We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Griffin Lane | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
Phone Number: 44 (0) 1603 701701
Website
Description:

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk...

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk Broads; why not be your own skipper for the day and hire one of our picnic boats? During the summer months our scheduled river trips operate every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (7 days per week during the school holidays) and relax whilst our skipper gives a live commentary. Refreshments available and cream teas can be ordered in advance, toilets also on-board. We offer private charter cruises for special events, eg. birthday celebrations, corporate events and wedding events. For those of you wishing to spend a relaxing few days or a week on the Broads we offer classic Broads cruisers.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 43 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 11
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
C'est La Vie

We hired C'est La Vie for a week in order to explore the South Broads. The boat is old and, perhaps because it was at the end of the season, is in need of maintenance. It would be... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed September 22, 2015
Layces
,
Rye, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for 7 + dog, as a treat for us after our marriage earlier in the week. It was easy enough to book by phone, a deposit was required, with the balance being paid on the day. Best to have cash as the card machine can be tempramental. We arrived earlier than 9 as stated but once the briefing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire L
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival we found the guy who was hiring...actually didn't feel that welcome. It felt awkward as he was shouting at another guy that worked there about leaving a boat moored where it was and he seemed very grumpy.. We were given a boat that appeared very old and was informed the steering was a bit off...which it was but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tray B
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We hired a boat from this company for a week and paid nearly £900. The boat, called Duet 1, was awful. We had a problem every day. The roof got stuck. There was a diesel leak. The battery went flat and had to be changed. Every time we showered the tank emptied. We had water in the engine pit. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsC208
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thanks City Boats - wonderful day We enjoyed a fantastic day out on one of the hire boats from City Boats (behind the Griffin). The views on the river are wonderful and its great to be out on the river away from the hustle and bustle. Great pubs on the river too

Helpful?
Thank 866hello
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

We have recently had a two week holiday with city boats aboard the cest la vie and felt we must write a review to counter the negative reviews we read prior to the holiday. Let me start by saying we are fairly experienced and have been holidaying on the broads twice a year for a number of years so we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank whenman
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

We hired a boat for 4 people, reading the reviews on here I wasn't expecting a great deal but the boat it's self was good, everything worked as it should good clean seating and all safety equipment as it should be... The staff are very helpful getting you into the boat Safely and giving clear instructions on how to use... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

On first seeing the boat it was a bit of a shock... It gave the impression that it was not maintained as well as it should have been....On being shown round the boat prior to departing there were quite a lot of things that didn't work....It is not necessary to list these things....Apart from the sliding canopy....It could not be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A1917OYchristiner
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this review

Another person who suffered from a holiday teamed with bad weather. Another person who wished for compensation. Another person who booked a bargain break........ C'est La Vie is a classic Broads Hire Boat, as modern as possible but clean, comfortable and good value for money. It is a shame that those people who have enjoyed many weeks and sort breaks... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

We enjoyed hiring C'est la Vie, a boat full of character, however there were problems which we pointed out to the yard, but received an aggressive e-mail in reply to our courteous comments. I'm sure as long as you don't raise any problems the company is fine, but don't raise any negative points!! I wouldn't recommend them, or sail with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
Parotgal, Owner at City Boats, responded to this review

This couple made a complaint and wanted compensation which we refused as damage costing a significant amount of money to repair and not covered by their damage waiver had be caused. We explained that we would have to take the damage cost in favor of compensation. Two issues were raised and immediately put right. More 

Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We hired C'est La Vie for a week in order to explore the South Broads. The boat is old and, perhaps because it was at the end of the season, is in need of maintenance. It would be easy to compare it unfavourably with newer, smarter boats but it was good value for the price paid. I tied up behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Layces
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Mrs and I took a small dayboat out over the Summer, not much to say really but compared to other dayboats I have used this was in a poor state the yard was not a very welcoming place either. could do better.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus A

Travelers who viewed City Boats also viewed

 

Been to City Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Boats and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Thetford Norfolk

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from City Boats staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?