The Plough

The Plough, Enfield: Hours, Address, The Plough Reviews: 3.5/5

11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
About
A blooming lovely pub that’s been with McMullen's since 1905. Flowers, flowers everywhere! We’re right in the heart of the beautiful Crews Hill gardeners’ heaven and very pleased to be here. At the Plough, green fingers are not required and munchkins are very welcome to our fab outdoor play area. So it’s a great place to spend time with friends and family; to snuggle up inside when it’s chilly out or to soak up the rays in the garden on sunny days. Pop in for a swift lunch or take your time and relax as you enjoy our locally brewed real ales, fine wines, whipped ice cream sundaes and lots of smiles!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

3.5
56 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
16
Average
8
Poor
3
Terrible
8

Ronald P
1 contribution
Poor quality lunch food 2/8/2021
Aug 2021
I ordered fish & chips the fish was very greasy and the chips were fries and over cooked.
My wife ordered steak and ale pie with chips again the chips turn out to be fries and the pie slice looked like it was yesterdays left over the pastry very dry, the meat was hard on the outer edges of the slice and on the inside very dry, the meal was sent back a replacement arrived it was as bad as the first. My wife made an effort to eat the meal but could not finish it she then asked the waitress to tell the chef the meal was disgusting, the price of the meal was removed from the bill as it should have been but the pleasant lunch with friends was ruined I cannot return to the Plough if this poor quality continues.
Written August 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good evening 763ronaldp, Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We take genuine pleasure in making sure all our guests leave happy on obviously on this occasion you didn't. I'm sorry to hear that the food wasn't up to our usual standards i will make sure i pass your comments onto our kitchen team, in regards to the chips unfortunately we sell skin on fries and no longer have fat chips we do however have a variety of other potato products available if you would prefer these. If you would like to discuss you visit further please don't hesitate to email me on plough.enfield@mcmullens.co.uk Thank you once again
Written August 9, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JAS
Bishops Stortford, UK22 contributions
The Plough, Enfield (Crews Hill)
Oct 2020
My 90 year old Auntie and I had a very pleasant lunch at the Plough today. She had scampi and chips which was lovely. I opted for the salad which was enjoyable (but would have benefited from a good dollop of French dressing!). We finished with a banana twix sunday which was big enough to share. I would happily go back, but two things spoilt it for us:
We arrived for our reservation a few minutes before noon and were left waiting outside the entrance in the wind and rain. A couple of staff inside were aware we were outside, but didn't acknowledge us. Bearing in mind the dreadful weather and the fact that my Auntie is clearly elderly, a mention of keeping us waiting outside might have been polite rather than being told to "hold on a minute" (more), whilst we filled in the track and trace paperwork (outside).
The restaurant area was very cold. It's October and the entrance door was open for the duration. None of the radiators were on. I didn't make a fuss because I didn't want to spoil it for my Auntie, but one couple near us asked to move because the metal table top was very cold to touch. These are small gripes, but probably easily remedied.
On a plus point, the waitresses were all absolutely delightful; very helpful and polite.
Written October 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon JennSquires, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor! Sorry to hear your visit was cold, you’ll be please to know our host station has now been moved back inside, when we first opened we were learning new COVID ways and followed advice to keep the building well ventilated meaning doors and windows being open which lead to the cold coming in. We have since adapted and learnt better practices that suit guests needs better! If you would like to discuss this further please contact me on plough.enfield@mcmullens.co.uk ! Thank you Ian Manager
Written December 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lindasnell
London, UK1,000 contributions
Not the best.
Aug 2020
I took my mother for lunch here, her first outing for nearly 6 months due to Covid sheltering. The pub had obviously put thought into their C19 safe procedures and generally they were well thought out although our table was in a sort of corridor so people did pass by quite close.
The menu was shorter than usual and included pub classics, I had the halloumi burger which was OK but would have benefited from some salad with it, the halloumi didn’t taste like any I have used myself so I assume there is now a catering version. My mother had hunters chicken which was rather odd and dry being 2 largish pieces of chicken with a rasher of bacon and melted cheese, this was accompanied by a small pot of horrible bottled bbq sauce, chips and coleslaw, not really what hunters chicken as usually presented. We agreed we should have stuck to fish and chips.
We ate during the EOTHO deal so the pub was busy and staff were pleasant whist working hard.
Written August 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hi lindasnell thank you for your review, we have taken great risk assessment to make sure the pub is covid secured and each table is 1 metre apart from each other, with regards to your table it s ok for people to walk past has long has no one is standing their for long periods of time which no one should be due to table service. our menu has been shortened this is so our kitchen staff can maintain social distancing within the work place. the halloumi we get fresh from our supplier sorry it was not to your liking, and with the hunters chicken this is generally the way I have always know hunters chicken to be served chicken bacon bbq sauce and melted cheese, but I do agree our fish and chips is the best I would have gone for that myself too. thank you ian
Written August 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MSeverini
26 contributions
Good Sunday lunch
Mar 2020
We visited this pub today for lunch with friends. Food and the price was decent. Kids played in the playground which was lovely too. Would recommend it.
Written March 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon MSeverini, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us. Its nice that the kids can finally get out and have a good play, hopefully it wont be long until the suns here all the time. Look forward to welcoming you back soon Ian, Katie and all the team
Written March 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tim G
Enfield, UK449 contributions
Lunch without the children
Aug 2019 • Couples
We stopped for Monday lunch without a reservation. The restaurant was moderately busy. We were quickly shown to a table by a window. Unfortunately my partner, who was dressed for the weather outside felt cold in the air conditioning. We mentioned this and were apparently not the first to do so. After a while the system was switched off and a comfortable temperature reached.
We chose spicy prawns as starters and rump steak for mains. Both were delicious although I would question the "spicy" epithet for the prawns.
For dessert we chose a chocolate sponge and an apple pie. My pie was served lukewarm with warmer custard. The taste was fine. I also got a taste of the chocolate sponge and I would recommend it to any chocolate fans planning to visit the Plough.

The service was very good and we enjoyed out brief break. We'll be back.
Written August 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon TimG706, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us. I will make sure I pass your comments onto our kitchen team regarding your meals on this visit. Look forward to welcoming you back Ian, Katie and all the team
Written August 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Janet-Harlow
Harlow, UK317 contributions
Sunny afternoon pub!
Jul 2019 • Friends
Food here is really nice we had the seafood platter & chicken platter, we preferred the seafood one & all the fish was lovely.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Written July 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon Janet-Harlow, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again Ian, Katie and all the team
Written July 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LondonMagicDougal
London, UK153 contributions
Lazy horrible food.
May 2019 • Friends
Stopped here for lunch with my daughter. The staff were jolly but alas that was the only positive .
I decided to have 2 starters and my daughter decided on the burger. When the food arrived my lamb kofte were obviously frozen and heated up they had that texture and smoothness of shape that comes from industrial food manufacture. The sweet potatoes skins were under seasoned and just about cooked but I suspect not in an oven as the cheese was still solid with no colour. Neither dish came with as much as a lettuce leave as a garnish or a dipping sauce. My daughters burger was inedible tasteless and having a consistency of grit. The last place I had to go and get my own cutlery napkins etc was my school canteen.
This is possibly the worst food I have been served in years and if you read my other reviews I am normally quite generous in my reviews but sadly I can't find anything here to be generous about.
Written May 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review LondonMagicDougal, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your food when you visited us. I hope you mentioned this to one of the management team working so we could of rectified the problem for you. You do indeed have to collect get our own cutlery when dining outside, I'm sorry if you didn't like this way. However we have tried many different ways and feel this way best suits us. Sorry once again that you didn't enjoy your visit, I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team and our food development team at head office who are currently working hard on designing us a new menu. Ian, Katie and the all the team
Written May 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sabrina C
5 contributions
Disappointing
Apr 2019 • Family
Really disappointed had to wait an hour for food despite booking a table and paying £20 deposit to do so!! On arrival member of staff showing us to our table was extremely rude and our drinks and starters orders arrived incorrect. Menu was very unappealing with little choice and food when it arrived was nothing special won’t be eating here again
Written May 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon SabrinaC2539, Sorry to hear of your disappointment on your visit. We did indeed take deposits to secure bookings over the Easter weekend but unfortunately with the sun showing his head over this weekend we were extremely busy which did put a wait on everyone's meals. I'm sorry if this was longer than your expected, we did try and warn all guests as they were entering the building. If you would like to ring me 02083634386 to discuss your visit please do, so I can investigate further Thank you for taking the time to review us. Ian, Katie and all the team
Written May 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dbut4204
114 contributions
Mothers Day treat
Apr 2019 • Family
Love this pub. Great food, lovely atmosphere and great service. Can definitely recommend the pie of the day!
Written April 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon GlobeTrotting809826, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your Mothers Day visit to us. I'll make sure I pass your comments onto our team. Look forward to welcoming you again soon Thank you once again Ian, Katie and all the team
Written April 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nicetulips
Watford, UK66 contributions
Sunday roast
Jan 2019 • Couples
Went for a Sunday roast with Hubbie, wanted turkey which was on the menu and told no turkey. We chose chicken. The waitress was really welcoming and the drinks ordered came quickly enough. The actual dinner well .... the large Yorkshire was the best thing on the plate and the largest! The chicken was the size of a small donut, was so disappointed, don’t know whether it was half a chicken breast that had been cut in half but definitely not enough chicken. The veg was very dry and had 5 tiny pretend roast potatoes. Very disappointed as love a good roast on Sunday. Was £9.95 and expected more. Won’t be rushing back
Written January 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon rwarbs, Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to us on Sunday. Sorry to hear that the meat you wanted was not available, our menu has a list of roasts meats but we only serve a selection of these as stated on the menu. I'm sorry if this isn't clear. I will make sure I pass all your comments onto our kitchen team, we pride ourselves in making sure all our guests leave happy and obviously on this occasion you didn't. I hope your disappointment was mentioned to one of our waiting team so they could of rectify the problem so you didn't leave unhappy. I hope this doesn't deter you from visiting again and if you do please introduce yourself to one of the management team who will be happy to discuss this visit with you. Thank you once again Ian, Katie and all the team
Written January 26, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 56
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing