We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Anna State Park

6800 Lawyers Rd, Spotsylvania, VA 22551-6404
+1 800-654-4118
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Beat State Park

I have Stayed in an RV and the facility is clean and with tons of things to do from fishing... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
LakeAnnaLARP
,
Bumpass, Virginia
Great fishing!!

There's a nice boat launch from the state park. Excellent fishing for bass and stripers! Weekends... read more

Reviewed March 18, 2018
reflady16
,
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Read all 113 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Lake Anna offers boating, fishing, hiking, and just all-around fun.
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good40%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“beach area” (11 reviews)
“hiking trails” (9 reviews)
“lake anna” (16 reviews)
LOCATION
6800 Lawyers Rd, Spotsylvania, VA 22551-6404
CONTACT
Website
+1 800-654-4118
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beach area"
in 11 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 9 reviews
"lake anna"
in 16 reviews
"bunk beds"
in 5 reviews
"two nights"
in 4 reviews
"boat ramp"
in 4 reviews
"concession stand"
in 4 reviews
"tent camping"
in 4 reviews
"snack bar"
in 4 reviews
"fire pit"
in 4 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"gold panning"
in 3 reviews
"bath house"
in 3 reviews
"holiday weekend"
in 3 reviews
"coming back"
in 3 reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 4 reviews
"kids swimming"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have Stayed in an RV and the facility is clean and with tons of things to do from fishing, hiking, s’mores, hanging on the sandy beach and canoeing. I highly recommend you take a trip to Lake Anna VA.

2  Thank LakeAnnaLARP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

There's a nice boat launch from the state park. Excellent fishing for bass and stripers! Weekends can be kinda crazy with the jet skis. But there are lots of coves to try to land the big one.

1  Thank reflady16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

This beach set on Lake Anna can be a lot of fun with the kids. We brought a giant beach ball and tossed it around in the water. There is a concession stand for drinks and food. And, there is a mining exhibit with plenty...More

1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

This was a great place to hold the brewfest. I actually had a old friends reunion at this event one year and couldn’t have been any better. Great Lake atmosphere, pleanty of space and a great run and controlled event!!!plan on doing it again this...More

Thank 4wyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We met friends for a stay in late December. The waterfront Cabin was great: spacious, very clean and well equipped. We enjoyed having the wood fireplace-it really enhances the cold weather experience. We enjoyed hiking the trails and being able to bring our dog was...More

Thank Traveldogs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

the park is nestled in the forest on the shore of Lake Anna, with a beach and snack bar. The visitor center is interactive and well designed. There are also gold panning tours, miles of walking trails and a bunch of beautiful lodges rented by...More

Thank Bschaeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Stayed August of 2017 to visit several NPS Battlefields in the area- nice. On arrival, advise the gate attendant that you are staying and your entry pass fees are waived. Next stop drive to office (about a 1/2 mile on down the road) for your...More

Thank heavyheavyfuel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

I visited this park for two nights mid-week in August. Activities: *Swimming - During good weather it is actively guarded during the day. The guards were picky about where I put my beach umbrella and were firm with the kids about where they could/couldn't use...More

2  Thank crayolabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

We tent-camped for a few days, and I felt this is one of the nicer campgrounds we've been to. We went in early August, and we didn't have a problem with crowding at the beaches or on the trails. As for tent camping, there aren't...More

Thank rockcreek_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

I read the good and bad reviews here before giving a visit to the State Park at Lake Anna a try last weekend. What a shame that this park is so dirty! And their fee system is crazy. It's $7.00 just to enter the park;...More

4  Thank NANCANVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaStateParks, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Anna State Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As I had responded to other reviews about our fee structure, the park is so much more than the beach. The $7 - which pays for an entire car of people to enjoy the whole...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Spotsylvania Hotels
Best Western Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
139 reviews
16.17 miles away
Quality Inn
69 reviews
16.33 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg
102 reviews
16.36 miles away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange - Montpelier
126 reviews
17.73 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Anna Cabana Restaurant
16 reviews
4.12 miles away
Asian Cafe
52 reviews
3.58 miles away
Billiken's BBQ Company
46 reviews
3.58 miles away
Chef Lee Chinese Restaurant at Lake Anna
43 reviews
4.32 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Coyote Hole Ciderworks
11 reviews
4.09 miles away
Ellwood Manor
26 reviews
13.42 miles away
Cooper Vineyards
67 reviews
13.56 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CzGw
Lake Anna Staff, attached report summary clearly states positive results for stated bacteria, "In summary, 9 of 16 Lake Anna sites tested positive for Naegleria fowleri amebae. Identifying the risk of contracting Primary Amebic Meningoencephalitis infection when N. fowleri amebae are present in the water is a very complex issue and there are no U.S. Standards. When concentrations of amebae are high there is a greater chance of becoming infected, but we do not know what all of the risk factors are and what the actual risk of infection is" contradicting response provided. However, point taken testing was from 2007. Assuming current testing results described include testing for N. fowleri, could the staff please add those test results here for public information & awareness? It does seem like a nice location, more public info would be much appreciated.
August 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from VaStateParks | Property representative |
We test the water regularly and close any of our beaches that are out of compliance. Please know that Lake Anna is large, the park's beach area is small. The specific report referenced deals with amebae that grow in... More
1
Vote
blondefox7
July 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from suzielocust | Reviewed this property |
I believe there's 2 boat area bathrooms, several stalls each.not a problem. On summer weekends there's a snack bar open too next to one bathroom.
0
Votes
Richard R
July 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from NANCANVA | Reviewed this property |
It costs $7.00 to enter the park and $3.00/pp to swim in the gated lifeguard area. A few feet downshore is another open beach that costs nothing, but there's no lifeguard. Swimming here isn't all that wonderful. The water is... More
0
Votes
;