We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Recommended experiences in and around Ko Chang
from $29.84
More Info
from $74.60
More Info
from $107.12
More Info
from $45.91
More Info

Kayak Chang Day Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
63Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Paul C wrote a review Oct 2019
Adelaide, Australia3 contributions
I paid in full on time exactly what the proprietor asked for. He assumed I was booking for two ppl, but I was always traveling Solo. Post trip when I asked for the doubled up payment to be reimbursed, he stated "don't worry, it's only money"! Furthermore, once I put him onto my Travel Agent, plus proved I'd only ever completed one Medical/Booking Form he decided to bank my monies! A man of doubtful character, hell-bent on others peoples money.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from andrew h, Manager at Kayak Chang Day Tours
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Well what a statement! Rather than get involved with continued Libellous statements, I will produce the facts, which I am more than happy to produce and represent my case to anyone who should require me to. I will produce a chronological account, albeit a shortened version of the emails to and from Mr Paul C, leading up to and post the expedition to the last correspondence, which is what I am responding to. As you can read from our other reviews, we are a company that have been around for a long time and on the whole provided a great service to many customers, including Mr Paul C, who on 24th Feb 2019 posted on his Facebook page. 'Kayaking Koh Chang National Park SE Thailand for 7 days & 115kms, a great trip!' Which is polar opposite to his above statement. Polar opposites as you will read is a fare description. Using key emails only 14th May 2019 PC. Hi there, I'm hoping that the two of us can book a trip over in 2019 for a week long trip. In this email PC clearly ask for two people, yet uses the word I'm and not we. Several emails went back and forth, then on the 5th October I received this PC. 'as per attached screenshot 7th -14th february 2019 7 day expedition is the one i am looking for.' The screen shot was of our website page showing the dates and the price 41500THB per person. 5th October SEA replied with Hi Paul I hope you are well. I am pleased that you are interested in joining us on our 7 day expedition, 7th (familiarisation day) - 14th February. We currently have only 2 places available and we have another couple interested in joining the expedition. However you did ask the first, so I am more than happy to offer you 'first refusal'. I have attached additional information for you. If you are still interested and wish to join us we would need a 25% deposit, which would be 20750THB. The payment can be made by bank transfer or PayPal, please note that any PayPal payment incur a 3.9% surcharge. I hope the information is of use. I look forward to your reply. Best regards Andy -- 20750THB is 25% for two people! This was paid the next day. Several emails changed hands 25th December SEA sent this Hi Paul I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas. I am writing to let you know that your final payment is due to be paid. The outstanding balance is 62250THB. I will be in touch nearer the expedition date with more information, however if you have any questions, then do not hesitate to get in touch. I have attached our bank details for you. Best regards Andy Again final balance for two people. It was again paid the following day and no questions. PC arrived in our office on the 7th February 2019 alone! This caused a lot of questions to which he responded by saying that the hotel also thought there were going to be two people. He said this in front of witnesses. No real mention was made of the situation whilst on expedition, which PC totally enjoyed. After the expedition was when things went south. On the 4th March we received an email from PC with his bank account details, he expected a full refund. In response, SEA sent through this. Hi Paul Thank you for your email. I am a little shocked that you have sent through your bank details without first sorting out the problem. I must admit this issue has caused me some angst, to the extent I have sought legal advice, not for any other reason than getting my response right. I have looked through all the emails and I am convinced that we are not in the wrong and as such do not accept all the responsibility. In 10 years of business no one has ever paid double for an expedition, why would anyone. In addition I find it hard to believe that a business man, or any other person for that fact, would just pay the amount requested knowing it was too much, with the idea of "sorting things out when I get there". From our perspective, we were shock that you came alone as the whole process was conducted as if there were going to be 2 people. No single room supplement was added to your bill, as with the other single person on the expedition. The other considerations to be taken into account are the government taxes, transport as, 7 kayaks had been booked and paid for (2 taxi's), double occupancy in rooms, Koh Wai charge full rate for when 2 people are booked in a room. We actually turned down another couple for this expedition due to lack of functioning kayaks, had we known that you were coming alone we would have had kayaks enough. Finally, our booking conditions outline clearly any penalties for cancellation. I know this email does not seem friendly, I have just tried to clarify our points. The fact remains we really enjoyed your company and things like this are not easy to express in a jovial manner. At this stage we would like to offer you not a refund, as I don't believe we are in the wrong, but as a gesture of good will, a 7 day expedition of your choice, anytime in the future, at no cost. I look forward to your response. let's keep things civil, it is only money. Best regards Andy The situation continued to deteriorate, some of the emails received were very nasty. Finally, I had had enough and on the 13th March sent our final email, to which no credible response has arrived only libellous comments on a social media site. This is our final email 13th March Hi Paul Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. It is obvious from you last email, that you apportion all the blame to Kayak Chang, we on the other hand do not accept that we are to blame, so where do we go from here? We strongly feel that you did indeed enquire book and pay for 2 people (fact), we have all the written evidence to support this. We feel that you did this because there were two of you and that unfortunately something happened between the final payment and attending the Familiarisation day, that only one of you turned up. You, as you suggested filled in the medical form and also signed it to say you have read and understand the booking conditions (fact). We think you realised that cancelling at that stage would have resulted in you having no refund, so you turned up by yourself and have suggested that you paid double in error. During the expedition you did refer to "we" on several occasions. I can't prove any of the above, it is just speculation, but none the less a better explanation than the one on the table, 'I paid what you told me to pay and thought I would sort it out when I see you'. We have offered you a free expedition anytime in the future and still we have had no response to that offer. In order to bring closure to this, I am prepared to offer you your money back, minus any expenditure we have incurred as a result of you booking and paying for two and the time spent sorting it all out. So we are prepared to refund 25000THB, this is our final offer. If you are happy with this then let us know and we can move forward, if not then the 'ball is in your court'. Best regards Andy I am sorry for the lengthy response, but felt I needed to get the whole picture across, due to the nature of PC's review. I would welcome any response to my actions. Thank you Andy Hill Manager SEA Kayaking
Read more
karstenpaarup wrote a review Jan 2018
Viborg, Danmark1 contribution1 helpful vote
Back "home" on Koh Chang after fantastic 12 days of kayaking. Excellent kayaking waters, superb choice of route, exotic beaches, islands, resorts, wild life, snorkling testing all aspect of Thai food...woooow. Even nice with one day in tent with a clear wakeup signal 6.15 from the cock. It was on repeat. Every new day of all the 12 days gave something new, that is impossible to come an find yourselves without local knowledge. And on top we had our own highly qualified instructor every day. Thanks for everything. The vikings
Read more
Date of experience: January 2018
Helpful
Share
Stedman E wrote a review Jan 2017
Perth, Australia69 contributions71 helpful votes
Spent three days with Kayak Chang in January. Andy is offering something unique in the region compared to other trips I have tried in the past in Phang Nga Bay. Very well organised and professional. Very much enjoyed the paddling, Andy's company, coaching and first class equipment, the eclectic accommodation choices, and great Thai food. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Christophe M wrote a review Mar 2016
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Andy (The guide) is is responsive and a skilled kayaker. The equipment is very good and in excellent condition, and Andy cares about it. Andy Loves Thailand and its food, and shares this love. The trip is well organised (we did the 4 days trip), with very well selected accommodation (read: accommodation with soul rather than luxurious... but great places we will remember). Our trip went smoothly, maybe too smoothly: We'd have loved a tougher sea as the conditions (guide + hot water) would have been excellent for more challenge... For those who like sea kayaking and would like to see Thailand from a little different angle: this is definitively a good choice!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2016
Helpful
Share
Derek C wrote a review Feb 2016
Paris, France3 contributions
I joined the seven day tour in early January and had an excellent time. The route was perfect -- beautiful beaches on quiet islands, touring along rocky coasts, and relaxing evenings in a variety of nice hotels (and one great campsite). Andy was a very knowledgeable guide. He offered a great introduction to sea kayaking (I'm used to paddling on lakes and rivers) and background on the region we were travelling through. Very much worth it!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2016
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456