfolk Broads. They failed to read the boating manual sent to them, which stated that we do not supply toilet paper, no doubt if we had it wouldn't have been suitable for their 5* bottoms. More 

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2016

We booked for 7 + dog, as a treat for us after our marriage earlier in the week. It was easy enough to book by phone, a deposit was required, with the balance being paid on the day. Best to have cash as the card machine can be tempramental. We arrived earlier than 9 as stated but once the briefing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire L
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

On arrival we found the guy who was hiring...actually didn't feel that welcome. It felt awkward as he was shouting at another guy that worked there about leaving a boat moored where it was and he seemed very grumpy.. We were given a boat that appeared very old and was informed the steering was a bit off...which it was but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tray B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

We hired a boat from this company for a week and paid nearly £900. The boat, called Duet 1, was awful. We had a problem every day. The roof got stuck. There was a diesel leak. The battery went flat and had to be changed. Every time we showered the tank emptied. We had water in the engine pit. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsC208
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this review

This customer was advised that it needed 2 people to move the sliding roof but obviously tried to move single handedly and pulled the roof off its runners. There was no diesel leak and because of lack of running the boat, they got flat batteries. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2016

Thanks City Boats - wonderful day We enjoyed a fantastic day out on one of the hire boats from City Boats (behind the Griffin). The views on the river are wonderful and its great to be out on the river away from the hustle and bustle. Great pubs on the river too

Helpful?
Thank 866hello
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

We have recently had a two week holiday with city boats aboard the cest la vie and felt we must write a review to counter the negative reviews we read prior to the holiday. Let me start by saying we are fairly experienced and have been holidaying on the broads twice a year for a number of years so we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank whenman

Been to City Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Boats and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Thetford Norfolk
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from City Boats staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?