We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Market at Grelen

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Nice Stopover Spot

Plants are really pretty and environment is very inviting. Only drawback to our visit was deciding... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
HokieHoo
,
Hampton, VA
A hidden gem.

A beautiful place to visit in spring. I read a friend’s post this week and I wasn’t disappointed... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
sisaunders930
,
Nairobi, Kenya
via mobile
Read all 85 reviews
All photos (80)
All photos (80)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good25%
  • Average2%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“gift shop”(9 reviews)
“garden items”(3 reviews)
About
The Market at Grelen is a European-style garden shop, casual cafe, event venue and pick-your-own farm. Set on Grelen's 600 acre Tree Nursery, The Market at Grelen feels like an Italian vineyard and boasts breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
15091 Yager Rd, Somerset, VA 22972-2521
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
57
22
2
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
57
22
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade ice cream gift shop garden items orange county lots of outdoor seating hiking trails central virginia the adult grilled cheese available for purchase sunny day james madison's montpelier blueberry picking nursery plants greenhouse leslie landscaping
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Plants are really pretty and environment is very inviting. Only drawback to our visit was deciding to have the Sunday brunch. "Worst Breakfast Ever". I got gravy and biscuits with a side of sausage. Biscuits were overdone, and the gravy looked and tasted like water...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank HokieHoo
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

OMG--I'm so so sorry to hear this! We are used to getting rave reviews for our food but you may have caught us in our chef transition. It sounds like you were there during our current chef's last week when he "had one foot out...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A beautiful place to visit in spring. I read a friend’s post this week and I wasn’t disappointed. It was a beautiful drive too.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank sisaunders930
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a spectacular time visiting The Market at Grelen. The views were amazing and the plants were beautiful and healthy. Lunch was tasty too! Leslie was a wealth of information regarding hiking trails both within Grelen and at James Madison's Montpelier.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank KathyF414
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow--thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate it and look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed January 11, 2019

We came to walk the trails and ended up thoroughly enjoying the lunch and home-made ice cream! The gift shop is quite nice and the diversity of plants etc. is huge.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Johanna M
Reviewed December 15, 2018

We stopped in for a quick late lunch before heading home. They were hosting a wedding that afternoon, so our trip had to be brief, but we enjoyed browsing the gift shop while waiting for our food. Lunch was delicious. They were kind enough to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gryffindor93
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2018

Awe! Thanks for taking the time to write a kind review and we look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future. We close after Dec. 23 and re-open March 1, 2019. Happy Holidays!

Reviewed November 27, 2018

Love this place, unique setting (who eats in a greenhouse?) out in the country surrounded by stunning scenery even in late November. The location is very scenic and worth the drive. The service was great as I constantly saw people going in and out cleaning...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank BrianHink
Reviewed November 6, 2018

As others have mentioned, the nursery is off a small road so use a location service to find it. We enjoyed eating outside and afterwards shopped inside and selected some garden pots. This is very near Montpelier so worth a few minutes drive before or...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank dbrown46
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018

Thanks for you kind review! We much appreciate you taking the time to write. The best way to find us is to follow the directions on our website. GPS can sometimes take you to our neighbor's fields!. :) We have done our best to have...More

Reviewed September 8, 2018

After a little difficulty finding the place a nice find. Lots of decor choices and variety of plants. Cafe had good selection and lots of outdoor seating. Food made to order. Service a little slowMore

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dianne S
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thanks for your kind review! We truly appreciate your feedback. As we grow we continue to look for ways to speed up our food service. It's tough during those midday weekend hours but please know we are always striving to streamline our offerings without skimping...More

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

The Market is absolutely adorable. With fun things to buy and a good alcohol selection, this is a highly recommended option. I only wish that they had had light snack options available for purchase such as bread and olive oil or pita and hummus. My...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank amandasD7375LB
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Thanks for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon. In addition to our local dips (which are sometimes out of stock) we have been working on adding some easy appetizers and snacks so stay tuned! Thanks so much for your feedback....More

Reviewed July 1, 2018

My husband and I were looking for a place to pick blueberries and came across Grelen. What a wonderful discovery and we will be back! It was a beautiful place. There were a lot of blueberries to pick. We were also told we could drive...More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank TaraDavidColumbia_MD
LeslieCarterGregg, Owner at The Market at Grelen, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Thanks Tara & David! We hope to see you again soon for a lunch, hike and maybe some peach picking (going on all summer). If you want to come for the weekend check out our rental properties: Boxwoodvilla.com and Spotswoodlodge.com. We rent these to our...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange - Montpelier
140 reviews
5.11 miles away
Round Hill Inn
222 reviews
5.82 miles away
The Inn at Willow Grove
436 reviews
6.07 miles away
The Inn at Dawsonville
4 reviews
7.92 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Exchange Cafe
28 reviews
2.17 miles away
The Barbeque Exchange
910 reviews
4.72 miles away
Inwood Restaurant
174 reviews
3.90 miles away
Fabio's Pizza
85 reviews
4.22 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
James Madison's Montpelier
1,100 reviews
2.03 miles away
The Exchange Hotel Civil War Medical Museum
159 reviews
4.74 miles away
Liberty Mills Farm
7 reviews
2.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maggie D
September 14, 2016|
Answer
Response from csserious | Reviewed this property |
Google search for Market at Grelen and google map will lead you there. It is a large facility hosting weddings and selling plants and home grown jelly. Its about 90 minutes from Manassas, VA. Its better to take a GPS like... More
1
Vote