Chincoteague Island Outfitters

Chincoteague Island Outfitters

Chincoteague Island Outfitters
5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
We offer Beach and Vacation Equipment rentals. Beach chairs,Umbrellas,Surfboards,Beach Carts,Body Boards,Kayaks,Stand up Paddle Boards,Bicycles,as well as Gas and Charcoal Grills,Fishing,Clamming,and Crabbing Supplies,Backyard Games and more. We offer daily or weekly rental rates, and the best customer service you will find on the Island.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles23 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

S.H.
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022
We rent 4 twin kayak boats for a day and 3 crap trap pots for 2 days over the labor day weekend in 2022. One of kayak is unusable meaning when you paddle on right side to turn left the boat did turn left but when you paddle on the left side to turn right the boat still continue turning left. We were basically turn circle in front of the house we rent so we had to return to the house. When we called them to ask to return the boat and ask for refund and Tammy told us all their boat they rent out are fine and refuse to come to pick the boat and refund the money. We also asked her to see if they can come to pick up the crap trap pots one day earlier and was told that they are too busy to pick them up. You have to return the crap trap pots yourself. Very little customer service and bad attitude. If you care about your vacation experience and money, I would avoid to rent anything from this company.

Please see the attached photos for the old heavy un-maneuverable kayak boat we rent.
Written September 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
So sorry you feel that way. We reserved the crab pots for you and could have rented them to several other people. You called and wanted a refund because you didn't catch crabs! I can't control the crab population. I wish that I could! As far as the kayak goes, You had the boat the full day and didn't bother to call and complain until 4:45 pm. The same boat has been rented several times since then and we have had no complaints. Again, I had the boats reserved for you and had I been notified that am could have refunded and re rented the boat. We offer free delivery and pickup on the island but not several times a day. You were very demanding on a very busy weekend. We are a rental company not personal assistants. Hope you had a wonderful weekend!
Written September 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Whitney L
Accident, MD1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
We just returned from our yearly trip to the island. We were bringing our dogs and an extra person so I didn't have room to pack beach chairs. When I called to rent some the girl on the phone offered to text me pictures so I could pick which ones we wanted. Once we arrived on the island we also rented a crab pot, steam pot and 5 boogie boards. The owners and staff are so nice and helpful! I wish we would have discovered them sooner as they would have made past trips easier and more pleasurable. Thank you Chincoteague Island Outfitters! We will see you next year!

~Lyons Family
Written August 17, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeanne K
Greencastle, PA58 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
We enjoyed our time kayaking even more then our first time . The staff is very knowledgeable about tides . They gave us great advice about which direction to go , for a safe & enjoyable time . { The opposite direction of our first trip . } We hope to do it again next time !
Written September 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glad you enjoyed it! Hope to see you next year🙂
Written September 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ctshoregirl
Madison, Ct59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2018 • Family
This is my second summer renting from Chincoteague Island Outfitters. The BEST place to rent bikes on the island, and they have anything else you might need. Great personal service, and reasonable prices. We rented bikes for the adults and my niece, my friend was even able to get a trailer for her little one. There are a variety of bikes/styles to choose from. We also rented fishing poles, and there is bait and tackle available to purchase. One stop shopping! Really nice folks that are a pleasure to do business with.
Written July 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you! Hope to see you soon. Thanks!
Written May 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Samantha C
86 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Couples
We rented bikes for a day and had a great time. They even had a tandem bike which was hard to learn but fun to play around with. Owners were incredibly helpful and nice.
Written May 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you! So glad you had fun.
Written May 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KassandraPrina
Belmont, NH84 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017 • Couples
Last year was our first year staying on Chincoteague! We wanted Kayaks to rent for the pony swim and everyone was sold out. We rented a lovely condo from Seaside Vacatons and they recomended we try here. Luckily she was able to scrape together the last two kayaks! I also bought my favorite pink and teal fishing pole. Tammy was wonderful and so helpful. This year we had our kayak with our rental but we would of rented here if we had not had one. At the boat dock I was surprised to have her remember the two random kids from Maine! She was kind enough to bring our kayak wheels to her shop so they wouldn't become lost and we picked them up today to be greeted by her husband. Her husband was very friendly and helpful and spoke of how his wife gives every dog she sees a biscuit . This place is absolutely wonderful and makes Chincoteague feel like home. Its amazing to feel like a local and wanted unlike many places I have visited where you are treated and feel like a tourist. This is my go-to for rentals. They have everything and hopefully next year a tandem bike! Thank you for your hospitality and being overall wonderful individuals!
Written July 27, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Looking forward to your return. Stop by for a visit. Thank you!
Written May 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

R0BS411
Berryville, VA761 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017 • Family
My first comment is that they don't stick to Island time! I stopped at two other paddle board rental spots around 9:30 AM, both were closed, both were supposed to be open at 9 AM. The Outfitters were open and I was advised they are typically open by 8 AM.

They rent paddle boards (that I was looking for) as well as kayaks. They also have fishing and an assortment of beach gear. Seemed like practically everything you could need that you forgot or wanted to try.

They staff was friendly and courteous. I will definitely go back to them the next time I need any equipment to rent! Glad I found them, highly recommended!
Written July 12, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. So glad we could help you and your family enjoy your vacation. That's why we are here! Thanks, Tammy
Written August 16, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cynthia W
Chincoteague Island, VA86 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2016 • Couples
Martin and Tammy were great and really made my husband's first Chincoteague kayaking expedition a fantastic experience. These folks have everything you could need for a vacation... and they deliver to boot. Though I'm local, it was great to know that they rent strollers, high chairs, beach coolers, beach wagons, big steamer pots, cornhole boards, etc that we might need when we have company coming from out of town.

I've referred a few of my own customers to CI Outfitters, and they've all come back happy. What more can you ask for?
Written September 23, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much!
Written May 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Justin W
Chincoteague Island, VA5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2016 • Solo
I'd been looking for an opportunity to get away by myself for a while and decided a nice, solo kayak trip around Chincoteague was just what I was looking for. After asking around, I kept getting the same advice from Chincoteague locals to go to Island Outfitters, so I gave them a call.

The next day, I stopped by in the morning and was treated to excellent service, a friendly smile and all at the best prices around. They met me at Don Leonard Park and helped me into the water. I had a great time kayaking (been back twice since) and was always met with a smile and going the extra mile.

Since then, I always recommend them for any rental needs, and no one I know has had a bad time. A great locally-owned business!
Written September 13, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you!
Written May 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nikki
New York, New York, United States6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Couples
The staff here were so friendly and helpful! They provided great guidance for our kayak route & some fishing tips too. The store was clean, pleasant, and well-stocked. Terrific!
Written June 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you!
Written September 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 20
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Chincoteague Island Outfitters - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Chincoteague Island HotelsChincoteague Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chincoteague Island
All things to do in Chincoteague Island
Amusement Parks in Chincoteague IslandDay Trips in Chincoteague Island
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars