We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Myddelton House Gardens

Myddelton House Bulls Cross, Enfield EN2 9HG, England
+44 300 003 0610
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great spot in the autumn sunshine, an enjoyable visit to this unusual garden.

We actually made it to this Garden today, having been promising to visit, for some time. Well... read more

Reviewed November 2, 2016
Julia1143
,
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Place lovely

I absolutely adore this place but went the otherday and was very disappointed in the cafe they... read more

Reviewed October 28, 2016
sophkira
via mobile
Read all 174 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
An enchanting place to visit at any time of year. Delve into the beautiful eight acres of Myddelton House Gardens and discover the compelling story of Edward Augustus Bowles, one of Britain’s most famous self-taught gardeners, artists and expert botanists.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good38%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“small museum” (11 reviews)
“free entry” (12 reviews)
“cakes” (13 reviews)
LOCATION
Myddelton House Bulls Cross, Enfield EN2 9HG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 300 003 0610
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 174 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2016

We actually made it to this Garden today, having been promising to visit, for some time. Well worth the effort. Lots to see but not too rambling - enticing views. The succulents in the green houses were very varied and colourful plants still in flower....More

1  Thank Julia1143
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review. It’s fantastic to hear that you had a great time during your visit and enjoyed some tasty food in the Bowles Tea Room. We’d love you to join us for a tour of the gardens at our monthly Gardener’s Coffee...More

Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

I absolutely adore this place but went the otherday and was very disappointed in the cafe they had no food as always but the staff were just sooo un cooperative doppy and couldn't do simple task very disappointed tbh but as for the garden n...More

1  Thank sophkira
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on delivering wonderful customer service and are disappointed to hear you didn’t receive this during your visit. We’ll pass your comments on to the team to ensure your next visits are more enjoyable. However, we’re pleased your little...More

Reviewed October 19, 2016

This is such an interesting place to visit. Very calm and peaceful and full of interesting things to see. Great restaurant with great cake. You do have to pay to park now so beware.More

Thank Frances B
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thanks for your lovely review. We’re very pleased you had a great time during your visit, enjoyed one of our delicious slices of cake and were able to relax and explore everything we have to offer! We introduced car parking charges in August 2014 however...More

Reviewed October 18, 2016

I've lived in enfield most of my life, but until recently I had never visited Myddelton House. Free entry. Just pay for parking. Good plant shop. Cafe was average, not a huge choice and packet sandwiches...... could be a lot better.More

Thank chelletom
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thanks for your review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your visit and had a good time exploring the gardens. We’re disappointed the food in the Bowles Tea Room didn’t quite meet your standards however because of the small size of the kitchen area we currently sell...More

Reviewed October 16, 2016

Really impressed by Myddlleton Gardens,so well tended compared to Forty Hall,and the signage and visitor centre are really incisive and gives you a real feel and the man and the Gardens and local history,we thoroughly enjoyed our short visit and will definitely return!

Thank clubcon
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thanks for your great review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Having had operation needed to get out of the house. Lovely gardens. Peaceful. Helpful staff. Cafe is great. Good prices and choice.

Thank grahamh2016
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thanks for your lovely review! We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and are pleased you’ve been able to experience everything we have to offer. Hopefully we’ll see you again very soon and we hope you’re recovering well from your operation.

Reviewed October 2, 2016

I love these delightful gardens, we often go for a stroll on a sunday afternoon and finish in the courtyard cafe where you get nice cake and tea/coffee. Every time we visit there is something new to see, with the changing of the seasons. Today...More

Thank christywhisty
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thanks for reviewing Myddelton House Gardens. We’re pleased you enjoy your visits to the gardens and seeing them change with the seasons. We hope you’ll join us again next year to see what’s growing in the Kitchen Garden and for our annual theatre and music...More

Reviewed September 27, 2016

Myddelton House gardens are operated by the Lea Valley Park authority, and open to the public for most of the year. If you can do so, it's worth visiting every few months, as the types of flowers and foliage are constantly changing with the seasons....More

Thank aramis
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thanks for your lovely review of Myddelton House Gardens. We’re pleased you enjoyed your visit and found each aspect of your trip to be of high quality. We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Reviewed September 16, 2016

It is so good to have a walk there in a sunny day and have a light lunch and coffee in the café I go there for my sunday walks

Thank prensess1
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Thanks for your review of Myddelton House Gardens. It’s great to hear from a regular visitor and look forward to seeing you again soon for another weekend walk!

Reviewed September 13, 2016

I have visited Middleton house on a number of occasions. The grounds are beautiful and it's a good place to stroll leisurely around and enjoy the gardensMore

Thank Alex F
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Thanks for reviewing Myddelton House Gardens. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope we’ll see you again soon. Next time you visit, don’t forget to visit the Kitchen Garden and see what freshly grown delights they’ve produced! More information can be found on...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Rose and Crown
50 reviews
.97 miles away
Toby Carvery Whitewebbs House
311 reviews
.83 miles away
Jack's cafe
6 reviews
.59 miles away
Bullsmoor Cafe
9 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Crocodile
45 reviews
2.08 miles away
Lee Valley White Water Centre
1,047 reviews
2.15 miles away
Capel Manor Gardens
194 reviews
.56 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Paul S
Are dogs allowed for not the garden on a lead.
April 17, 2017|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from SarahWLondon | Reviewed this property |
No I don't think they are but they are allowed at Forty Hall which is just down the road. Not the same thing but still a good place to have a walk and a cuppa after.
0
Votes
Sandra G
Hopefully bringing 10 ladies from my garden group in the morning of Wednesday 3rd August . Do l need to book and can you provide lunches ? Kind regards Sandra
July 19, 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from SarahWLondon | Reviewed this property |
People already seem to have answered so all that's left is to say have a lovely time. I'm sure you will. And take your shopping bag because sometimes they have fruit, veg and flowers for sale. Hope that helps?
1
Vote
Maximoo11
What is the wheelchair access like? Is is wheelchair friendly? It is a large motorized one and not standard size and prevents my friend getting into certain places
May 15, 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from VisitLeeValley | Property representative |
Thanks for your enquiry. There are wheelchair friendly, surfaced paths which give access to most of the gardens. The paths have easy and moderate slopes, however there are certain parts of the gardens that have narrower... More
0
Votes